We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dreadful”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Safeer Continental Hotel
Ranked #34 of 59 Hotels in Muscat
Reviewed 23 July 2011

We were forced to stay at this hotel because we unexpectedly had to spend a night in Muscat because we missed our connecting flight when Muscat Airport was closed for four hours. (The reason for this? The Sultan of Oman was flying to Dubai and they routinely stop all other incoming and outgoing flights for him.)

Oman Air sent us to this hotel. It may be fine for Indian and Middle Eastern travellers, but to a Westerner who is used to hoteliers who actually want their guests to have a good time, it was a disaster.

As a result of my stay, I picked up diarrhoea that took me 12 days to get rid of back in the UK. The first room we were allocated was on the top floor and far too hot. We complained. The bath in the replacement room was cracked in two places. When we asked for another bottle of water, we were told by one of the men lolling around in reception to wait until dinner which was "only" two hours away.

The atmosphere in the dining room was very subdued, and as Westerners, we just felt the targets of strong disapproval, even though we were quiet and conservatively dressed.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank gravitino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (48)
There are newer reviews for Safeer Continental Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

39 - 45 of 48 reviews

Reviewed 20 February 2011

Arrived at the Safeer Continental where the receptionist pretended that we hadn't booked. After some 'discussion' it turned out that the hotel had in fact allowed another guest to extend their stay... even though the hotel was fully booked. They offered us an alternative so we followed their driver at high speed across Muscat to some partner hotel in Ruwi. The room was poorly furnished and didn't sleep the number of people we had booked for - so they offered us a matress for the floor!!!!! I'm sure it would have looked nice next to the previous guest's meal tray which was still on the floor... We used the directory enquiry number to find somewhere better on our own...

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Service
5  Thank DerbysTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2010

This is a really nice hotel. I found the staff very helpful, the facilities first clas and stylish. Good location. Food are great and Breakfast very nice

Stayed: May 2010, travelled on business
3  Thank WaelBaidas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Dany B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2016, travelled on business
Thank Davide A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2016
Google Translation

Room Tip: ビジネスで、夜泊まるだけなら、場所は悪くはない。
  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank HelloTuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: January 2016, travelled with family
Thank Sabrino1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Muscat hotels
9.0 mi away
Delmon Hotel Apartments
Delmon Hotel Apartments
#33 of 59 in Muscat
91 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ibis Muscat
Ibis Muscat
#16 of 59 in Muscat
590 reviews
8.7 mi away
Crystal Suites
Crystal Suites
#39 of 59 in Muscat
33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Muscat Dunes Hotel
Muscat Dunes Hotel
#35 of 59 in Muscat
55 reviews
5.1 mi away
Qurum Beach Hotel
Qurum Beach Hotel
#37 of 59 in Muscat
71 reviews
1.5 mi away
Midan Hotel Suites, Muscat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Safeer Continental Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Safeer Continental Hotel

Address: Al Maha Street, Al Khuwair 33, Muscat 115, Oman
Region: Oman > Muscat Governorate > Muscat
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 59 Hotels in Muscat
Price Range: £41 - £154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Safeer Continental Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 86
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Safeer Continental Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing