We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“wonderfull-extraordinary”
other traveller has booked this property
Pool
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Pool
Ground floor bedroom, king size bed, en-suite shower & WC - suitable for restricted mobility Chez Emilion
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
10 reviews
Pool
Ground floor bedroom, king size bed, en-suite shower & WC - suitable for restricted mobility
Chez Emilion
6 person luxury spa
Plenty of places to relax!
Bedroom suite with queen-size bed & en-suite shower & toilet
Terrace for al-fresco dining
Solar heated pool
Double bedroom
Banana trees around the pool
Sofa in double room
Pool terrace
Pool
Garden room with visiting bronze by Desmond Fountain
Vast gardens
Lots of space for children
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Gauriaguet, Gironde, Nouvelle-Aquitaine

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 10 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
soricelli...
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“wonderfull-extraordinary”
Reviewed 9 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We passed our holidays in thèse fantastic house and we are now back home with great memories of the house (with the chicken and their eggs and donkeys )and of the région
we can not wait before next year to book this vacation again

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: all of it
Liked least: nothing-everything was perfect
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rob25436
Mt Eliza, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“EXCELLENT”
Reviewed 4 November 2013 for a stay in October 2013

My wife and I and our three adult children spent 4 terrific weeks at Chez Emilion. We were looking for a house that easily accommodate us and that meant good sized bedrooms and at least three bathrooms and this place was perfect. It is located about 30 minutes outside Bordeaux by car but the best and cheapest way to access the city is to drive to the park and ride about 15 minutes away and then catch the tram. The property is located at Guariaguet, a small village, and from there we were able to drive to a great many interesting and historic locations. Of course the wine producing area around Bordeaux is reputed to be the biggest in France so that featured a lot in our travel. David and Lesley Proctor were great hosts. Friendly and always available for help or advice. Then of course were the animals that made Chez Emilion a special place. Donkeys, chooks, dogs and cats occupied a lot of our attention. In particular we had a constant companion in Elgar, a beautiful tabby cat. We all miss Elgar but we know he will always have a lot of friends from around the world who have spoilt him just like we did.
Chez Emilion is a perfect place for families or a group of friends. We recommend it highly.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: It was just like living at home.
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ALISON B
Stevenage, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Outstanding in every way!”
Reviewed 18 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013

Chez Emilion is faultless really, I defy anyone to find it lacking in any way. The downstairs bedroom and bathroom are perfect for guests with restricted mobility or as in the case of our daughter a wheelchair user, The pool and extensive grounds are fabulous and where else could you stay and be able to wander down the garden to feed the donkeys and have the chickens visit you for snacks? Lesley and David are incredibly accommodating and two of the nicest people you could ever wish to meet, nothing is too much trouble. I would highly recommend a visit to St Emilion and catching the tram into Bordeaux, we used the park and ride which cost 3.50 euros for the five of us. Because we had lovely weather we were happy chilling out by the pool but there is also indoor table tennis, table football and a fantastic hot tub. We can honestly say it was our best family holiday ever and the downside of leaving this review is that once everyone else discovers Chez Emilion it might be all booked up when we want to return!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The animals sharing our holiday
Liked least: Leaving!
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chrisplus...
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Wonderful Family Holiday”
Reviewed 13 August 2012 for a stay in July 2012

This house is a fabulous place to base yourself for a family holiday in the Bordeaux area. Lesley and David are the perfect hosts who will give you lots of practical information on places to go, local markets, restaurants etc. This is usually with a glass of wine next to the swimming pool on your first day (a great way to start!) The house has plenty of room for a big family and a great garden with a variety of amusements for everyone with a swimming pool, spa, play equipment and of course the friendly donkeys, chickens and Elgar the cat.

The kitchen is very well equiped and you can cook up a storm with ingredients from the local markets. The washing machine and clothes line (and dryer if you need it) are all very handy for a travelling family.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the wonderful facilities and our friendly hosts
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Letournea...
Bracebridge, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Peaceful, beautiful and a wonderful place to venture out from to see the sights”
Reviewed 14 June 2012 for a stay in May 2012
2
people found this review helpful

This location is perfect as long as you are prepared to rent a car. The location is close to Bordeaux - with an easy tram ride into the heart of the city so you don't have to worry about driving downtown. It is also 30 minutes to 1 hour away from other major must see locations such as St. Emilion, Blaye, Cognac and of course the fabulous beaches. Our hosts also helped us to arrange a day long wine tour of the St Emilion area which was wonderful and enjoyed by all.

Our hosts David and Lesley were absolutely marvelous. They were nearby and always responsive when called upon for advice and directions. They also very generously shared fresh eggs with us from their chickens and welcomed us with some wonderful local wine and snacks on our first day. Throughout the holiday they were gracious, always available and never intrusive.

The house was extremely clean and well kept. What started out as a holidy for three adults ended up being a holiday for 8 adults from Canada, USA, Australia and Germany. The home had plenty of room and all of us felt very comfortable throughout our stay. Our hosts had no problem with the addition in headcount.

The location was a beautiful, peaceful spot to end each busy day. We enjoyed sitting out in the sunshine on the deck, drinking wine and munching on snacks each evening before dinner discussing the amazing sites we had seen during the day and planning our next adventure for the following day. We also enjoyed the visits from the chickens and walking out to pet the friendly donkeys in a nearby pen.

I would recommend this location to anyone who enjoys staying outside the hussle and bussle of the city and who are prepared to drive and explore the region on their own. Our hosts simply added to the wonderful experience.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and the wonderful hospitality of the owners.
Liked least: no restaurants within walking distance.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stevenage, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2012 for a stay in June 2012
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Property was huge, beautiful grounds & pool
Liked least: Coming away!
Travelling group: Family with Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Jane O
Rochdale, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Paradise for families! Huge, safe gardens with enclosed pool, hot tub and fabulously clean and practical accommodation.”
Reviewed 5 June 2011 for a stay in June 2011
3
people found this review helpful

The house is, by far, the cleanest and nicest we've ever stayed in. Lovely, airy rooms, including one on the ground floor, which would be ideal for eg grandparents.

We stayed for a week in June: 2 couples with 3 small boys between us (6, 6 and 2).

As well as a practical open plan kitchen/dining/living area, there is a fantastic garden room, a games room (which is superbly well equipped with kids toys for all ages, arm bands, goggles etc as well as table tennis and table football) and another room with a hot tub/jacuzzi which we all loved (kids included!).

The grounds are amazing... Completely enclosed and safe for the kids to run riot in. Lots of places for hide and seek, including huge bamboo and weeping willows as well as a brilliant trampoline and slide, which our kids couldn't get enough of.

The pool is solar heated and has a lockable/kid proof gate. It isn't too deep and is big enough for everyone to enjoy but feel safe in.

David and Lesley were fantastic hosts. Always there if we had a question and extremely obliging with advice and tips on what to see and do (not to mention the wine!). They managed to be informative, helpful and friendly without being pushy and we never felt anything but relaxed and happy in their company.

There are lots of animals at the end of the garden, which we enjoyed feeding and learning about. We got to see the sheep being sheared, collected eggs from the chickens, experienced how loud guinea fowl are when you stumble on them in the bushes and we nearly got to see a baby donkey. We waited all week for the impending birth and then it happened a few hours after we left! Lesley obligingly sent photos for us though!

The only negative is the name of the village, which is completely impossible to pronounce. Make sure you write it down to show people if you ever get lost or need to get a taxi!!!!

In summary, this is the perfect place for parents to relax and kids to have the time of their lives. Our holiday will be talked about and remembered for a very long time and we hope we will be able to come back again soon. We would recommend Les Rossignols to anyone - places like this that tick so many boxes are genuinely hard to find.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: Family with Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Young singles Friends getaway
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Families with teenagers
Tourists Large groups
Luxury-minded travelers Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing