We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stylish hotel”
Review of The Platinum

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Platinum
Ranked #29 of 56 Hotels in Muscat
Deggendorf
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
115 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
“Stylish hotel”
Reviewed 24 May 2013

The modern unconventional hotel building with its seven stories looks quite interesting. Inside the hotel there are some interesting features, too. For example there are small lanterns in the hallways outside of each room that provide a homely atmosphere in the evening. In the room itself there are also stylish elements, especially the furniture and the lamps.
Free parking can be found directly next to the hotel.
The hotel is located in the Al Khuwair hotel district. In the immediate vicinity of the hotel there are shops and restaurants, which can be easily reached on foot. A special restaurant recommendation is the Turkish House restaurant serving good and reasonably priced food.
The staff of the Platinum was very friendly and very helpful.
We had only breakfast. The buffet offered sufficient choice and was of very good quality.
The mosaic pool on the roof is one of the highlights of the hotel. The water was rather warm at the time of our stay; the jacuzzi was unfortunately out of operation The pool area is nicely decorated. There are good views of parts of the city.
Our room was spacious and well equipped and offered all the amenities expected of a 4-star hotel. From the window you could see parts of the city and the busy Dohat Adab Street. The soundproof glazing proved to be effective. Unfortunately, there was no window that you could be opened. The room was nicely decorated with appealing pictures.
But there were also some shortcomings: there was only one room card for two persons. It took regularly several attempts to activate the power supply in the room with the room card. Regarding the shower gel and shampoo the products were almost dried up.
Also the hotel has big problems with Wi-Fi access. The Wi-Fi does not work without time-consuming support by the staff. Access to the server is only possible by typing in a long address into the browser window. The guest cannot know it anyway. This procedure is completely unacceptable.
When staying in Muscat again we would again book the Platinum provided they fix their internet access problem.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sumavax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    18
    40
    14
    6
    5
See reviews for
11
20
7
36
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Doha
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 202 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2013

The internet site makes it look better than it is in reality.
see http://www.theplatinumoman.com/

It would be almost OK for a business trip - but, not a good choice for a holiday with family.
Stay away. The hotel tries but fails.

If you can afford to pay more stay at Al Bustan Palace. It's in another league, a paradise. For example, Al Bustan is another universe - and is well worth the supplement. Perhaps $100-$150 or so more per night, a real resort - not a desi business hotel.

The hotel has aspirations but is clueless - people who consulted on interior design for the most part had yucky taste. The stone surround by the pool is well done.
The air conditioner did not work well in our room - we requested another room and it was fine.
The hallways reek of Indian food - not a good thing for us.
The pool area reeks of Indian food - not a good thing at all.
The breakfast buffet (besides the fruit) is not something we would consider eating. It's yucky.
Tired beef 'bacon', sub-par luncheon meats that are a bit scary, limp and sad paratha, not even fresh brewed coffee - only instant coffee is served.
The towels are substandard for what one would expect in a four star hotel.
The shower mat was covered in black fungus.
The mirror in our bathroom was shattered.
The staff is pleasant and tries to be helpful - and succeeds sometimes.

The hotel tries but fails. It doesn't deserve 4 stars - this is misleading. So, is the write-up on the Internet. The hotel is disappointing at best.

Room Tip: Make sure the AC works (ours did not). Avoid rooms with southern exposure - very hot in summer. If...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Guide_to_Great_Meals
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Muscat hotels

Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights and have the following complains:

1. Took IT staff almost an hour to get internet working for me. This should be just click and use!
2. Hotel only provide password for 1 device. This is not acceptable when most business travelers come with at least a laptop and smart phone
3. Maybe i am unlucky, water in my room is always hot no matter how i turn the dial. Did not bother to ask for a room change
4. liquid soap bottle looks unclean. Looks like it has been reused with stain here and there. The shower gel is really "gel" cannot get them out easily. I am ok with reusing and refilling but at least make it look clean.
5. Sticky flooring

The plus is that the staff are all pretty nice and helpful. Location not bad with plenty food places nearby and a supermarket.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank puzhitao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2013

Hotel had great service but location was not the best. Good internet, roms were clean and nice. Service was great. I was there only one night. I had a pleasant stay. I would recommend people to stay there.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank firatataman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
redditch
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2012

My husband and i stayed at this hotel in November 2012 and we had an excellent time, nothing was too much trouble for the staff, the hotel was spotless at all times and everything worked.
The only thing that may be a problem for some is that it doesnt have a liquor licence but then you are in an unspoiled city in the middle east.
I would definatley recomend this hotel to anyone at all and as there is a fridge in the room just pick some alcohol up at the airport.

Room Tip: i think that all the rooms are excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jacqui h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuwait City, Kuwait
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 December 2012

All five stars hotels in Oman are very expemsive, but this four stars hotel is perfect.
the hotel is small but the service is five stars. I found the hotel v. v. very clean, and the room and bath room perfect, highly recommaded. Esam.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank esamalawadhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Austria
Level 6 Contributor
254 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2012

Nice hotel, half way ffrom airport to old muscat, good for busines, but not so for vacations as it is quite far from tourist spots and beach. The rooms are quite ok, looks very clean,
Breakfast is very basic, juice is sweetened, bread is just toast, eggs are greasy, coffee is ugly, espresso is" sorry extra cost"
So after the experience with breakfast we decided not to eat there, but just a few meters from there opposite the raddison blue hotel there are several nice small restaurants for outside eating.

Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank moarti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Muscat hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Muscat Holiday
Hotel Muscat Holiday
#24 of 56 in Muscat
193 reviews
1.5 mi away
Somerset Panorama Muscat
0.3 mi away
Tulip Inn Muscat
Tulip Inn Muscat
#19 of 56 in Muscat
397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
City Seasons Hotel Muscat
3.7 mi away
Centara Muscat Oman
Centara Muscat Oman
#25 of 56 in Muscat
13 reviews
0.3 mi away
Waves International Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Platinum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Platinum

Property: The Platinum
Address: Opposite Court, Next to Oman Oil Petrol Pump Al Khuwair | PO Box 3735, Muscat 112, Oman
Region: Oman > Muscat Governorate > Muscat
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 56 Hotels in Muscat
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Platinum 4*
Number of rooms: 85
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Platinum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing