We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spacious Apartment”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Midan Hotel Suites, Muscat
Ranked #24 of 56 Hotels in Muscat
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne Australia
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Spacious Apartment”
Reviewed 23 April 2013

On arrival we were upgraded to a 2 bedroom apartment, all rooms of generous proportions and very clean. It was great to have a washing machine which we utilised on arrival. This is an older property but in very good condition and provided everything you need including a warm welcome. We spent 3 nights in this hotel which was located within a short distance to the Embassy area. A beach is only about 10mins walk and walking through the Embassy area to get there is interesting to see the architecture of some of the mansions.
We had dinner in the Thai Restaurant in the hotel which can be highly recommended this is also where a continental breakfast is served. The staff in the coffee shop were friendly and welcoming. We also ate in the Lebanese Restaurant at the corner of the street behind the hotel, which made for a different kind of experience, food tasty and cheap.
Mac the expat GM is very friendly and has local knowledge so a wealth of information for the area, he assisted us with a car and driver when we located to another part of Oman.
I can highly recommend this property and it is situated so that you get a very local feel but easy access to all tourist destinations.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ozziejenz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    67
    57
    9
    5
    1
See reviews for
35
23
24
41
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2013

What a lucky day when we found these people! The suite was immaculate and so well appointed - the size of an apartment. The staff are obviously treated very well because their friendliness and commitment to taking care of guests is first class. It is a real treat these days to find such an innkeeper - Mr. Mac Thomson - who will mingle with the guests - seemingly at leisure - being the consummate host. Good management always starts from the top down. His Thai restaurant is authentic and excellent. Don't worry too much about the location - it comes right up on GPS and is quick access to anywhere. We really felt like we had made new friends here, and can't wait to come back again.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank F Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cagliari, Italy
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2013

This lovely boutique hotel is managed by an australian guy. He's been extremely helpful, giving us lots of information on our arrival that have helped us organizing our one week trip around Oman. He's helped us with the car rental, with directions and information about places to go and what to do.
The hotel is very nice and new, some of the rooms are better than others, as we had the chance to appreciate when we were upgraded to a HUGE suite on our way back from Nizwa!
There are some nice indian, pakistani and lebanese restaurants just walking distance from the hotel if you don't feel like driving into town.
I would certainly recommend this lovely place to any independent traveller looking for a taste of real Oman and not huge and cold skyscrapers (not that you'll find lots of them in Muscat..mind!)

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bagamundy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uk
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 January 2013

This was my first time in Oman on business and had never experienced hotel apartments before. After a while you get sick of hotels but this was a dream. I was delighted to be able to do my washing (saddo!!) and take all my clothes home clean and pressed.

The staff were fabulous even going out of there way to buy me some washing powder for the machine I wasn't feeling so well and room service made me a beautiful fruit salad platter. The apartment was scrupulously clean and everyone was so friendly.

My colleague and I are hoping that our sponsors will embrace this hotel for us again and for any other guests who arrive in the country for business or pleasure.

Thank you everyone!!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lorraine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woking, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2012

Been here nearly a year. Lovely staff, very friendly and helpful. Atrocious internet access. Dont believe the "High Speed access" hype you are given. A snail could walk the internet faster. Its a complete waste of time. Even the slow Omantel 3G card is 100 times as fast as the tosh they can offer.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chris A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MacThomson, Deputy General Manager at Midan Hotel Suites, Muscat, responded to this review, 20 November 2012
Dear Sir,
Thank you for your feedback and your ongoing support of Midan Hotel Suites. We appreciate the time you have spent with us as a guest and will pass on your positive comments about the staff.
Like you, we are concerned about the problems you are experiencing with the internet. Today we updated the wireless point in your room and have increased the available bandwidth. We hope that this will alleviate the problem. We will also monitor the internet speed and service in the coming days.
The WiFi service you are currently using is free. If you wish we can arrange for a more improved paid service. Please contact me via the hotel reception and I will follow up on this personally with you.
Regards,

Adil Al-Rajaibi,

Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liedekerke, Brabant, Belgium
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2012

It was a great stay!
Big appartments: daily cleaning, fully equipped kitchen (although only 1 poor pan and 2 medium pots). You can also eat in the Thai Basil restaurant, which is quite cheap and very tasty (maybe just ask for "not spicy").
We had the 2 bedroom appartments, both bedrooms were nice, clean and just as big as a normal hotel room. Then there was a big living-room (with a 32" LCD-tv & sat-receiver) and 2 toilets/showers. There are small things which needed a repair, but still quite nice stay.
Staff was very friendly and always wanted to help out.
Very surprising: the beds were really comfortable for a hotel!

Only thing that annoyed me: the windows are porely placed, if you look good, you see that there is a gap to the street. So keep your curtains closed if you don't want that it'll get hot in there. Also sound isolation is due to that quite poor too. (you hear a lot from the street).

PS: There is no pool, but a good equipped gym. The sea is 20min walk away or just a 5min drive. I recommend to get a car though, then you could visit great beaches and go shopping in Muscat City Center (although soon the shops in Muscat Grand Mall will open).

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Oliynyk_Dima
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2012

I spent 10 weeks in Muscat at the Midan in 2011 from July to September, probably the hottest temperatures I have ever experienced. The hotel is well air-conditioned however so it was easy to sleep, only when you stepped outside were you blasted by the mid to high 40 degree temperatures.

The Midan was very comfortable and clean. The staff were friendly and only too happy to fix any problems immediately. The Australian owner (Mac) was friendly and interested in his guests opinions. The Midan is located in a slightly less affluent area but is well positioned just off the main freeway about half way between the airport and the main business district (Ruwi). The Thai restaurant on the ground floor is excellent, good quality food at a very reasonable price. There are quite a few cheap eateries within walking distance.

The only complaint I have is the lack of an oven in the kitchen, I got tired of fried food and bought a toaster oven for about $AUS50 which I passed on to a friend who had just arrived, being there for 10 weeks made this an option.

I am heading back to the Midan in May for another long stay and am looking forward to it.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Akers51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Muscat hotels
1.1 mi away
Ibis Muscat
Ibis Muscat
#16 of 56 in Muscat
565 reviews
1.5 mi away
Tulip Inn Muscat
Tulip Inn Muscat
#20 of 56 in Muscat
398 reviews
2.4 mi away
Best Western Premier Muscat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Coral Muscat Hotel & Apartments
2.1 mi away
Centara Muscat Oman
Centara Muscat Oman
#21 of 56 in Muscat
22 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Muscat Holiday
Hotel Muscat Holiday
#25 of 56 in Muscat
193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Midan Hotel Suites, Muscat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Midan Hotel Suites, Muscat

Property: Midan Hotel Suites, Muscat
Address: Building 259, Way 3205, Al-Marefah Street | Al-Ghubrah North, Muscat PC130, Oman
Region: Oman > Muscat Governorate > Muscat
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Muscat
#9 Business Hotel in Muscat
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Midan Hotel Suites, Muscat 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern amenities, easy elegance, tasteful furnishings and subtle bursts of vibrant hues are a trademark of Midan Hotel Suites, an internationally managed hotel that strives to maintain a worldwide business-class standard. Midan Hotel Suites offers 35 rooms, ranging from studios through to spacious suites and a three-bedroom penthouse. The large windows throughout give each suite a fresh and open feel. All suites have a well-equipped kitchen, a separate living area, and are comfortably furnished in a contemporary style. All hotel guests have free access to our WiFi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Midan Hotel Suites, Muscat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Midan Hotel Muscat Governorate

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing