We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great property, poor customer service”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Muscat
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Lanavilla Guest House
Ranked #5 of 29 Muscat B&B and Inns
Reviewed 22 March 2013

Our experience at Lanavila was mixed, so I averaged it at a 4. The rooms and common areas are very nicely decorated, beautiful and homey (I rate them a five); the breakfast was good. They need to improve their booking and confirmation "system" however (rated a 2). For us, in spite of a confirmation email, the manager made some errors when booking our room so it wasn't ready for us when we arrived tired, later in the day with my elder father and four year old child. And, we didn't get a room with two beds like we requested. They had to bring in a bed for the floor to accomodate us. The housekeeping staff were frustrated, tired and seemingly angry about the problem and it made us all feel very uncomfortable and unwelcomed when we arrived. Mic and Laura, the folks who I had repeated contact with prior to our arrival, were not there to represent. Of course, because of the mix up, the final bill we had to pay was double what was quoted to me (and I had documentation on the price), so there were some additional uncomfortable moments regarding the booking mistake. We had the choice to return to Lanavilla at the end of our trip and we chose not to because of the poor communication among the staff. I like to imagine that if Mic and Laura been on the premises these mistakes would have been corrected quickly and with a smile. But they weren't. I'm glad others' stay at Lanavilla was seemless. Ours was not.

The location is a bit out of the way. Plan to have a car or hire Muhammed the driver - who was awesome! He seemed to understand we would be four people, I don't understand why the housekeeping staff didn't know that. Muhammed is not an employee of Lanavilla and he is located nearby and has a good relationship with Lanavilla. We would definitely recommend him, he took us all around, was very patient with our varied family needs and on target with our interests.

Room Tip: Have documentation about the specific room (with number of beds) that you want to be in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claire T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bennon123, Manager at Lanavilla Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2013

We are sorry for the complications that happened. We are always doing our best to satisfy our Guests. Unfortunatey I (Mic, Manager) was out of the country for one week and could not oversee things personally at that time. Our booking system usually works very well. I have to mention tho that this guest did not ask for a Twin Bed room when booking, and also the price has been explained in detail to them by email. When they after that asked me again about the price in another email, they understood that the price was total, but it was explained per room/pernight. In those unfortunate circumstances, our Housekeeper, who sometimes collects the bills, was confused. Sure our mistake for this guests was that we didnt have 2 rooms ready for them, that was definitely our booking mistake. We work hard that these things dont happen again, but as we all know..we are all human beeings and nobody is perfect.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (194)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

31 - 37 of 194 reviews

Reviewed 9 March 2013

very impressed about accommodation, service, location and everything else. Staff have been polite and very helpful ... love the fact that the bread was freshly baked every morning ... will definitely stay again ... looking forward to this. Many thanks!

Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank Steffi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2013

Close by the beach, it has s relaxing atmosphere. It ha a homely feeling as you can enjoy your breakfast outside with the other guests and get to know your fellow guests. Also liked the free wifi. Mic and Laura and Mirna very hospitable.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Leanaa1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2013

I've just come back from my third stay at Lana Villa and I'm still impressed. Clearly it's doing something right!

It's a perfect, chilled place to relax. And since the last time I came Mic has bought bicycles, so I had a nice ride down the beach road to sit on the sand and watch the local boys playing football just before the sun went down.

Cheers Lanavilla for another lovely stay.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ecera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2013

To be honest staying at Lanavilla is more like being invited into a private house than staying at an impersonal resort. Everybody (both guests and staff and owner!) were very friendly and were keen to share their experiences and knowledge. Our thanks go to Mic for his unwavering helpfulness, Ali (the owner) in guiding us around town for our inaugural drive, the 3 maids in keeping everything spic and span, Abdul (car hire) and Mohammad (taxi).
Breakfast outside with everybody discussing their plans and yesterday's experiences are particularly memorable.
Added to that a great room with great views, a guest kitchen for any self catering and of course internet facilities.
We had a great time - thanks guys!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IanJoslin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2013

Stayed here on the inward and outward legs of our trip round Oman - if only there were more places like this! Comfortable, clean rooms, lovely helpful staff and great value too. It's about a 20 - 30 min drive (only 5 R taxi ride) into central Muscat, but it's lovely and quiet and a lovely terrace overlooking the sea.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Louise B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2013

Ideal for arrival in Oman - near the airport, on the beach, well furnished, quiet and comfortable. All sorts of facilities, from tea making to fast internet, that you will appreciate all the more once you start staying in other hotels around the country!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Muscat hotels
0.3 mi away
The Chedi Muscat – a GHM hotel
3.2 mi away
Grand Hyatt Muscat
Grand Hyatt Muscat
#12 of 60 in Muscat
1,477 reviews
4.6 mi away
InterContinental Hotel Muscat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Crowne Plaza Muscat
Crowne Plaza Muscat
#8 of 60 in Muscat
1,577 reviews
1.3 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Muscat
2.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Muscat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lanavilla Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lanavilla Guest House

Address: 37th Street, Muscat PC 106, Oman
Region: Oman > Muscat Governorate > Muscat
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Muscat
Price Range: £76 - £89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our popular Guesthouse B&B is located in Muscat, Oman on a quiet in front of the beach. We offer free wireless LAN, rooftop seaview terrace, clean and modern rooms with bathroom attached, free parking, tours arrangement, airport transfer, insider tips about Oman ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Lanavilla Hotel Muscat

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing