We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Castaway Cove
Nearby Hotels
Noosa Springs Golf & Spa Resort(Noosa)(Great Value!)
US$212
US$184
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
RACV Noosa Resort(Noosa)(Great Value!)
US$256
US$202
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Peppers Noosa Resort and Villas(Noosa)(Great Value!)
US$271
US$246
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
The Sebel Noosa(Noosa)(Great Value!)
US$242
US$221
The Sebel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$313
Sofitel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (52)
Filter reviews
52 results
Traveller rating
14
17
7
4
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
14
17
7
4
10
See what travellers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
24 - 29 of 52 reviews
Reviewed 9 October 2013

We stayed in a 2 bedroom apartment with our family of 5 for 2 nights and found it to be very pleasant and enjoyable. The rooms were spacious with mildly dated but clean furniture. The outdoor private BBQ was excellent. The enclosed garages offer added security. The pool was the perfect temp and the kids loved it. The beach is only a short walk with the sound of the ocean able to be heard from most rooms.
Also, after we left I discovered I had left my pillow behind, I rang the managers and they could not have been more helpful in returning in as soon as they could. Would definitely recommend signing up to their email as they have some exclusive deals on offer.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tigerzark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2013

Enjoyed a wonderful four nights at Castaway Cove Resort. The villa had absolutely everything we needed to ensue a comfortable stay. We did not have a car so used the public bus service which was convenient. The bus stops are pretty close to the resort and some of the bus drivers went the extra mile and dropped us right there. The manager was friendly and helpful. Such a peaceful location but close to Noosa and surrounding towns.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Georgina R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2013

Castaway Cove Resort is easy to access by car. THey have parking for all room/units. The studios are ok but they do noe have cooking opportunities, only microwave. Visitors can cook on the shared BBQ in the pool area and the managers are happy to receive payment for upgrades.

The facilities were perfectly ok but even though the place was nearly empty there was very little flexibility for changes and rather poor complimentary service. If you are staying for a while bring everything you might need as they charge extra for everything from tennis equipment to toilet paper.

The location gave easy access to Marcus Beach (not attended by lifeguards), including walkways and bike paths. Great place for some peace and quiet.

Room Tip: It might be worth paying a little extra for a bigger unit if you are staying for a while.
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank QAEva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glen T, Manager at Castaway Cove, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2013

Thanks Eva for your comments. I would just point out, for the benefit of future guests who may not realize, that we are not a hotel, but are a self-catering apartment complex, which basically means that we supply the room, and guests look after themselves. There is no daily service provision like there is with a hotel or motel.

Whilst there is no obligation on us to provide food or consumable items for the benefit of guests, we do actually supply free of charge some 26 consumable items which are enough for guests to get past the first night or two before they can go out and purchase their own supplies. We do, however, advise guests that once their complimentary supplies have been exhausted, they can purchase extras of us if they really need to. In regards to toilet paper, two full rolls are provided for each toilet in every unit. These should have been completely sufficient for Eva’s two night stay.

Eva booked one of our Studio Apartments which are not fully self-contained. These units are one of the cheapest available on the Sunshine Coast which is why they are very popular. However, you get what you pay for. They do not have cooking facilities other than a microwave and toaster. The facilities are clearly listed on any website where bookings can be made. We do not recommend a Studio unit for longer stays because of the lack of cooking and laundry facilities. Certainly Studio guests are welcomed to pay to upgrade to a 1 bedroom fully self-contained apartment if the Studio doesn’t meet their expectations, and we have one available.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2013

My Husband and I booked a three day weekend for our 10th wedding Anniversary back in the end of December, for mid-May and had to cancel because the company we work for is ending our assignment here and we have to go back to Canada. We put down a $220 deposit and when we called to cancel, even though it was canceled well before the reserved date the Manager/Owner? smuggly told us they were keeping our money because that was their policy, even though I explained that we would not even be in the Country anymore. I was astounded at how rude and insensitive the Manager Glen was.

Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Jill S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glen T, Manager at Castaway Cove, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2013

Jill Sabin from USA booked one of our Penthouses in December 2012 for a 3 night stay in May 2013. The booking was made through Booking.com. The tariff was $660 and she was charged the first night’s tariff ($220) as a deposit.

On 28th March 2013 she rang me to cancel the booking. I advised her that because she had booked through a 3rd party accommodation website, Booking.com, she would have to contact them to cancel the booking, and she would be subject to whatever their cancellation policy was at the time of her booking.

The cancellation policy stated “If cancelled or modified up to 7 days before date of arrival, 100 percent of the first night will be charged. If cancelled or modified later or in case of no-show, the total price of the reservation will be charged.”

Shortly after speaking with Jill I received a phone call from Dianne at Booking.com advising me that she had received a request from Jill for a full refund of her deposit. She stated that Jill was very rude, belligerent, aggressive and would not listen to reason. We confirmed, and Dianne subsequently confirmed with Jill, that in accordance with the cancellation conditions her deposit of $220 would be forfeited.

I then received another phone call from Jill. I had to listen to an abusive threat to put a bad review on the Internet. I said absolutely nothing before she hung up on me. Blackmail is alive and well on Trip Advisor !

Deposits are taken for the purpose of assuring that guests don’t make frivolous bookings, and to provide some level of compensation to owners for having taken a unit off the market (in this case for 4 months) and losing the opportunity to rent it to someone else.

Why this person thought that the clearly enumerated cancellation policy did not apply to her, and why she has such a bad attitude, is beyond me.

Had she booked direct thorough me, rather than through an on-line travel agent, she would have been subject to a less restrictive cancellation policy, and may have received a full refund less a $30 admin fee if we were able to refill the booking. This is one of the advantages of booking direct rather than through 3rd party websites. When making an on-line booking, guests need to make sure they carefully read the booking conditions.

It was clearly her mistake and for her to then put a negative review on Trip Advisor is unfair to my property in the extreme. This review is fairly typical of some guests who just won’t admit to their own errors and just use TA as a means of retribution.

She didn’t even stay with us, so this review should be removed by Trip Advisor.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2013

Stayed here for our wedding/honeymoon in a pent house apartment.
Location is fantastic if you want to be away from the hassell of noosa.. Owners recommended a car which came in very handy.
The roof top spa was fantastic with a BBQ area also.. Great for relaxing at night as we had our 15mth old with us.
We were greeted with a BBQ pack, champagne and noosa hand made chocolates which was lovely.
The middle floor was nice a little dated compared to the other two floors.. Downstairs was fantastic.. Great having so many balconys to relax on.
Their beach area was lovely, nice and clean sand which was only a couple minute walk from our apartment down a short nature path.
The owners were helpful with advice on attractions and always greeted with a friendly hi.
One thing to point out that was a little frustrating.. The spa company had to service the spa during our stay we were told when he arrived to do it as she said " they don't know when they are coming " frustrating because our little man was asleep at the time and was woken up other than that a very lovely stay..

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BellaalleB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews