We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value for a 'pig out'!!”
Review of Le Mekong

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Le Mekong
Ranked #3 of 5 Restaurants in Pineuilh
Cuisines: Chinese, Vietnamese
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Waitstaff
Duras, France
Level Contributor
49 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Good value for a 'pig out'!!”
Reviewed 11 October 2013

The food is OK.....not like English Chinese, but it fills a hole and is very good value especially at lunch times.
It has always been well cooked, never had a problem.
I do think they need to spend a bit of time cleaning.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank tonkatilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    11
    9
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
St Astier, France
Level Contributor
49 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Eat what you like - if you like it! Much better around”
Reviewed 16 June 2013

Visited here for lunch to see if we wanted to bring a large group of friends who were staying the next week. The restaurant, in our opinion, was a cross between a transport cafe and conference centre. There was plenty of (warm) food and you help yourself. Most of the flavours were quite bland and the food was not as fresh as other places (Tan Thanh in the middle of Sainte Foy always has fresh vegetables and no MSG).

Other places may have a menu - like the Tan Thanh or Mama Chow in Eymet - so you cannot eat as much as you like - but unless you like to pig out they are generous portions, the food far superior in quality and the atmosphere in a different league.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CriticJD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herts
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Its OK”
Reviewed 7 May 2013

I have been to this restaurant twice now - once for lunch and once on a Saturday evening.
Just average - will not go again. Mama Chow in Eymet the one to go to - not buffet - but far superior and all freshly cooked.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ScrottyHerts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bergerac, France
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Give the all you can eat a miss”
Reviewed 27 February 2013

I have only visited once at lunchtime for a set, all you can eat buffet. I have to say I was not that impressed. Very Impersonal, poor wine, not very tasty food. I have been told that it is better at night but to be honest that one visit put me off.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Steve H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
120 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Good value buffet lunch spot”
Reviewed 17 February 2013 via mobile

Nice buffet all you can eat lunch with a Vietnamese style and general East Asia fare. Popular with working folk and pleasant surroundings and good food.

Helpful?
Thank Bagsandscarper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Le Mekong also viewed

Sainte Foy-la-Grande, Gironde
Pineuilh, Gironde
 
Sainte Foy-la-Grande, Gironde
Sainte Foy-la-Grande, Gironde
 

Been to Le Mekong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing