We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice surprise”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Les Feuilles d'Acanthe
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Saint-Macaire
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Perth, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“A nice surprise”
Reviewed 14 May 2014

We only had the opportunity to stay at Saint Macaire for one night as part of a self guided cycle trip. Les Feuilles d'Acanthe was a lovely surprise. We had a large room and bathroom which was very clean, quiet and comfortable. There was a jacuzzi which we made good use of after a hard day of cycling!!
The staff were great. Very friendly and they were also very tolerant and encouraged me to practice my very meagre French!!
We also had dinner at their restaurant, and it was really good.
Overall I would recommend this hotel and restaurant if you are travelling to Saint Macaire or in the area.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gkg28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    57
    40
    8
    4
    0
See reviews for
16
56
3
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bern, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2013

The hotel is located in the medieval old part of the town, in a renovated old mansion. The bathrooms are all new, while the rooms still feature the old stonewalls. Finding it's way inside can be a bit confusing first. Did not try the jacuzzi, but the restaurant was fine, with local, freshly cooked specialties.

Room Tip: On arrival, enter the restaurant That's where you will find one of the ladies running the place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank riehen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bethesda
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2013

Just visited Saint Macaire on Sept 24 and would like to echo what other reviews have indicated, that this is a great little hotel and a real gem of a find. Our room was spotless, newly appointed, with a very modern bathroom. We also ate at their restaurant and loved the food. There was considerable choice on the menu and all of the dishes -- my partner's and mine -- were excellent.
Saint Macaire is a very charming medieval city that is definitely worth a detour. It is a family-owned business and we found both owners to be very charming and helpful. One other point -- the hotel has an indoor Jacuzzi. Unfortunately, we did not have bathing suits with us -- but it really looked inviting!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Saul P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2013

Beautiful cool spacious rooms, like entering a cave with a stone floor. Great spa facilities (albeit a little chlorine-heavy, don't get it in your eyes!).

And a fabulous restaurant too...the trick here if you are on an organised tour (we were on a cycle tour) is to tell them you want to eat from the regular menu, not the tour menu. We'd met some lovely French people in the spa who raved about the food, so when we were presented with the 2-meal option tour menu, we told them we wanted to eat from the normal one. Lo and behold - a great meal, and a 30 Euro discount for the meal we were supposed to receive.

Breakfast wasn't the best we had in France, but was sufficient.

Would definitely stay here again if cycling through the area :)

Room Tip: If on a tour, ask to eat from the regular menu instead.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DCDC99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2012

Bicycling from Bordeaux to Sète, staying in several excellent hotels along the way, I stayed two days at Les Feuilles d'Acanthe. On the way back to Bordeaux I changed my schedule to stay two more days at this charming small (12 rooms) family owned hotel just inside St. MaCaire's narrow streets of the Middle Ages. The hotel was built as a rich merchant's home in the 16th century. Tastefully updated, the rooms retain the best of tradition while including the best updates. The hotel's restaurant is small, but often packed with locals and tourists (which as one would expect in a small family restaurant in a small village) can slow service on those too busy occasions--but that is not the case other times when service is excellent. The meals, drawing on the best of local foods and wines, are excellent. A stay is highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jeff x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palo Cedro, CA
Level 6 Contributor
218 reviews
103 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2012

The rooms are fine. We were on a self guided hiking tour and they staff was so surly that it really affected our experience. We ate in the restaurant but were not given a choice...just a slab of what seemed like American southern ham, yes, in France. Despite the fact that our tour was pricey (and I believe what the hotels received was substantial..there were 3 of us/2 rooms) we were not offered a choice of menus nor were we given an opportunity to pay extra at the hotel for upgrading our meal/wine, which we would have gladly done.
At breakfast our friend's cafe never arrived and when she asked about it she was meant with incredible surliness.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank qsmamo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
319 reviews
199 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 186 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2012

The Hotel les Feuilles d'Acanthe in St Macaire can be found just inside the old town in a beautiful stone house. Rooms are tastefully and simply furnished with local wooden furniture.

Where the hotel falls short, though, is in the charm of its service, or lack of it. I and a friend were on a cycling tour which took us from one hotel to another (five in all during the course of a week), and one sensed that one was not so much a guest at this hotel as something requiring the discharge of an obligation.

I can only suppose that the tour operator who books these hotels for the cycle tour imposes a less exciting price on hotels such as these in return for confirmed and large quantities of reservations. The contract clearly brings little joy to the hotel management - the welcome was meagre and my consternation at dinner that we must eat a fixed menu without choice was met with incomprehension and resentment. One felt like a second- or third-class guest. We noticed that breakfast was also slightly less abundant for us than for other guests.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank abager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint-Macaire
1.3 mi away
Hotel Claude Darroze
Hotel Claude Darroze
#1 of 3 in Langon
95 reviews
9.5 mi away
Domaine de Fompeyre
Domaine de Fompeyre
#1 of 2 in Bazas
319 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hostellerie Geraud de Graves
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Domaine de Valmont
Domaine de Valmont
#1 of 1 in Barsac
347 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hotel Atlantis
Hotel Atlantis
#3 of 3 in Langon
18 reviews
17.5 mi away
Domaine de Larchey
Domaine de Larchey
#1 of 1 in Saint-Medard-d'Eyrans
183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Les Feuilles d'Acanthe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Les Feuilles d'Acanthe

Property: Les Feuilles d'Acanthe
Address: 5 rue de l Eglise, 33490 Saint-Macaire, France
Region: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Gironde > Saint-Macaire
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Saint-Macaire
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Les Feuilles d'Acanthe 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Les Feuilles d'Acanthe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing