We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice enough”
Review of Ibis Muscat

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ibis Muscat
Ranked #13 of 61 Hotels in Muscat
Reviewed 8 May 2014

The hotel was generally far better than any Ibis I have stayed at in the UK. Some nice touches - free wifi and breakfast served until 10, with a smaller selection served until midday. Excellent staff, all very helpful and speaking perfect English (unlike some taxi drivers etc)
Only gripe is I was put into a smoking room by default. I am sure they would have changed it but after a long flight once I got in to the room I didn't really fancy going back down to reception so just went to bed. Would stay again.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
Thank tmwdp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ibismuscat, General Manager at Ibis Muscat, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

Dear Valuable Guest,

Warm greetings from Ibis Muscat.
All the associates from the Ibis Muscat, Oman would like to join me to thank you for your valuable comments
Be assured that your message will be passed on to our team who have contributed to your satisfaction.

We would like to thank you for your nice comment about our hotel and especially and the kindness of our team.
Do not hesitate to contact us for your future booking to arrange for you a non smoking room and have a pleasant stay with us.

It is always a pleasure to have you as our guests and I look forward to welcoming you back.
Sebastien Vincent
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (635)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

347 - 353 of 635 reviews

Reviewed 6 May 2014

Ibis hotels are always a safe choice in terms of comfort and cleanliness, this was no exception. the bed was incredibly comfortable and block out blinds kept the room very dark. It was quiet in terms of outside noise, you can hear the call to prayer but it is quite muted, and you will hear this just about wherever you stay. There was a bit of inside noise, particularly from the lift, but that would only bother a very light sleeper. The free wifi was great and there were English satellite channels on tv. The bathroom was very clean with good shower pressure. I think its a bit yuk that the towels are right next to the toilet bowl and the bin hits them when you open it... But I am a bit fussy in that regard.

Mustafa at the lobby was very friendly and helpful, everyone else seemed somewhat bumbling. They allowed me to have a late check out for which I was very grateful but the message mustn't have filtered through as I got a very curt phone call asking why I hadn't checked out. The Ibis really isn't cheap and I was surprised that the tariff didn't cover breakfast. I wonder if it is really worth the cost. Also the cabs from there are really expensive. OMR$3 to the mall is just ridiculous. Still, you know what you're getting with Ibis, and that's a bonus.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
Thank X-Alice-the-Camel-X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ibismuscat, General Manager at Ibis Muscat, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

Dear Valuable Guest,

Warm greetings from Ibis Muscat.
All the associates from the Ibis Muscat, Oman would like to join me to thank you for your valuable comments
Be assured that your message will be passed on to our team who have contributed to your satisfaction.

We would like to thank you for your nice comment about our hotel and especially and the kindness of our team.
You could always arrange your breakfast with our team at reception should it not be included in your booking

It is always a pleasure to have you as our guests and I look forward to welcoming you back.
Sebastien Vincent
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2014

Hotel provided everything one would expect and the staff were very helpful giving us advice on possible tours, able to leave luggage after check-out and so on. It is mainly a hotel for business people and was a little far from the main tourist attractions. The dining room had a good breakfast buffet but the other meals were fairly poor both for food and service. The lady in charge worked hard but was let down by some under-trained staff.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eileen193
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ibismuscat, General Manager at Ibis Muscat, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

Dear Valuable Guest,

Warm greetings from Ibis Muscat.
All the associates from the Ibis Muscat, Oman would like to join me to thank you for your valuable comments
Be assured that your message will be passed on to our team who have contributed to your satisfaction.

We would like to thank you for your nice comment on our breakfast and the kindness of our team.
We will ensure that training is reinforce to ensure our team is providing expected service

It is always a pleasure to have you as our guests and I look forward to welcoming you back.
Sebastien Vincent
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

like all the other Ibis I stayed in, this hotel is very convenient, comfortable and the price is very good compared to all other Muscat hotels. Rooms are spacious, and like other ibis in Gulf countries, you have a kettle and complimentary coffee and tea in your room (too bad they don't apply it too to Ibis hotels in Europe). Breakfast is very tasty and the front desk staff very kind and helpful. the only drawback I had was some problems with the AC, impossible to adjust the temperature and it was always freezing.
Having said that, if you're going on holidays, maybe it would be better if you stay in a hotel by the sea as this hotel doesn't offer this commodity, it is more convenient to people on business trip or to persons having in mind to use the hotel as only a place to sleep

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tirilalli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ibismuscat, General Manager at Ibis Muscat, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

Dear Valuable Guest,

Warm greetings from Ibis Muscat.
All the associates from the Ibis Muscat, Oman would like to join me to thank you for your valuable comments about ibis Muscat as well as our other properties in the region.
Be assured that your message will be passed on to our team who have contributed to your satisfaction.

We would like to thank you for your nice comment on our breakfast and the kindness of our team. It would also be our pleasure to assist you during your next stay to ensure the temperature int eh room is set at your convenience to ensure you have a good night sleep with us.

It is always a pleasure to have you as our guests and I look forward to welcoming you back.
Sebastien Vincent
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Hotel is good if u r staying for a max of one night . It's too small. Bathrooms were also too small. Having issues of shower as well. Breakfast is served only after 6:30am. So if u want to leave before that u need to skip ur breakfast.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hemant_53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ibismuscat, General Manager at Ibis Muscat, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

Dear Valuable Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with some very personal feedback on our hotel through TripAdvisor. It enables us to critically assess our performance and understand the required areas of improvement

We would like to inform you that our Breakfast buffet is served from 6.30am till 10am but we do offer an Early Bird Breakfast from 4am till 6.30am as well as a Late Riser breakfast from 10.30am till 12noon to accommodate all our guests.

It is always a pleasure to have you as our guests and I look forward to welcoming you back.

Sebastien Vincent
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014

Always difficult to persuade the other half that a business hotel is a good idea on a holiday, but the Ibis hit the spot, especially the refreshing smoothies they make. Sure it doesn't have a wide range of holiday things to do, but for a good price you get a good nights sleep in a clean room.
Not much around this area so get a taxi upto the action.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RoamingRobin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ibismuscat, General Manager at Ibis Muscat, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

Dear Valuable Guest,

Warm greetings from Ibis Muscat.
All the associates from the Ibis Muscat, Oman would like to join me to thank you for your valuable comments following your recent stays with us.
Be assured that your message will be passed on to our team who have contributed to your satisfaction.

We are located near the Muscat Grand Mall where you can find everything under one roof and a free shuttle is provided, close by the beach and main attraction but as youmentionned, taxi is a must in Muscat, especially during hot summer weather.

It is always a pleasure to have you as our guests and I look forward to welcoming you back.
Sebastien Vincent
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Souhil H
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Ibismuscat, General Manager at Ibis Muscat, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Muscat hotels
0.4 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Muscat
1.3 mi away
Best Western Premier Muscat
1.1 mi away
Midan Hotel Suites, Muscat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Muscat
8.4 mi away
Sheraton Oman Hotel
Sheraton Oman Hotel
#1 of 61 in Muscat
261 reviews
3.1 mi away
Centara Muscat Oman
Centara Muscat Oman
#17 of 61 in Muscat
85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Muscat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Muscat

Address: PO Box 1512, PC 130 Al Azaiba Dohat Aladab Road | Al Khuwair, Muscat, Oman
Phone Number:
Region: Oman > Muscat Governorate > Muscat
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Muscat
Price Range: £53 - £82 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Muscat 3*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ibis Muscat is conveniently located in the Al Khuwair area, off Sultan Qaboos street, close to Ministries and Embassies district and near by the Muscat Graqnd Mall. It offers 171 comfortable rooms with free wireless Internet access, Flat-screen Tv's, Tea & Coffee making facilities, Mini Fridges and Safety Box. The hotel has an all-day dining Restaurant, a Bar with snacks available 24/7, 3 meeting rooms, a free underground car park, a Business Centre and a Fitness Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Ibis Muscat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Muscat Hotel Muscat Governorate

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing