We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Charming and tranquil stay for 3”
other travellers have booked this property
Private entrance
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Private entrance
Master Bedroom View on the park from the Dining/Reception room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
9 reviews
Private entrance
Master Bedroom
View on the park from the Dining/Reception room
View of the semi-detached house
Bird's eye view
Dining/Reception room
Open plan kitchen
Fully equipped Kitchen
Stairs leading to the 2nd bedroom
Second bedroom
access to the bathroom via the Master Bedroom
Extra cupboards available in bathroom
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Saint-Germain-Du-Puch, Gironde, Nouvelle-Aquitaine

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 9 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Italian first
Any
English first
CathyMac1...
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Charming and tranquil stay for 3”
Reviewed 28 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

The Hery family were exceptionally friendly and helpful hosts. The gite is attached to the end of their beautiful home but the tranquillity of the setting gave lie to the fact that anyone else was around.

The lovely main bedroom is just off the kitchen with a great large bathroom off it. Our teenage son slept in another room up a few steps from the kitchen - there is only the one bathroom which was fine for us.

The setting is idyllic - we saw eagles, deer, cows in the next field, the friendly chickens and the kitchen window is a lovely place to look, sit and think. There isn't a lounge area as such so if you like to flop or couldn't be outside if the weather was bad you'd have to be fine about sitting on dining chairs - there's a comfy armchair. We brought in the outside chairs a couple of times when we were in reading mode and that was fine. If you were staying for a longer time you might miss a sofa but for a week it was fine.

The outside area is pretty and very peaceful with trees, shrubs and grass - there's a table and chairs you can use for dining - it's very pretty and quite private.

We really liked Bordeaux and St Emilion - very different to each other. Bordeaux - a large-ish cosmopolitan city which has managed to maintain its character and 18th century charm - including its beautiful architecture. St Emilion, much smaller and the beautiful limestone buildings - particularly gorgeous in the setting sun. Between places, you're seldom driving outwith a vineyard.

We hired bikes one day from Creon and you can stay on a cycle path that's been created from the old railway line - only crossing mostly side roads en route. There also electric bikes - but be warned - check how far the battery will get you - I didn't and had a struggle getting back when the battery conked out with quite a way to go.

Our best meal was at the local Tabac/Bistro in Sallebeouf where Francois cooks whatever you want to eat - you just need to have a chat with him the day before and decide what you want. It was excellent - really well cooked and delicious and the most reasonably priced meal of our stay. You could walk from the gite - it would probably take you about 20 minutes. The bakery is just along the road and someone comes and sells fish next to it 3 times a week.

So all in all a lovely peaceful place in a handy location for accessing Bordeaux, St Emilion and other towns and wonderfully helpful hosts. We'd love to go back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the beautiful setting and attention to detail in and around the property
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charles L
Madrid, Spain
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Beautiful and relaxing”
Reviewed 17 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

On arrival we were very warmly greeted by our hosts that made us feel immediately at home. This small annex to the main house is beautifully setup and tastefully decorated. The bed in the main room is comfortable for a couple though a little on the small side. There is an in-suite bathroom which is huge by European standards and has been recently renovated with modern fixtures. The kitchen is fully functional and well equipped but probably a bit small if cooking anything serious for more than two adults. The second room is a level above and has two individual beds. The arrangement is ideal for a couple with one or two small kids. We have 3 and it was great to the point that this will definitely be among our first picks the next time around as long as were going for no more than 3 or 4 days. For a longer period I would look for something slightly bigger with two bathrooms.

The main house and the grounds are gorgeous. The annex opens out onto a large garden with a table where we would enjoy the sunset having wine and cheese while the children played in the area. There are no other houses or close by so all you hear is the breeze, the crickets and the birds.

Salleboeuf the closest town is less the 3Km away. There is a bakery where we picked up fresh bread and croissants every morning, but not much else. Another 3 km further down the road will get you to a Carrefour Contact (a small version of their hypermarkets) which is well stocked. A self-serve gas only station (pin validated credit card required) is also part of the complex. St Emilion – worth the visit – is a 20 to 25 min drive and to periphery of Bordeaux is about the same though due to the size of the city time to your final destination can vary a bit.

We did not need anything from our hosts during our visit but they really made us feel welcome to voice any request should it have arisen, absolutely charming.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The place, the location and the hosts
Liked least: Wi-Fi bandwidth very low
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tring, Herts
Reviewed 14 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Warm welcome, relaxing environment and great location
Liked least: Sun could have shined a bit more!
Travelling group: Solo
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
dillyatla...
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Wonderful place in a great location”
Reviewed 12 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We loved our stay here. Arnaud was a very welcoming host who went out of his way to make sure we were happy and comfortable. Antoine did a great job responding to all my questions ahead of booking and gave us very helpful directions to get there (though it's pretty straightforward, it's always helpful to have landmarks as well).

The grounds are beautiful and we felt very comfortable there. They've done a great job making everything really pretty and you feel like you're in a different world when there. Relax over a glass of wine out in the meadow or go for a walk in the forest. It's so peaceful to go to sleep to the chirping of crickets and frogs and wake up to such nature and quiet.

We brought our little dog and he was very sad to leave as well!

Located right in between Bordeaux and St Emilion, it was a great base to go exploring the different areas (though we like St Emilion much more than Bordeaux, the journey out to the Medoc wineries in and beyond Margaux is well worth it). We drove everywhere - it's about 25-30 minutes to either St Emilion or Bordeaux. If you're planning on travelling by taxi, it may be a bit inconvenient, but I'm not sure.

The little patisserie in the small town of Sallebouf had delicious pan au chocolate. :-) A good place to stop on your way out for the day. We didn't bring any food back to nibble on but if we go back, I'd pick up some bread and cheese to enjoy in the evenings between coming back from our tours and heading out to dinner.

We were a group of three (my husband and me and a friend) and it was comfortable. The bathroom can only be accessed via the main bedroom so if you don't know each other very well, maybe not ideal, but it was fine for us. There's enough space, you feel like you can move without running into each other all the time, which is nice. Plus, if it's nice out, you're outside enjoying the grounds. Weather wasn't quite nice enough for the pool to be open but there is one there for summer months.

I would definitely stay here again and don't really want to tell everyone how nice it is for fear it'll be booked next time we go. :-)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, how pretty it is, how nice the family is
Liked least: Towels could be nicer and mattress could be a bit better but it was all fine
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 May 2014
Thank you Jocelin for you nice review, that's much appreciated and we are looking forward to have you all again (not forgetting Finley)
Just so you know the swimming pool is actually not opened to guests I am afraid all year long.
Thanks
Arnaud & Antoine
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jayguevar...
Paris, France
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2016 for a stay in August 2015
Google Translation

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: En famille avec jeune(s) enfant(s)
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlotta...
1 review
Reviewed 2 October 2015 for a stay in September 2015
Google Translation

Travelling group: Other
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jean-dani...
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015
Google Translation

Travelling group: En famille élargie
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$135
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing