We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location and Friendly Staff” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Midan Hotel Suites, Muscat

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Midan Hotel Suites, Muscat
Ranked #20 of 49 Hotels in Muscat
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great Location and Friendly Staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2013

I had a one bedroom suite which was very generously sized with large rooms and a balcony. It was spotlessly clean, well furnished and the hotel itself is under 40 rooms and quite homely.

Service was excellent and the owner, Mac is a very friendly and hospitable Australian who goes out of his way to make guests comfortable.

The location is good and quite central and about 800 mtrs from the beach. Staff are friendly, professional and helpful. The gym is small but functional (only missing a bike and some free weights). They offer free wifi, very reasonable room rates (mine was approximately $100 a nite), and has a Thai restaurant and coffee corner on the property. A buffet breakfast is also on offer.

All in all a very good spot and would recommend it for families and business visitors alike particularly if you are on an extended stay.

Muscat itself is developing rapidly and is worth a visit if one is in the region.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank HotelHawkess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    63
    55
    9
    5
    1
See reviews for
33
23
22
40
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2013 via mobile

We have stayed for 8 nights in the 2 bedroom suite, and I must say we do not have any major complaints. The apartment was very big, clean and comfortable, equiped with everything you need for a summer vacation. The service was very good and responsive, the cafe and restaurant also according to expectations. We have had small inconveniences like shisha smoke from other guests' kitchen in the apartment, or main electrical switch reset a couple of times, but nothing severe anyway. We will definetly book again the same hotel!

Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Andrana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Muscat, Masqat, Oman
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2013

Alright, this is my first review so don't judge me too hard. Overall it's a very nice hotel taking into account that there's not so many hotels in Muscat that offering a kitchen. My room had a big leaving room, separate kitchen and bedroom so it's like an apartment ! It was a good very clean suite. Great ! It's a great place for families and whoever like to cook themselves when they stay in a hotel. I know they even have a 2 bedroom suites if you have a family. There're, however, few thing that bugged me during a stay. First thing when I checked in it was super hot in a suite and it took air conditioners good couple hours to cool it down, also air condition in a bedroom was less efficient than the one in a living room (I'm not a specialist but the power light was blinking, whatever it means). Anyway, by the end of the day it was nice and cool and I had a great time. Guess what happen on the second day when I came back from an office? Right, the AC's were off !!! All of them ! And it was hot like hell again! Why the hell someone would switch AC's off in a suite that currently occupied. I called reception and asked them to tell housekeepers to leave my AC's alone and don't touch them. After that the issue was resolved. The second thing that bugged me a lot is a strong smoke smell in a lobby and in a restaurant which is in a lobby as well. I haven't seen people smoking there but I'm sure it's allowed to smoke in a lobby, otherwise why there would be such a strong smoke smell. For that particular reason I did not go eat dinner at the restaurant but I still had to have a breakfast there because I did not have much time in a morning to look for a breakfast place. I just can't eat at the places where people smoke. And the last thing that disappointed me was another issue with an air conditioner - the one in a gym. On my first visit to a gym it was off so I could not exercise as it would be the same as to exercise outside so I had to turn it on and come back in a morning. The sign next to the AC said something like - this AC was pre-adjusted and set at the comfortable temperature for your exercise. As you can guess there's no remote to change the temperature. The problem was that when I came in the morning after I switched the AC on the temperature was still not cool enough and it did not feel comfortable at all. In the end they advertise themselves as a 4-star hotel and I believe I can honestly give them only 3 stars. Other than these few moments the stay was pleasant and I enjoyed a kitchen and spacious living room so if you don't exercise every day and can live with a smoking smell in a restaurant and need a place with a kitchen Midan Suites would be a great place to stay. I know some visitors said it was hard to get a taxi to this place but I had a rental car so it's hard for me to evaluate it.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anton S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tehran, Iran
Level Contributor
43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2013

Very clean, convenient, nice and polite staff, and great value. You will find yourself on walking distance to a good access to main roads.
The rooms where clean and furniture at best condition. no smell and best of all, the kitchen was fully furnished.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ali V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Muscat, Oman
Level Contributor
119 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2013

A place so unique situated right in the middle of town. The rooms are clean and spacious. Very courteous staff. The restaurant serves authentic thai food. Overall a very nice experience. I recommend this hotel for a quick stop over or business trip to Muscat

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nausher K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
109 reviews
108 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 262 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2013

This property consists of "hotel apartments", which are spacious units that include a living room and kitchen as well as a bedroom or bedrooms. The accommodation is extremely good value in what can be an expensive city. The location is somewhat away from the waterfront and the older parts of town, so a taxi will be needed for most destinations -- but Muscat is such a large, elongated city that this would be true of just about anywhere you stay.

The lobby area is uncompromisingly modern in its decor (lots of red, yellow, and black) with a slightly edgy and interesting musical soundtrack in the background. There's a coffee bar and a good Thai restaurant, the latter being particularly welcome in a country where most of the restaurant food is predictable and ho-hum. A good buffet breakfast was included in my rate.

My apartment was scrupulously clean and comfortable, although the furniture was more the off-the-rack type than anything special. There was a lack of spare electrical outlets, so it was necessary to disconnect lamps or other appliances in order to charge one's own phone or laptop. There was a good TV with English language channels and the kitchen had basic equipment. Free milk and tea and coffee bags were supplied daily. There is free high speed wi fi with a strong signal.

The hotel is well managed by an Australian gentleman, Mac Thompson, who personally welcomes guests and proved most amiable and informative. The staff are well trained, cheerful, and helpful.

This is definitely a good option for a stay in Muscat, and a nice change from the typical hotels.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank IanWriter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuwait City, Kuwait
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2013

My studio apartment was a nice size and very comfortable. The entire staff was helpful. Having the owner of the hotel Mr. Mac be so personable and helpful was a nice addition. As a female traveling alone, I felt especially in good hands. The only downside was the airport pick up was not followed through on and I was consequently charged for my taxi, which probably should've been credited to my account as a kind gesture. Other than that, I highly recommend this property for anybody looking for a very nice stay for a reasonable rate.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jerilea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Muscat hotels
0.7 mi away
The Chedi Muscat – a GHM hotel
1.5 mi away
Tulip Inn Muscat
Tulip Inn Muscat
#13 of 49 in Muscat
4.0 of 5 bubbles 387 reviews
0.8 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Muscat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Muscat
Crowne Plaza Muscat
#6 of 49 in Muscat
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,432 reviews
2.9 mi away
Grand Hyatt Muscat
Grand Hyatt Muscat
#7 of 49 in Muscat
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,291 reviews
6.0 mi away
Coral Muscat Hotel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Midan Hotel Suites, Muscat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Midan Hotel Suites, Muscat

Property: Midan Hotel Suites, Muscat
Address: Building 259, Way 3205, Al-Marefah Street | Al-Ghubrah North, Muscat PC130, Oman
Region: Oman > Muscat Governorate > Muscat
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Muscat
#6 Business Hotel in Muscat
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Midan Hotel Suites, Muscat 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern amenities, easy elegance, tasteful furnishings and subtle bursts of vibrant hues are a trademark of Midan Hotel Suites, an internationally managed hotel that strives to maintain a worldwide business-class standard. Midan Hotel Suites offers 35 rooms, ranging from studios through to spacious suites and a three-bedroom penthouse. The large windows throughout give each suite a fresh and open feel. All suites have a well-equipped kitchen, a separate living area, and are comfortably furnished in a contemporary style. All hotel guests have free access to our WiFi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Expedia so you can book your Midan Hotel Suites, Muscat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Midan Hotel Muscat Governorate

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing