We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Mixed”

The Swan at Southrop
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Southrop
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$19 - US$51
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Groups, Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Brunch, Lunch, Drinks, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Charming 17th Century Inn situated on the village green in the quintessential Cotswold village of Southrop. With it's cosy restaurant, roaring fires in the winter, pretty bar and private dining room it is a delightfully English experience with a menu highlighting the best of the Cotswolds and sourcing many of the seasonal ingredients directly from its own wonderful kitchen garden ensuring a fresh and produce led menu.
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Mixed”
Reviewed 3 July 2014

a party of three at a quiet time would expect decent service, no. The waiting staff were excellent but the food was not of a standard that one would expect for the price.
The Swan was recommended to me by a dedicated "foodie" so we must have hit a bad day.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank eddyscott99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kim-H-Manager, Manager at The Swan at Southrop, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Dear eddyscott99

Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback after dining at The Swan. We aim for both excellent service and food; we are glad that our team delivered a service that lived up to those expectations. Delicious, seasonal dishes inspired by our lovely kitchen gardens, and the abundance of local produce available in the Cotswolds, is at the heart of what we do at The Swan and it is very important to us that all our customers enjoy their dining experience with us. Please contact me directly to discuss this further, we would very much like to restore your confidence in us: admin@theswanatsouthrop.co.uk

Kim Harvey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

289 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    164
    61
    29
    20
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good for special occasion”
Reviewed 2 July 2014 via mobile

Situated in a rather nice location, this pub's food is very good. The menu was from continental inspiration. We enjoyed good quality seafood and pigeon fillets.
If anything, sauces and seasoning could be improved a little especially when you consider they charge higher-end restaurant price.
Generally the staff was pretty good although some couple of them were supercilious.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank B F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kim-H-Manager, Manager at The Swan at Southrop, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Dear B F

Many thanks for your comments, we are glad that you enjoyed your visit to The Swan at Southrop. We are indeed a great destination for special occasions, but also for a mid-week supper or a bite at the weekend. Your feedback is really very valuable and we wanted to let you know that comments are always passed to the chef and the rest of the team. We hope to welcome you back to the Swan in the very near future.

Kim Harvey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarisbury
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A real find”
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Terrific food in a wonderful setting. The staff may come across as a little austere in this little maze of a gastro pub. The food is excellent - not cheap, but when you are offering Turbot with clams, samphire etc do you expect it to be? This is no Wetherspoons, except it does do real ale - actually better than my local W place. It also allows dogs. To be blunt, the food made us (a group of 4- ex publicans and chefs) go back again the next day, the service ( very relaxed - slow), made us want to go back and we fully recommend are ever in the area to find this pub. It might be advisable to book in busier times.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Stu H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kim-H-Manager, Manager at The Swan at Southrop, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Dear Stu H

Thank you very much for your comments. We are glad that you enjoyed your visit to The Swan so much that you returned the next day. We always recommend you book, we are becoming busier and busier as our reputation grows. We hope to welcome you back to The Swan in the not too distant future.

Kim Harvey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Must try harder and vegetarians should avoid.”
Reviewed 27 May 2014

We were a party of !5 who had booked a meal in the party room. At the time of booking they were advised we wanted one vegetarian choice in the main meals. The choice seemed to be kale salad with quail's eggs and Caesar dressing (which probably has anchovy in and non veg parmesan) . Just to be sure we asked the senior person who took our order and were assured it was just kale, other salad leaves , quail's eggs and dressing.This isn't a great vegetarian main meal but imagine our surprise when it appeared covered in bacon. The salmon fishcakes
were more like potato croquettes with the faintest hint of salmon. No-one was asked how they wanted their meat cooked and it arrived practically raw which I know is fashionable these days but not everyone wants to eat it. The vegetables didn't arrive until two people had finished their food and one vegetable dish never arrived at all. No-one came in to see if we were happy, i expect they knew we wouldn't be. The vegetarian fiasco was unnecessary as there was a vegetarian risotto as a starter that could have been a perfectly acceptable main course. I note the previous comment about vegetarian gravy so I think the staff need to go on a vegetarian awareness course and vegetarians should avoid. Some of the food was good but the overall experience was not. I know they were busy but they should have refused extra bookings or taken on more staff as they couldn't cope. A shame as it's a lovely venue.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank debfuller54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kim-H-Manager, Manager at The Swan at Southrop, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Dear debfuller54

Thank you for your comments about your recent visit to The Swan. We have spoken with the staff about the issues that were raised in your review and as a consequence will ensure training is carried out where necessary. We were particularly saddened by your comments about the quality of the food you ordered; our produce is picked each day from our kitchen gardens, so there is always a variety of interesting vegetarian dishes available. We do apologise if this was not explained properly. Please contact me directly to discuss this further, we would very much like to restore your confidence in us. Please contact me at admin@theswanatsouthrop.co.uk

Kim Harvey
General Manger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Watford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“" New Management "”
Reviewed 14 May 2014 via mobile

Used to go to The Swan at Southrop loads and thoroughly enjoyed, however our visit in March will not see us returning anytime soon. New Management cold, disinterested poor service etc. Party of 10, bland food, small portions, high price, not worth it anymore so many better establishments around the area now, agree with previous reviews ok for a drink as it's in a beautiful village but food don't bother...please bring the old management back !!

Helpful?
4 Thank natsha80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caryn H, General Manager at The Swan at Southrop, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Dear natsha80

It saddens me to read your review as I know the team put everything into the food and service. We have created a menu with our kitchen garden at its heart, so I am sorry you didn’t feel this was the case on your last visit. Please contact me directly if you wish to discuss your visit personally. My email address is admin@theswanatsouthrop.co.uk

Kindest Regards
Kimberley Harvey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Swan at Southrop also viewed

Lechlade, Cotswolds
Kelmscott, Gloucestershire
 
Lechlade, Cotswolds
Cirencester, Cotswolds
 
Lechlade, Cotswolds
 

Been to The Swan at Southrop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing