We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (330)
Filter reviews
330 results
Traveller rating
268
53
9
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
268
53
9
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews beach front friendship bay bequia beach lobster night beachfront suite lovely hotel live music laid back half board low season large balcony atlantic side the ground floor italian food restaurant bagatelle the general manager rum punch
Filter
Updating list...
91 - 96 of 330 reviews
Reviewed 12 April 2017

We stayed for a week at this hotel in March 2017. It is a beautiful, laid back island and the hotel is in a stunning location. Our room, overlooking the sea was excellent and we could walk to an ideal Caribbean beach in 30 seconds. Lovely restaurant with changing menu - wonderful fish, as you'd expect. Three events per week with music (very enjoyable)

Only slight criticism is that loud music came from the next door property at weekends which we had cause to mention to hotel staff. The first time nothing was done, the second time someone went to talk to them about it, but that made little difference.
It didn't spoil the holiday, was annoying at the time.

Room tip: Overlooking the sea; out room was no. 56
Date of stay: March 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PatrickHGeorge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BBHTeam, General Manager at Bequia Beach Hotel Luxury Boutique Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2017

Dear PatrickHGeorge,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us, we were delighted to welcome you on Bequia. Unfortunately in regards to the music, as it is a public beach it is out of our control but rest assured that these were the only two times we had any loud music on the beach this season, there were two separate birthday parties. It is unfortunate that these happened both during your stay with us.

We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future,

Kind regards,

Christopher

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2017

It did feel a bit like a retirement village, but it is 5 star. We had a Beach Front suite – I would not recommend a Pool room (traipsing up and down steep steps to beach, etc.). Our small veranda looked out onto a small garden plot and then a few trees, sand and sea – a stone’s throw. The room was large, big bed, fridge, a/c and a ceiling fan, good Wi-Fi and well furnished. Big bathroom with a great shower. Coffee (awful!) and tea making facilities.

Food at the “Blue Tropic” was average but at the main restaurant Bagatelle (maybe paint the beach side wall white?) there was really tasty and exciting food with great and friendly service, and the ability to sit right next to the beach with the sea breezes. The local bands were also good. It is expensive of course. Breakfast was really good. Good swimming pool, sun loungers, and snorkel equipment, etc. available. Not much to see snorkelling really however. For some cheap and cheerful local food I would recommend “Diamond” – 150 metres to the right from the top of heart attack hill! Great choice of restaurants along the water front in Port Elizabeth (try the roti).

Lovely strolls along the beach, but to get out onto the main road requires a walk up heart attack hill. It is thus a bit of a hot slog to the lovely beaches (Lower Bay, Princess Margaret’s Bay) on the other side of the island and the “action” at Port Elizabeth. Getting around is walking, dollar bus (good value) or taxi (expensive).

Apart from the beaches, not much to see on the island – various maritime museums - run by characters but fairly bare to be honest. The whaling memorabilia I found a bit upsetting, given that Bequia is still allowed to slaughter 4 whales a year, and in the traditional way. Taxi around the island is worth doing (Turtle sanctuary & viewpoints) – 35US$ per hour for up to 4 people – 2-3 hours should do it. Just be careful in that they tend to drag it out, and round up the time to the next hour!

Room tip: Beach side!
Date of stay: March 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank mike707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 4 April 2017

Dear mike707,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a detailed review about your stay with us, it is great to hear that you enjoyed your room as well as the hotel facilities. In regards to the "Heart Attack Hill" (Great name by the way) there is an easier way up to town which in by turning right as you leave the hotel instead of left. It will take you approximately 25 minutes to arrive at Princess Margaret's Beach and then only 10 minutes to Port Elizabeth as you walk on the Belmont walkway. We will ask Front Desk to give more detailed recommendations in regards to directions.
We are in the process of changing our coffee making facilities and hope to welcome you again in the near future for you to try it!

Sincerely yours,

Chris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2017 via mobile

Arrived with group of friends, we all had several drinks/cocktails followed by lunch, the restaurant was cool with open views to the sea, food amazing, had a excellent lunch with friends.
This wasn't my first visit, each time I visit Bequia, the hotel visit is a must. Have not yet been disappointed in the last 13 years. Look forward to the next visit.

Date of stay: March 2017
Trip type: Travelled with friends
2  Thank Lorraine A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 4 April 2017

Dear Lorraine A,

thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us, we are really glad that you enjoyed your lunch at Bagatelle and hope to see you again in the near future.

Sincerely Yours,

Chris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2017

Stunning location, beautiful beach, lovely staff, fab spa, delicious lobster night - very happy. We loved it from start to finish. Island very low key and relaxed compared to some of the other Caribbean islands. A real lesser known gem within the Windward Islands.Spa was fantastic - Monique with her healing hands and Suementa with her manis and pedis.Rooms gorgeous and two pools very clean with fresh towels always to hand.BBQ night was made extra special with the personality of Clinton. The barmen Kong, Steve and Brenton were great too.

Date of stay: March 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank catstirling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 4 April 2017

Dear catstirling,

We are delighted to have been able to deliver a memorable experience to celebrate your honeymoon and our staff will be extremely happy to know that they played an active part in making your stay an unforgettable experience. We wish you all the best in the years to come and hope to welcome you again on Bequia!

Kind regards,

Chris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2017

We spent five nights here and loved every minute of it. The beachfront villas were large and comfortable with the most glorious outlook. I awoke every morning to see the sun rising over the sea from my bed. There is plenty of shade in and around the beach area with mattresses on the sun beds. I really enjoyed the large and inviting pool while my husband swan in the sea every day.

The gardens are beautifully kept with trees, grass and colorful flowers which contributed to the overall feeling of peace and relaxation.

There are two restaurants, an Italian one up a fairly steep hill and another beside the sea. We always ate down by the sea as I have limited mobility and we were very happy with that. There was a good choice and the food was well cooked and presented. The staff were delightful and the service was good. We particularly enjoyed the Carribean evening and the lobster festival.

Our hosts were charming. There was a mix up by our agent with our request for twin beds and as there were none available on the ground floor we were kindly given a two roomed villa at no extra cost, for which we were very grateful.

I recommend the spa highly. My massage and the environment were great.

The property does have a varied terrain with level ground, hills and steps. I have a serious problem with hills and stairs but I managed absolutely fine on the lower levels. Just be sure to be aware of this when reserving your room.

Date of stay: January 2017
3  Thank Uk-lass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 7 March 2017

Dear Uk-lass,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us, we were delighted to read your comments especially regarding the Bagatelle Restaurant and location of our Beachfront suites. We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Kind regards,

Christopher

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews