We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An Excellent B&B in Muscat, Oman”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Muscat
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Lanavilla Guest House
Ranked #4 of 27 Muscat B&B and Inns
Amman, Jordan
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“An Excellent B&B in Muscat, Oman”
Reviewed 26 October 2013

Spent 3 nights here. A lovely small B&B run by Mic, the German owner. The rooms were clean, tidy and are nicely decorated. The terrace roof was great to sit and watch the sunset. The housekeeping girls were really welcoming, friendly and during breakfast, cooked my eggs perfectly. The breakfast was simple yet satisfying. I would happily stay here again when I am next in Muscat. I also like Mic's idea of the little cards, for taking with you to help find a particular restaurant from the recommendations book!

Room Tip: Ask for a "Sea View" - a lovely view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cameron L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    147
    36
    8
    2
    0
See reviews for
33
101
25
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013 via mobile

A two night stay in Muscat was exceptional, the owner and stay do an outstanding job of making each guest feel wepcome. The rooms are clean and nicely decorated. There is a nice terrace on the roof and a general ambiance that is very pleasant. I woll stay again the next time I'm in MCT. The google maps position is exactly on the location. One suggestion I would have for anyone travelling in Mct would be to rent a car! Taxi's are over priced and the attractions spread put.

Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Adam W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2013

Great place to stay - so welcoming, such a great view, and great as a base from which to explore Muscat and Oman.

It was my first trip to Oman, Lanavilla had been recommended to me by a friend. I spent three nights there and it was all I could have wished for and more: Large, airy rooms, great view to wake up to, then enjoying a great breakfast (Fresh fruit salad, eggs made to order, fresh dark bread...).

I liked it so much I decided to come back here at the end of my travels in Oman. Lanavilla was the perfect place to start and end my travels in Oman - will certainly stay there again.

Room Tip: The seaview rooms are amazing - definitely worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChrisBerlin_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Batley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013

We spent our first 2 nights in Muscat at Lanavilla and from the moment I emailed Mic to make reservations to our final night, everything was perfect and welcoming.

Lanavilla itself is actually a house that has been converted into a B&B, and I should add, incredibly tastefully! The house is a very large comfortable size and this is also the same for the rooms (we stayed in room 6, seaview room). The interior is well designed and decorated and kept spotless by the fantastic housekeepers (Mirne and Marilyn during our stay were the housekeepers).

Breakfast: A simple range of 3 cereals, some bread for toasts, tea and coffee (also available throughout the day for you to make yourself), jams, nutella, butter, cheese, honey and the housekeeping staff will make you a choice of eggs at request. Breakfast is eaten on a large dining room table, again very homely and personal. We were the only guests staying at the time so had the whole house to ourselves! Dishes, tea cups etc again clean.

Bedroom: We stayed in seaview room 6, very well decorated and clean. Incedibly spacious, relaxing and comfortable. Bathroom area was simple but clean- one piece of advise for Mic- please place a shower curtain in room 6 :) when we mentioned this to the housekeeping staff they did bring a shower curtain for us to place on the floor so it doesn't get wet, but we did notice other rooms DID have shower curtains so maybe this room was awaiting one- I do hope so.
Wardrobes had hangers in them too.
Also no fridge/freezer in the room but this is compensated for in the guest kitchen- described below.

Guest kitchen: The highlight of Lanavilla for me! This is an awesome kitchen space that is just for guests. It is fully equipped! kettle, cutlery, large fridge freezer, scissors, tin opener, cling film you name it! This was ideal for us as we had a cooler bag and ice packs to freeze, we could make our picnic sandwhiches comfortable and cleanly etc.

Other services/facilities: Lovely comfortable and large living space. There is wifi downstairs but I have to admit it was very slow and not always working, even downstairs. So Mic maybe you can look in to this. But there is also a computer and the internet worked 100% on that, but being the only guests it was easy for us.

Mic gave us very clear driving directions and we drove to Lanavilla ourself from the airport with ease. We did get to meet Mohammed the taxi driver who popped in one day during breakfast, he was incredibly friendly and polite so if you don't have a car then he is a good choice to use.

Oh yes and how could I forget the local area is verryyy nice, a fantastic beach and a very up market street. The reason we mainly chose lanavilla was because we didn't want to be guest number 1001 at some giant hotel chain (of which there are a few) and we wanted to be near the beach.

All in all, very well and highly recommended! and hopefully will use again if we get to make another trip to Oman :)

Thank you Mic, Mirne and Marilyn. Hope the business continues to go well.

Room Tip: select a seaview room, we stayed in room 6 but ask if it has a shower curtain if that is important f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank famulla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belgium
Level Contributor
42 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2013 via mobile


I had a great stay at Lanavilla, very nice place with a lot of charm. This place is really unique and it detonates with the local hotels "5/4 stars" styles, a mix of European and Middle Eastern decoration styles in a cosy atmosphere. I felt very comfortable in the room, no noise issues, perfect cleanliness and each floor has its nicely decorated terrace. The breakfast isn't that furnished, but the essentials are there to start the day nicely. The place isn't that easy to find, it's adjacent to The Chedi, but I really suggest to navigate to there with the GPS coordinates as you might easily get lost in the small neighboring streets. Easy and safe parking. Free Internet but only in the common spaces of the base floor. You better have a car to stay there as there aren't many restaurants close by.

Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank perks787
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Petersburg, Russia
Level Contributor
77 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2013

It's a little bit tricky to book the room as this place is not represented in booking resources and there's no full book form on the sight of the place. So you have to get confirmation by email from the owner.
But the place itself is really good: very spacious, very nice halls and rooms, perfect location on the beach between airport and city center, friendly staff and owner and reasonable price.

Room Tip: Seaside view from the 2nd floor is very good
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex-124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torino
Level Contributor
90 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2013

This B & B is very close to the sea, a 15-min drive from Muscat airport. Our ensuite room was clean and spacious with simple furniture. Guests had free access to a common area, made up of a large living room and a kitchen, where they could relax and enjoy their own meals. There you could find a computer with free Internet access (a wi-fi connection was also available), a small library with English books and some touristic information, a hair dryer, a microwave and a fridge with drawers for each room. A water cooler bottle and tea and coffee facilities were also available near the big dining table. There was an average breakfast selection with sweet and salty food and, on demand, you could also have eggs and other cooked food. Mic, the German owner, has always been very kind and helpful before and during our visit. Overall it is a good accommodation, but you have to take into account that it is quite far from the city center and from the main restaurants. In neighborhood, you can find only small food shops and take-away restaurants.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank biol76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Muscat hotels
0.3 mi away
The Chedi Muscat – a GHM hotel
5.9 mi away
Crowne Plaza Muscat
Crowne Plaza Muscat
#6 of 52 in Muscat
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,497 reviews
3.2 mi away
Grand Hyatt Muscat
Grand Hyatt Muscat
#8 of 52 in Muscat
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
InterContinental Hotel Muscat
6.3 mi away
Coral Muscat Hotel & Apartments
0.8 mi away
Midan Hotel Suites, Muscat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lanavilla Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lanavilla Guest House

Property: Lanavilla Guest House
Address: 37th Street, Muscat PC 106, Oman
Region: Oman > Muscat Governorate > Muscat
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Muscat
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our popular Guesthouse B&B is located in Muscat, Oman on a quiet in front of the beach. We offer free wireless LAN, rooftop seaview terrace, clean and modern rooms with bathroom attached, free parking, tours arrangement, airport transfer, insider tips about Oman ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Lanavilla Hotel Muscat

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing