We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good start point to explore of Muscat” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Safeer Plaza Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Safeer Plaza Hotel
Ranked #1 of 27 Muscat B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Belgrade, Serbia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Good start point to explore of Muscat”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2012

I visited this hotel first time a year ago. And several times after that. This is very cheap hotel. I don't know another hotel with so good location and so culture price in central zone of Muscat. Rooms and bathrooms are clean. Don't try to sleep with open window - the noize of air conditions are very high. If you love romantic - no problem, switch on a ventilator. In front of building exists big parking. I didn't prefere to eat in hotel, some good restaurants were located very near of it. Internet is not fast but correct for basic comunication. Skype is not working - not only there, nowere. Guests of the hotel are businessmen and families.

Room Tip: Rooms on the back side are quiter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank magvey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    31
    32
    11
    3
    0
See reviews for
11
10
7
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
105 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2012

We checked into the Safeer Plaza during the Eid (Oct 25-27) break and stayed there for 2 nights. The rooms are spacious. A generous living room with sofas and a small dining table. A very basic TV in the bedroom. A queen sized bed, cupboard and dresser. The bathroom has not been maintained since a very long time i think. The plug on the bath tub was missing, the toilet water spray was leaking. The wash basin was old and the pipes were creaky.
The kitchen has a microwave oven, hot plate, kettle, fridge and a toaster. We did not use anything except the fridge and kettle.
The breakfast room was manic. The hotel was atleast 80% booked and so over crowded during breakfast. There were only 2 people managing the whole fiasco. The buffet dishes were almost always empty. The choices were minimal, but adequate.

Check-in and Check-out was efficient, however we did encounter a new staff (i think) who was having a torrid time with swiping credit card and after 4 tries, the senior staff intervened.

The location is not the center of Muscat, but it is peaceful. Lots of restaurants around from fast food joints to regional restaurants. Very close proximity to the new Mall and Grand Mosque.

Price - ok, location - ok, service - leaves a lot to be desired.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ram111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2012

I have stayed in this hotel 3 times & found it to be an excellent place to stay with good value for money. Ideal for business & family traveller. The room sizes are very good & well furnished. The breakfast is adequate with lots of options & included in the room rate. The location is very convenient with lot of eateries in walking distance. The location also provides easy accessibility and proximity to malls like Lulu &carrefour.

Room Tip: Non smoking rooms are with fully equipped kitchen.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank forry71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2012

Stayed three nights at a Junior suite for an attractive price compared to what we can find in Muscat, the hotel is located in Al Khuwair which is in heart of the city,very good food is been served in this hotel,staff is very polite and good service.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank abdul s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2012

Stayed 3 nights in a “suite” with a kitchenette without any utensils and a toilet without water!! Not that we wanted to cook but we were unable to even pour a drink. It was an unusual arrangement and a waste of space. The toilet however was a necessity and each day would begin with an agreement at reception. I would argue the toilet did not work and the manager insisted it did work. On the second evening, after demanding a substantial discount, the manager and maintenance escorted me to our room and to their amazement the toilet did not work. No discounts were offered and given the suite suited are needs, was clean with great air-conditioning and other hotels were far more expensive we were happy to stay on. This is an Indian managed chain and as an added bonus the room service food was exceptional and great value. If you can’t find better value stay here and console yourself with delicious Indian fare and an Ice Cream from Baskin & Robbins located beneath. You can then use the ice cream cup for a gin & tonic

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RottenRonald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2011

Stayed two nights at a Junior suite for an attractive price compared to what we can find in Muscat, the hotel is located in Al Khuwair which is in Muscat entrance and pretty far from most of Muscat attractions.

The suite had a bedroom, a living room and a big kitchen, however there was no cutlery, no dishes, no glasses, nothing, you need to bring everything with you.
The furniture looked to be extremely old and even older than the hotel itself.
The TV was not working when we arrived but after ringing the reception, a maintenance guy came and fixed it.

The reception staff were unfriendly and anthipatic, there was no room service, if you need your room to be done you need to ask them to stop by.
The breakfast was poor but we've seen worse in other places.

This place is convenient for large families looking for budget appartments, other than this category stay away.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Crzy_Diamond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salalah, Oman
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2011

We came with Oman Air in a group of 25 people. The rooms were very clean and the staff very friendly. The hotel manager and his team was good and approchable and we had a short and relaxed.

Svenja and Nora

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SvenjaHahne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Muscat hotels
0.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Muscat
0.9 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Muscat
0.6 mi away
Tulip Inn Muscat
Tulip Inn Muscat
#13 of 49 in Muscat
4.0 of 5 bubbles 387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Ibis Muscat
Ibis Muscat
#14 of 49 in Muscat
3.5 of 5 bubbles 489 reviews
4.7 mi away
Coral Muscat Hotel & Apartments
2.0 mi away
The Chedi Muscat – a GHM hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Safeer Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Safeer Plaza Hotel

Property: Safeer Plaza Hotel
Address: Al Kuleiah Street | Al Khuwair, Muscat 115 , Oman
Region: Oman > Muscat Governorate > Muscat
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Muscat
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Safeer Plaza Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Safeer Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing