We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent and Cosy”
Review of Ibis Muscat

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ibis Muscat
Ranked #14 of 61 Hotels in Muscat
Reviewed 24 April 2011

I had the opportunity to stay in IBIS twice over for two nights each.

I can have almost all food but for some oriental extreme stuff though, IBIS has great balance of good continental breakfast buffet. The variety was not very expansive though, it was a pretty rightly packaged one.

Hotel was clean and tidy, restaurant was good and staff was co-operative. Of course being a business traveller internet was a must, comes always free in all IBIS at part of even a vanilla stay. Rooms are small again however pretty aesthetically arranged, specially the working desk and see through bath area.

Water temperature was a persistent non-sloved problem; it came pretty hot all time. Perhaps due to plastic water resorviors place right on terrace without any coverage. A thumb down...a generic problem in large part of Middle East.

Otherwise it was a overall a resonably priced stay @ 42 Rials

The staff was quite co-operative all the time and on both visits I could bargain for additional goodies which generally don't come with the vanilla stay. Cabs are easily available anywhere so I could roam beautiful and tidy Muscat around.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank accessyash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ibismuscat, Manager at Ibis Muscat, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2011

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for your comments regarding your stay with us here at Ibis Muscat. We value all feedback received and work hard to improve our products and services.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Ibis Muscat in the near future,

thanks and kind regards

The Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (615)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

478 - 484 of 615 reviews

An Accor traveller
Brighton
1
Reviewed 20 April 2011

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank An Accor traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Ibismuscat, Manager at Ibis Muscat, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2011

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 27 March 2011

this is my second stay at Ibis hotel muscat, and as always clean and staff very helpful. good value for money when i came the first time it was noisy, but this time the construction was almost on finishing stage so didnt feel any disturbence.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank coolverons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ibismuscat, Manager at Ibis Muscat, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2011

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for your comments regarding your stay with us here at Ibis Muscat. We value all feedback received and work hard to improve our products and services.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Ibis Muscat in the near future,

thanks and kind regards

The Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2011

I feel the stay was just okay and nothing exceptional.. Certainly pricing of RO 46 without complimentary breakfast is too much for the size and quality of the room. Room Service is not there was a real surprise to me..

Equal Hotels in Qatar, Kuwait and Bahrain has in-room coffee making provisions and toiletries free.. Overall I do not consider IBIS value for money on the above tariff rate. I do consider it is far better to be in a apartment hotel studio which are in the range of RO 25-30, since IBIS has no in-room service for their guests..

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alex Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ibismuscat, Manager at Ibis Muscat, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2011

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for your comments regarding your stay with us here at Ibis Muscat. We value all feedback received and work hard to improve our products and services.

For your information we do offer room service for our A La Carte and 24 hour snack menu.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Ibis Muscat in the near future,

thanks and kind regards

The Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2011

This is a comfortable, no-frills hotel that lies between the Muscat Int’l Airport and the town of Muscat. It is closer to the airport, but slightly tricky to find when driving. The room I had was the standard ibis fare-comfortable bed, simple bathroom, and free internet. Breakfast was too expensive for my taste at 5 OMR; the McDonalds just down the street will hook you up for 1.8 OMR. There is on-site parking under the hotel, but very few spots. There was construction work going on during my stay, but nothing too loud. The room provides an in-room safe and laundry service. I would stay here again; just know that this is not a luxury property, but a comfortable enough place to stay for a day or two.

It might be a good idea for the hotel to either update the traveling directions to the hotel to be very clear, since many customers will be driving in, and maybe put a directional sign out on the main road to tell people when they are getting close as many of the other major hotels in Muscat have.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AK-in-NC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ibismuscat, Manager at Ibis Muscat, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2011

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for your comments regarding your stay with us here at Ibis Muscat. We value all feedback received and work hard to improve our products and services.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Ibis Muscat in the near future,

thanks and kind regards

The Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2011

Muscat hotels can be very expensive, circa 200300 Uk sterling.

Ibis is fine, but rooms very basic but good quality bed wide screen TV. Bathroom really tiny a large person could hardly turn around. No bar or alcohol tho'Holiday Inn next door has two.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank james t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ibismuscat, Manager at Ibis Muscat, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2011

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for your comments regarding your stay with us here at Ibis Muscat. We value all feedback received and work hard to improve our products and services.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Ibis Muscat in the near future,

thanks and kind regards

The Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2011

I'll keep this one simple, I moved to the Ibis from another hotel which was much more expensive. The ibis room has all the elements needed for a solo business traveler staying for less than a week maybe stretching to two weeks. The rooms are small but they have everything you need. Meals are ok, but the need more fruits and fresh juice in the morning...FRESH not imitation. stall is just fine, they come in and do what is needed. No frills hotel, not booze, nothing to entertain you. There is a small Gym; treadmills are cheap, so is the equipment, dumb bells are fine. Still you can get your basic lifting needs in, and basic cardio in. The overall Value of my stay is EXCELLENT.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank worldwidetrail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ibismuscat, Manager at Ibis Muscat, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2011

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for your comments regarding your stay with us here at Ibis Muscat. We value all feedback received and work hard to improve our products and services.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Ibis Muscat in the near future,

thanks and kind regards

The Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Muscat hotels
1.3 mi away
Best Western Premier Muscat
0.4 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Muscat
3.1 mi away
Centara Muscat Oman
Centara Muscat Oman
#17 of 61 in Muscat
70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Midan Hotel Suites, Muscat
0.8 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Muscat
0.0 mi away
Muscat Dunes Hotel
Muscat Dunes Hotel
#36 of 61 in Muscat
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Muscat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Muscat

Address: PO Box 1512, PC 130 Al Azaiba Dohat Aladab Road | Al Khuwair, Muscat, Oman
Phone Number:
Region: Oman > Muscat Governorate > Muscat
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Muscat
Price Range: £54 - £86 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Muscat 3*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ibis Muscat is conveniently located in the Al Khuwair area, off Sultan Qaboos street, close to Ministries and Embassies district and near by the Muscat Graqnd Mall. It offers 171 comfortable rooms with free wireless Internet access, Flat-screen Tv's, Tea & Coffee making facilities, Mini Fridges and Safety Box. The hotel has an all-day dining Restaurant, a Bar with snacks available 24/7, 3 meeting rooms, a free underground car park, a Business Centre and a Fitness Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Ibis Muscat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Muscat Hotel Muscat Governorate

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing