We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top of the line”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Restaurant Chateau de Creissels
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Creissels
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 October 2013

A refurbished 12th century chateau with spectacular views over the countryside and the wonderful bridge over the valley. We stayed in the new wing, room #18, that was huge, magnificently decorated with a bathroom the equal of any. We also ate dinner in the restaurant. Absolutely delicious with courteous service. The staff are most accommodating and provide excellent information. We hated to leave!

Room Tip: Room #18 said to be the best in the house.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank weiss782
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (512)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Restaurant Chateau de Creissels
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

114 - 120 of 512 reviews

Reviewed 1 October 2013

We were in the original part of the chateau (room 4). It was not special. All a bit dim and shabby rather than atmospheric.
No shower. There was a shower hose and a shower head sitting in the bath. There was never a wall bracket to attach it to and no shower curtain. It could only be used sitting in the bath and not easily then.
There was an irritating smell to the room and bed possibly connected to the ashtray provided but not required by us. We opened the window but were then troubled by a nearby bonfire. No aircon. We unfortunately arrived too late to take advantage of a drink in the garden which looked very attractive.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a shower if that's what you need. Don't assume as we did.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lynhol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2013

This was our second visit - and we enjoyed it even more this time. On each stay we asked for one of the contemporary rooms with a terrace. This time it was Room 19. The room was spacious with a comfortable king bed and a great shower room. Again, we ate from the Menu du Marche which offers a four course meal of really good quality for 24€ - great value and lovely food. We have always found the service here to be very good and we do feel that if some effort is made to try and offer a little French it does go down well with the staff, whom we always found to be friendly and helpful.

The hotel is located very close to the spectacular Viaduct de Millau, which can be seen clearly from the grounds (or your room if you have the correct angle). It is also convenient for the stunning scenery that surrounds the Gorges of the Tarn, Jonte & Dourbie, as well as various really impressive caves (Aven Armand, Grotte de Dargilan etc). We have discovered that there are some good walking trails from the various villages in the gorges, some of which are clearly marked - others you just have to try and see where they go.

Prices for rooms are not the cheapest, but quite reasonable; and the restaurant offers great value food. What more do you want?

Room Tip: The modern rooms with terraces (21-19) overlooking the car park are good - and there may be equivale...
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Skivacance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2013

We drove to Chateau de Creissels via the amazing Millau viaduct on the A75, back tracking to Creissels through forgettable Millau. Our room was not ready at 11.30 am so the helpful staff suggested a circuit drive around the Gorges du Jont and Tarn, some of the most spectacular scenery and driving I have seen anywhere. Not for the faint hearted though! The Chateau and its beautiful gardens has a great view of the Viaduct which has supporting pylons the height of the Eifel tower. The Chateau has lots to recommend it. The staff are very helpful. It has old world charm and style yet our room and especially the bathroom has a modern fit-out and the comforts you expect. The bathroom was the best we have had this holiday. Creissels is short on dining places and we ate in the atmospheric restaurant. The food and service were excellent. Chateau Creissels is excellent value, one we will remember for the right reasons. Very car friendly too.

Room Tip: Try to get one with a view of the aquaduct, or the beautiful gardens.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thomas M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2013

A very historic building with modern updates. Very comfortable and quiet. The restaurant had great food and our waiter spoke English which helped with our limited French. We were there to bike ride, a nice spot for a base.

Room Tip: Choose a modern updated room for a stand up shower
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dawnski99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2013

A wonderful place on the way to the mediterranian. The hotel is established in a medieval castle and bears its lazy atmosphere. Comfort. Style. Wonderful garden with parking closed from the sun by the trees. The bridge near Millau is a must. Also it has a shop in the valley under the bridge.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Olegd0m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2013

It is two years since we visited this amazing medieval chateau when my review was warm about the hotel but the restaurant failed to impress. Perhaps they were having a bad night in 2011 for this time our stop-over was excellent in all quarters. The renovated grounds around the chateau are mature and give off a sentiment of relaxation. The reception is once again reliably warm and courteous and our room was Chambre 3 again. The views from the windows are spectacular in a wide panorama from the sleek lines of the world famous bridge in the West to the massive chunks of vertical mountains of the Causes interrupted by the River Tarn in the East. Immediately below are the corrugated roofs of the huddled village of Creissels, a venue well worth exploring with its village stream emerging into pond (with swans), narrow passages and quaint ancient houses.

Chambre 3 is not the most luxurious but does have an antiquarian charm with its tasteful period furniture. The cubicle WC is the letdown to the comfort. The public rooms feel as if the 19th century family might walk through at any time and certainly look down from oil paintings in the salon. Internet is free but only works in the salon.

Our evening meal in the dungeon dining room was beautiful and the staff very obliging, which was different from our last visit.

Breakfast was well presented and offered a variety of cereals, boiled eggs, fruit, meats cheeses as well as the usual selection of French breads and pastries. If only fresh orange had been available it would have been perfect.

There is a keep fit room and outside swimming pool in the garden. We did not use either.

Room Tip: A room with a view
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ted H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Creissels
1.6 mi away
Cevenol Hotel
Cevenol Hotel
#2 of 17 in Millau
389 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel des Causses
Hotel des Causses
#3 of 17 in Millau
173 reviews
8.6 mi away
Hotel les Raspes
Hotel les Raspes
#1 of 1 in Saint-Rome-de-Tarn
206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Mercure Millau
Mercure Millau
#6 of 17 in Millau
340 reviews
1.0 mi away
Millau Hotel Club
Millau Hotel Club
#10 of 17 in Millau
142 reviews
2.5 mi away
Domaine de Saint-Esteve
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Restaurant Chateau de Creissels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Restaurant Chateau de Creissels

Address: Route de Saint Affrique | Place Du Prieur, 12100 Creissels, Millau, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Occitanie > Aveyron > Millau > Creissels
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Creissels
Price Range: £75 - £123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Restaurant Chateau de Creissels 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Restaurant Chateau de Creissels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Chateau De Creissels

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing