We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“The Perfect Weekend”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Dog friendly B&B

Welcome to Penllys Bach
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Welcome to Penllys Bach
Relax on your own terrace From bedroom to garden
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
10 reviews
Welcome to Penllys Bach
Relax on your own terrace
From bedroom to garden
Your room, opening out onto the garden
Snuggle up in front of the fire
Relax the day away
Breakfast in the sun
Late summer colour
The view from the balcony
and the other side of the balcony
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Private Room, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Llanfechain, Powys, Wales

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 10 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Christie2...
Derbyshire, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“The Perfect Weekend”
Reviewed 17 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

This is the most dog friendly place we have ever stayed. It was so relaxing to know that our dog wasn't just tolerated, but was totally welcome. We felt more like house guests and friends than paying guests, and nothing was too much trouble for Gill. She even went blackberrying for my husband's breakfast fruit and the homegrown produce was so fresh and tasty, best tomatoes ever. Mayo & Ketch made our dog Jamie so welcome and accepted him into their pack. Hope one day to be back.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LoveTrave...
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Miss”
Reviewed 23 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

A big thank you to Gill and Sam for a very relaxing and wonderful weekend stay. There hospitality was great and the dog friendly atmosphere was a breath of fresh air. There are not many places you can stay with your four legged friends without having to worry about where they go or sit in the accommodation.
Evening meal was excellent as was the breakfasts, mostly cooked using Gills home grown crops.
Lovely views from your room in a very quiet location.
Very reasonably priced and will definitely be visiting again, highly recommended for dog owners.
Again a big thank you to Gill and Sam.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sharon h
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Perfect”
Reviewed 23 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Not long arrived home from a wonderful week end in Wales. The four of us stayed at this perfect dog friendly, cottage and enjoyed every minute. The owners were very welcoming and the cottage and garden are beautiful. We Will defiantly return. Thank you for our warm welcome, spotlessly clean room, comfy bed and delicious home cooked food mostly from your garden. Heaven for doggies and humans.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
John R
Derbyshire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Relax, Chill, Eat!”
Reviewed 9 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Our second visit ( third one planned already). We had a fabulous time again and were looked after so excellently by Gill, Sam and the 'girls'. The food was creative, luxurious, and superb! We stayed 3 nights and eat dinner there for two nights - don't miss out!

For us this is a very special place where we can truly unwind...

One night we eat in the village pub - thoroughly enjoyable, and welcoming too.

We travelled to Llangollen one day - and Gill and Sam looked after Toya for us. As it happened there was music everywhere and it was just magical!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything about it!
Liked least: There was nothing we did not like so zero
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Jul 2016
Thank you for the fab review. It was lovely to see you all again and that Toya enjoyed her day with us.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sri153
Derby, United Kingdom
1 review
“Stunning views, great food!”
Reviewed 24 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

We had a fantastic break - Gill and Sam were so hospitable and friendly, also helpful in providing tips on what to do locally including a trip to the village pub serving local beers!

The breakfast choices for a non meat eater were tremendous; I chose goat’s cheese and salmon omelette with spinach one day and homemade pita with salsa, avocado and poached egg the next.

Stunning views you don’t want to leave, we’ll be back!

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The views
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Apr 2016
Thank you, so pleased you had a lovely break, and we love to cook, so really very happy you enjoyed your breakfasts.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rio1016
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Very special place with stunning views”
Reviewed 19 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

Just spent the most relaxing 2 days in Wales. This is a new business venture for the owners, Gill and Sam, but they seem to have a brilliant knack of being attentive whilst giving you space to relax. The food (especially the breakfast) was fantastic, freshly made and using local produce wherever possible. With only one room, I suspect that before long it will be hard to get a booking here, so advice would be to book in soon to avoid missing out.

The do seemed to enjoy the break as well.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Space and time to relax
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Apr 2016
Great to hear you enjoyed your stay with us.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing