We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Delmon Hotel Apartments
Ranked #34 of 55 Hotels in Muscat
Hong Kong
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very good experience”
Reviewed 18 April 2011

In a 2.5 week trek around the Middle East I stayed in Delmon Appartments for only two nights as a solo traveler. The hotel may not be suitable for spoiled western travelers but should be excellent and exceed expectations for anyone who's only demands are a clean bed and a authentic experience. Upon arrival in Muscat I needed to go out and buy a bus ticket.... one of the family owners of the hotel took me in his own car to buy the ticket across town, just a friendly gesture...as well as a short tour around, including stopping by his boat to lend me his personal snorkeling gear for the following day! This was just one example of the heartwarming vibe the Omanis give, a sentiment I experienced several times in a short two days. The hotel was clean enough, had enough WiFi to reach my 3rd floor room, was spacious and had a reasonable restaurant, but again snobs should leave their complaints the Marriott. I woke up to some tropical birds chirping on my balcony and at night I could listen to some nice sounds from men singing at the nearby mosque. As for location, it is far from the corniche, but from my experience the corniche was sadly destroyed by disrespectful Eastern European travelers anyways so being "centally located"in muscat has little relevance (avoid the bussed in tourists at the major attractions!). Further, the price was one of the cheapest listed on the major websites as I can recall. More importantly though I urge other travelers to support this family and independently owned establishment in their down to earth effort to provide this decent hotel.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Weszup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13
    37
    31
    3
    6
See reviews for
21
29
16
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2011

We had an enjoyable stay here & think that the negative comments on this site are rather unjustafied.

The staff are friendly & helpful. The location was fine, close to many of the tourist places in Muscat & supermarket, bar, laundry & restaurants, although it is better to have your own car.

The hotel is not luxurious but it does not pretend to be. It is a budget hotel.
We had a 2 bedroom suite & it was newly decorated. There were minor issues with cleaning but these were dealt with promptly & the kitchenette was lacking a few things but we simply asked for what we needed & the staff cheerfully brought it to us.

Breakfast is basic but adequate. I suggested to them that they rotate dishes daily to give more variety. The restaurant is very cheap & the food (bar the burgers) was very good at this price point. We ate there many times.

Oman hotels are expensive & Delmon is one of the cheapest around. It offers good value for money, has a good standard of accomodation in a reasonable location.

TIPS. There isn't a bar at Delmon but there is one in the hotel opposite called the Captains Cafe. The beer is cold but there's no draft, only cans.

There is a big supermarket 10 minutes walk on the opposite side of the main road.

There are two other hotels very close to Delmon with bars & restaurants.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gulf-Neil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2011

Haven't found anything better in Oman yet for this price. We paid 50OR a night between 4 people and each couple got their own room and bathroom with a large living room.
Positive: Price, food, service, large rooms, very close to Old Muscat.
Negative: Very noisy in the early morning due to trucks starting up nearby, the location can be quite bad due to high volumes of traffic in Ruwi, hot shower water runs out VERY quickly.
Stay here again? For sure a hint if you're driving though rather than take the direct route to Muscat city via Ruwi go the long way round up past Al Bustan and left to Muttrah....its much faster due to hardly any traffic.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelinLyons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2010

the location was perfect to visit the old muscat and the famous matrah market. i like the nature of the location beautifully surrounded with long mountains.
the stuff ware very friendly

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank moe005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thirsk, england
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2010

We booked for one week at the Delmon hotel but due to the volcanic ash airspace shut down we had two weeks stay.
The apartment had a large living room with television, table and chairs and two comfortable settees. The bedroom was also large with a super kink size bed that was very comfortable. The kitchen was adequate with a microwave cooker, a hob a fridge freezer and plenty of cupboard space. The bathroom was a good size with toilet and wash basin and a shower /wet room layout. The apartment was kept spotless and the linen was changed frequently.
We had a free breakfast included in the tariff. The buffet breakfast was of good quality and there was plenty. The restaurant cooked other meals also. There was a wide choice on the menu and the food was of good quality.
The hotel staff were helpful and friendly. When we kept the apartment on for the second week due to the airspace close down they gave us a price discount and helped us obtain flights and air tickets by using and downloading the information on their hotel computer.
The hotel staff recommended a local taxi driver guide to us called Moosa who enhanced our holiday by showing us the interesting local sites, restaurants etc and taking us to the tourist beaches and attractions. He even invited us to his home. We would not hesitate in recommending him.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ggscott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
1 review
Reviewed 29 November 2009

nice hotel, great location, huge 3 rooms apartment..i could not wish any better for such a decent price..

Stayed November 2009, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank AjaxShams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wirral mersyside
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2009

Being retired and on a budget, I chose this hotel on price. The room I was shown was
not up to standard, so I upgraded to an apartment, which was much better, with a large
bedroom, lounge and kitchen.
The restaurant was open all day, the breakfast was varied each day,the staff where very friendly.
The hotel was a short taxi ride to Rewi, the nearest shops and business area and main bus station.
I did consider renting a car but it was much easier to use taxis for all local trips to the beaches and the souks, and use buses for longer trips.(200 hundred mile round trip
to Nizwa for under 4 OR about 7 pounds.)

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jimjeno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Muscat
9.2 mi away
Ibis Muscat
Ibis Muscat
#16 of 55 in Muscat
558 reviews
9.5 mi away
Muscat Dunes Hotel
Muscat Dunes Hotel
#30 of 55 in Muscat
54 reviews
8.3 mi away
Samara Hotel
Samara Hotel
#27 of 55 in Muscat
108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.0 mi away
Safeer Continental Hotel
Safeer Continental Hotel
#31 of 55 in Muscat
48 reviews
1.8 mi away
Pioneer Hotel Apartments
Pioneer Hotel Apartments
#21 of 55 in Muscat
74 reviews
0.3 mi away
No photo provided
Majestic Hotel
#6 of 10 in Ruwi
5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Delmon Hotel Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Delmon Hotel Apartments

Property: Delmon Hotel Apartments
Address: Alghadir St, Muscat, Oman
Region: Oman > Muscat Governorate > Muscat
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 55 Hotels in Muscat
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Delmon Hotel Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 81
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Delmon Hotel Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing