We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The worst place on the KEYS”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
BayView Inn Motel and Marina
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Conch Key
Certificate of Excellence
NORTH COUNTRY
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“The worst place on the KEYS”
Reviewed 19 September 2006

We found Bay View Inn on the web. We spoke w/ the owner's wife, who had misrepresented the place and the boat. She told us that the place was nice and well kept and that the boat was new and had a GPS, Depth finder, and she thought a fish finder (but was not sure on that). She also told us that we had use of the boat for as long as our rental was. And she said we could take it to Cuba if we wished (we didn't of course)When we arrived at 6:15pm on May 15, the owner and wife were already gone. The keys were left in the door. The place was filthy. Not vacuumed and the rugs were extremely stained. (I have a video of the room). There was a very poorly constructed wall that separated our room from another room with 2inches of plaster over the wall and face plates. We weren't buying it so it didn't bother us that much, but certainly not like she had explained it to me. We had spent alot of time on the web weeks before looking for places and there were very few available then, so we knew it would be extremely difficult trying to find one while down there and we were only there for 3days. The next day we had use of the boat. Right from the beginning it was very difficult to start. Taking us almost an hour each time we stopped to try to start it up again. We decided to confront the owner with the problems we had been having. We asked him for towels as our room had not been cleaned and we were forced to use the same towels. In Florida wet things tend to mold up quickly, so they really smelled. We also asked him to fill up the boat as he had indicated it was low on gas and we could only use his gas (though his prices are more than others). He said, "I can't get your towels and i can't get your gas because I am leaving." Bang, right then he blew up and told us was disappointed in the condition we left the boat in. Mind you, it was a fishing boat and we had just arrived at the dock, so no time to clean it. We figured we would cool off a bit and jumped in the pool. Moments later he came by with a pool sign “closed” and demanded that we leave the pool immediately. At that point I informed him that he had no customer service and his place was in dire need of cleaning, so maybe his priority should not be in going home, but rather in cleaning the place and taking care of the customer.

  • Stayed August 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank cudaman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
seashime, Owner at BayView Inn Motel and Marina, responded to this review, 25 October 2010
this review was directed at the former owners...please look at our recent tripadvisor ratings and visit our webiste for an updated viewing of our property
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    71
    25
    6
    3
    7
See reviews for
31
49
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 9 August 2005

We took our family from the Uk to this motel, expecting a dream vacation. it was a nightmare vacation. the rooms were filthy dirty, bugs crawling on floors and walls. We were bitten to pieces by fleas. The toilet backed up and flooded the bathroom and rooms. The shower had a major leak which flooded the hallway carpet everytime it was used, resulting in a foul smell of dampness. The pillow had bloodstains on and were completely flat. The store was empty of goods with food items being sold out of date. the toilet incident was the final straw and we escaped the Bay View Inn to another accommodation. Despite our complaints to the owners who by the way at the time were British, they charged us for the full rate of 14 nights stay when we only stayed 4 nights. (Need I say more). The motel needed a complete renovation.

  • Stayed January 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
seashime, Owner at BayView Inn Motel and Marina, responded to this review, 25 October 2010
this review was directed at the former owners...please llok at our recent tripadvisor ratings and visit our webiste for an updated viewing of our property
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2005

In need of a major overhaul. They expect you to bring them the soiled towels for replacement. For that money I expect them to make the room and change the linens. Less work for the 6 room motel, more inconvenience for the guests. Yuch.

Helpful?
9 Thank fastmoves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
seashime, Owner at BayView Inn Motel and Marina, responded to this review, 25 October 2010
this review was directed at the former owners...please look at our recent tripadvisor ratings and visit our webiste for an updated viewing of our property
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Conch Key
5.2 mi away
Lime Tree Bay Resort
9.1 mi away
The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marathon
9.3 mi away
Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort
Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort
#1 of 1 in Key Colony Beach
793 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.6 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Marathon Florida Keys
5.1 mi away
Seashell Beach Resort
Seashell Beach Resort
#10 of 16 in Marathon
269 reviews
16.5 mi away
Amara Cay Resort
Amara Cay Resort
#6 of 19 in Islamorada
1,363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BayView Inn Motel and Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BayView Inn Motel and Marina

Property: BayView Inn Motel and Marina
Address: 3 N Conch Ave, Mile Marker 63, Conch Key, FL 33050-6969
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Conch Key
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Conch Key
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BayView Inn Motel and Marina 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are located on Conch Key, in the middle of the Florida Keys, as we say…”in the middle of paradise.” Centrally located for the best snorkeling, diving, and sportfishing in the Keys. We also have boat rentals on site. The Bayview Inn is a perfect vacation in the Florida Keys for fishermen, families, birdwatchers, and sports enthusiasts. We have a boat ramp, we sell gasoline, we have plenty of protected dockage, and our convenience store sells frozen bait, fishing supplies. We have a pool and a private beach area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your BayView Inn Motel and Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bay View Inn Motel And Marina Hotel Conch Key
BayView Inn Motel And Marina Conch Key, Florida Keys

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing