We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth the visit” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dolaucothi Gold Mines

Dolaucothi Gold Mines
Ranked #1 of 1 things to do in Llanwrda
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Bexhill-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
265 reviews
93 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Worth the visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

Very well captured experience and nice clean & tidy attraction. Staff very friendly and knowledgeable. There is a tour which is free if you are a NT member. you get kitted up with a battery on your belt a hat and a light - you look really cool - not!! Quite difficult visit if you are not good on your feet as there are quite a lot of steep steps but well worth the effort.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Rick H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

310 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    228
    71
    6
    2
    3
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Carmarthen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Fun and interesting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

Fantastic, great guides, choice of two trips, Victorian and Roman, the pace of each tour is perfect. Fun for the family. Cafe is clean and adequate, nice shop.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Cornflake180
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abertillery, Wales
Level Contributor
35 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“A real experience.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

Thanks for a great afternoon and the trip through the mine was great. Our guide was superb and as we werea large group I am sure he will have had other positive comments on the day.

The panning for gold was great fun and the food in the canteen was very good too. All in all a great value for money afternoon.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
156 reviews
58 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Great return visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014

We last visited some twenty years ago when the boys were young. Great return visit with just the two of us. Went on the guided Victorian underground walk and, after a spot of lunch in the cafe, took the audio Roman tour. Staff were all very friendly and helpful and the tour guide combined humour, engagment with the children in the group we formed, and historic facts. The cafe was a delight with food made to order, a mix of National Trust quality and genuine home-made fare. We surprised ourselves by spending over three hours there. Hard to believe so many folk have toiled there over the years and how much effort the Romans put in to the area.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank KeithW725
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
448 reviews
281 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 389 helpful votes
“Fabulous Place - A Must See”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014

What a wonderful experience - we pulled in to break up a long car journey, very glad we did. As a previous reviewer said, this is not a normal National Trust place. There are interesting buildings above ground to explore, you can pan for gold and take one of two underground tours. We chose the Victorian tour - fascinating, you go through the mines and hear about their exploits to extract gold from the rocks. Sturdy shoes are a must - if you don't have them though there are plenty of wellies in all shapes and sizes in the Kitting Out Shed. I made use of a pair and was very grateful for them. Our tour guide was first class - full of knowledge and friendly and helpful too.
There are walks all around the area - unfortunately we did not have time for that, but it is extremely scenic and you can take an MP3 player from reception and do a guided walk past the Roman mines.
We also stopped off in the National Trust pub in the village nearby - it is a gorgeous spot with a stunning garden, perfect for a drink and cool off after a morning down the mine.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Joy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Dolaucothi Gold Mines also viewed

Ystradfellte, Carmarthenshire
Llandeilo, Carmarthenshire
 
Cenarth, Carmarthenshire
 

Been to Dolaucothi Gold Mines? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing