We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Muscat
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Lanavilla Guest House
Ranked #5 of 28 Muscat B&B and Inns
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good value”
Reviewed 8 December 2013

This is a fantastic place for the value, and feels more like a home than a hotel. The beach across the street is nice, but not really for swimming or sunbathing because of the proximity of Muslim fishermen. If you aren't looking for a resort this is absolutely the place to go.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank McKstyles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    148
    36
    8
    2
    0
See reviews for
33
101
25
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2013

We spent 5 nights here and were 100% satisfied with our visit. Excellent value for money! The drawing room and dining areas are very comfy and the rooftop terrace delightful for a morning meditation or evening sunset. The rooms are tidy, clean and tastefully decorated. At night the place is quiet and serene. The continental breakfast was hardy and a great way to start each day; the house cleaning women had great smiles and were very accommodating. Finally, the host, Oliver, went above and beyond the call of duty, arranging cabs, guides, car rentals, adventure seeker advice and general information at the drop of a hat. He had a full house with all rooms books and when we were there and the whole place ran smoothly. He was always eating breakfast with the guests each morning, answering questions and making casual conversation. He even dined out with us one night, loaned us a phone and invited us to a marching band event honoring the Sultan at the opera house! Highly recommended. Would return again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BrookeLein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cergy, France
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2013 via mobile

Nice house close to the Big Mosque. Oliver is very friendly and both housegirls are kind as well.
Free access to drawing room on the ground floor with sofas, computer, wifi and coffee/tea and plenty of tips (places to go to, restaurants, roads, ...).
Graeat breakfast which can be eaten inside ou outside.
Just a pity that there is so much water in the bathroom when having one's shower (curtain is not large enough).

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Xeta95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeddah, Saudi Arabia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 November 2013

We spent 4 nights in Lanavilla and we liked it a lot. The service is excellent, everything was at hand or prearranged - we arrived at the airport at midnight and there was a taxi driver waiting for us, the rental car was brought to the B&B´s doors in the morning, breakfast was decent, internet access was a big help and Oliver (=Mic) was always willing to give us a recommendation on where to go and what to do. The only thing I did not like was that we had to use the A/C all night long (and it was a bit noisy) as our room at the highest floor got extremely hot during the day. On the other hand, we cannot think of a better place to stay while visiting Muscat.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank corneilles77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 October 2013

The whole atmosphere in Lana Villa is very nice especially when you are starting your trip in Oman.

The family house like Lanavilla provides you not only with nice ans quite spacious rooms, furthermore the host provides a lot of information for trips in an around Muscat. In this setting, you get in contact with other travelers quite easily.

We enjoyed the friendly and supportive staff and will be back for sure ....

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank T S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terneuzen, The Netherlands
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013

I stayed 1 night in Lanavilla and it was really great. I liked the warm welcome en I felt at home immediately. They can arrange a taxi or car for you, there is internet available, a small supermarkt nearby, the beach is across the street and it's very relaxing to sit and read a book in the garden. The breakfast is delicious and they help you with everything. I liked my stay very much.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nessie1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amman, Jordan
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2013

Spent 3 nights here. A lovely small B&B run by Mic, the German owner. The rooms were clean, tidy and are nicely decorated. The terrace roof was great to sit and watch the sunset. The housekeeping girls were really welcoming, friendly and during breakfast, cooked my eggs perfectly. The breakfast was simple yet satisfying. I would happily stay here again when I am next in Muscat. I also like Mic's idea of the little cards, for taking with you to help find a particular restaurant from the recommendations book!

Room Tip: Ask for a "Sea View" - a lovely view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cameron L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Muscat hotels
0.3 mi away
The Chedi Muscat – a GHM hotel
3.2 mi away
Grand Hyatt Muscat
Grand Hyatt Muscat
#12 of 56 in Muscat
1,433 reviews
5.9 mi away
Crowne Plaza Muscat
Crowne Plaza Muscat
#8 of 56 in Muscat
1,535 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
InterContinental Hotel Muscat
6.8 mi away
Hormuz Grand Hotel, Muscat
1.3 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Muscat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lanavilla Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lanavilla Guest House

Property: Lanavilla Guest House
Address: 37th Street, Muscat PC 106, Oman
Region: Oman > Muscat Governorate > Muscat
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Muscat
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our popular Guesthouse B&B is located in Muscat, Oman on a quiet in front of the beach. We offer free wireless LAN, rooftop seaview terrace, clean and modern rooms with bathroom attached, free parking, tours arrangement, airport transfer, insider tips about Oman ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Lanavilla Hotel Muscat

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing