We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent relaxing holiday, Great hosts”
Review of Peniche - Oz

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Colombiers
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Peniche - Oz
Reviewed 29 March 2013

We stayed a couple of nights with Domi and Gweni. Its so quiet and its nice to sleep on the canal. It was a very comfortable experience and the surroundings are amazing. I loved the wine and the food in the region. Its one of those unforgettable relaxing places where almost everything is perfect. I would love to have stayed much longer and will go back...

Room Tip: This is one of those ones you wont forget...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Liam C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (49)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 13 of 49 reviews

Reviewed 10 July 2012

We spent one night on this dream Barge, wonderfully decorated with a very special personal touch, its homely atmosphere and warm comfortable rooms, makes it a real home away from home. We didn't want to leave on Sunday morning!!! Dom and Gwen, the couple who run the barge, were absolutely adorable, they fussed over us from our arrival until our oh too soon departure. Dom prepared a wonderful paella, the taste of which will remain with us for a very long time!!!! We were served an excellent breakfast on the top deck of this cozy barge, which looks out onto the beautiful tree lined Canal du Midi amidst the calm of the occasional passing barge, cyclists, horseriders and walkers.

The room was very comfortable, crisp, fresh smelling linen, water filter and plenty of storage space!!!! we had an extremely good sleep and were sad to wake up only because we knew we had to leave!!!

Peniche Oz is definitely recommended!!! We'll definitely return and next time we'll do the cruise!! Paulie and Stef from Montpellier

Room Tip: We stayed in the blue room, which was very comfortable, but honesty speaking the other two rooms loo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paulietre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2011

We have just returned from a unforgettable experience staying with Qwen and Domonic on the Peniche Oz. They were great hosts and we highly recommended it to young and old. If you would like a change from the boring B/B then book with them. Having breakfast on deck watching the world go by was an experience not to be missed with the best jams I have ever tasted.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vivpalmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2011

the place to stay overnight is extraordinary, the hosts Gwen and Dominic are most lovely people and we felt immediately at home at their wonderful place. we can recommend it very much. it is a wonderful place, totally quiet and peaceful.
Silvia and Peter from Innsbruck/Austria

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sprinnsbruck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2011

The Peniche-Oz is a barge in the Canal du Midi at Colombiers in the south of France near Bezier. Domi and Gwen, the bilingual couple that own and operate it are French and Australian hence the name "Peniche-Oz". All 3 cabins are large and very well appointed with en-suite toilet, sink, and shower. In fact the entire barge is beautifully furnished and decorated. Being a small operation they can provide personalized services such as airport pickups and arrange varied activities like wine tasting trips and bicycle tours. The service is first class with amenities like fresh baked pastries and fresh squeezed orange juice at breakfast. Domi and Gwen are a convivial couple that will keep you entertained. It currently operates as a bed & breakfast and the rates are very low. Cruises will be available later this year. Several restaurants and some small shops are within a few minutes walk so you have the option of dining out or picking up a pizza and some wine and having a leisurely dinner on the deck or in the dining room. Free parking nearby.

This is a good choice if you want to spend a few relaxing days and see the beautiful French countryside.

Room Tip: Every room is great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NoThreePutt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2015
Google Translation

Room Tip: chambres côté canal réveillé
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank lesbelgescetp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ATU34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Colombiers
1.5 mi away
Residence Les Berges du Canal
4.4 mi away
L'Hotel Particulier Beziers
0.6 mi away
Chambres D'hotes La Colombiere
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Residence Le Domaine d'Enserune
0.5 mi away
Au Lavoir
Au Lavoir
#2 of 5 in Colombiers
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Peniche - Oz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peniche - Oz

Address: Canal Du Midi, Colombiers, France
Region: France > Occitanie > Herault > Colombiers
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Speciality Lodging in Colombiers
Number of rooms: 3

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing