We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Must try harder and vegetarians should avoid.”

The Swan at Southrop
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Southrop
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$20 - US$52
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Description: Charming 17th Century Inn situated on the village green in the quintessential Cotswold village of Southrop. With it's cosy restaurant, roaring fires in the winter, pretty bar and private dining room it is a delightfully English experience with a menu highlighting the best of the Cotswolds and sourcing many of the seasonal ingredients directly from its own wonderful kitchen garden ensuring a fresh and produce led menu.
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Must try harder and vegetarians should avoid.”
Reviewed 27 May 2014

We were a party of !5 who had booked a meal in the party room. At the time of booking they were advised we wanted one vegetarian choice in the main meals. The choice seemed to be kale salad with quail's eggs and Caesar dressing (which probably has anchovy in and non veg parmesan) . Just to be sure we asked the senior person who took our order and were assured it was just kale, other salad leaves , quail's eggs and dressing.This isn't a great vegetarian main meal but imagine our surprise when it appeared covered in bacon. The salmon fishcakes
were more like potato croquettes with the faintest hint of salmon. No-one was asked how they wanted their meat cooked and it arrived practically raw which I know is fashionable these days but not everyone wants to eat it. The vegetables didn't arrive until two people had finished their food and one vegetable dish never arrived at all. No-one came in to see if we were happy, i expect they knew we wouldn't be. The vegetarian fiasco was unnecessary as there was a vegetarian risotto as a starter that could have been a perfectly acceptable main course. I note the previous comment about vegetarian gravy so I think the staff need to go on a vegetarian awareness course and vegetarians should avoid. Some of the food was good but the overall experience was not. I know they were busy but they should have refused extra bookings or taken on more staff as they couldn't cope. A shame as it's a lovely venue.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank debfuller54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kim-H-Manager, Manager at The Swan at Southrop, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Dear debfuller54

Thank you for your comments about your recent visit to The Swan. We have spoken with the staff about the issues that were raised in your review and as a consequence will ensure training is carried out where necessary. We were particularly saddened by your comments about the quality of the food you ordered; our produce is picked each day from our kitchen gardens, so there is always a variety of interesting vegetarian dishes available. We do apologise if this was not explained properly. Please contact me directly to discuss this further, we would very much like to restore your confidence in us. Please contact me at admin@theswanatsouthrop.co.uk

Kim Harvey
General Manger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

300 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    171
    62
    30
    22
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Watford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“" New Management "”
Reviewed 14 May 2014 via mobile

Used to go to The Swan at Southrop loads and thoroughly enjoyed, however our visit in March will not see us returning anytime soon. New Management cold, disinterested poor service etc. Party of 10, bland food, small portions, high price, not worth it anymore so many better establishments around the area now, agree with previous reviews ok for a drink as it's in a beautiful village but food don't bother...please bring the old management back !!

Helpful?
4 Thank natsha80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caryn H, General Manager at The Swan at Southrop, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Dear natsha80

It saddens me to read your review as I know the team put everything into the food and service. We have created a menu with our kitchen garden at its heart, so I am sorry you didn’t feel this was the case on your last visit. Please contact me directly if you wish to discuss your visit personally. My email address is admin@theswanatsouthrop.co.uk

Kindest Regards
Kimberley Harvey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cheltenham
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Odd mix of reviews for this place”
Reviewed 11 May 2014

But we found it very good. At first seemed a little unwelcoming, but they warmed up during the course of the meal. The food was pretty good, the place itself very attractive, sectioned into small areas so you could enjoy yourselves without disturbing others and vice versa. A good bottle of Malbec after one of Prosecco and three courses came to £50 per head for four. A little expensive for the quality perhaps.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank vanilla99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kim-H-Manager, Manager at The Swan at Southrop, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Dear vanilla99

Thank you very much for your comments. We are glad you enjoyed your meal and the bottle of Malbec. The menu is carefully designed by our chefs and the price does reflect the quality of the ingredients, which are sourced locally from the very best suppliers. I hope you will come back to The Swan and that you find that return welcoming and the food to our usual high standard.
Kindest Regards

Kim Harvey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
217 reviews
126 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Great Food but be patient”
Reviewed 5 May 2014

We had a short stroll up to Eastleach and back before lunch so that set us up nicely for the meal.

Service got off to a slow start, so had we been in a hurry it would have been disappointing (getting that first drink after a walk is always important)

The food was really good and the owner was friendly, advised on the walk before we set off.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mjc992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kim-H-Manager, Manager at The Swan at Southrop, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Dear mjc992

Thank you very much for your feedback. The walk to Eastleach is a wonderful precursor to visiting The Swan and we regularly recommend it to our customers. We agree that the first drink after a walk in the countryside is always important and we have addressed the issues you encountered with our staff; I am glad you enjoyed your meal and look forward to welcoming you back to The Swan in the near future.

Kim Harvey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucestershire, England
Level 6 Contributor
356 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 384 helpful votes
“Beautiful place for a delicious lunch”
Reviewed 3 May 2014

A little off the beaten path, I was so pleased I made the effort to take a couple of Californian friends to The Swan rather than settle for a more easily reached venue in Cirencester. They were delighted with the range of local food on the menu and not one of us was disappointed with our choice. My mention of "a pub lunch" turned out to be a huge understatement, needless to say. Prices reflect the high quality cooking and the style of the dishes - we really are not talking pub food here - but portions are generous and the ambiance and friendly service are all part of the charm of this country restaurant.

Parking can be a little tricky at busy times, but the challenge is offset by a chance to enjoy a walk in this lovely Cotswold village which looked particularly gorgeous in the Spring sunshine yesterday.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank elegantraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caryn H, General Manager at The Swan at Southrop, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Dear elegantraveller
Thank you for your kind words I am so glad you had a ‘delicious lunch’. We really believe in ensuring our food is always of a high standard. We are also very passionate about using local produce and picking fresh ingredients from our kitchen garden on a daily basis. I hope we can welcome you back to The Swan in the near future.

Kindest Regards
Kimberley Harvey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Swan at Southrop also viewed

Lechlade, Cotswolds
Kelmscott, Gloucestershire
 
Fairford, Cotswolds
Lechlade, Cotswolds
 
Cirencester, Cotswolds
Carterton, Oxfordshire
 

Been to The Swan at Southrop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing