We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for money”
Review of The Platinum

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Platinum
Ranked #29 of 60 Hotels in Muscat
Reviewed 11 October 2013

Stayed there for a night during a biz trip. The rooms are spacious, clean and comfortable. Best thing about it was its rates...reasonable if you are on a budget.

Internet was good, and breakfast is not bad...its location is not ideal though, not much around it.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mohammed A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (83)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

45 - 51 of 83 reviews

Reviewed 2 October 2013

I stayed here on a recent business trip and found the hotel to be very friendly, clean, all rooms to a high standard (I stayed in two on separate times in one week). The prices were very reasonable for drinks and food etc and the facilities were excellent.
The only slight negative was the breakfast, a bit sloppy for me and some of it not very hot.
Overall a decent hotel with good staff and in a good location.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dave H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

good place to stay, easy access to city and airport

good place to stay, easy access to city and airport

good place to stay, easy access to city and airport

good place to stay, easy access to city and airport

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mehtarohan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2013

Nicely located Hotel with clean and comfortable rooms and a reasonable Restaurant. My favourite restaurant 'Turkish House' is only a short walk away as are a couple of other good restaurants so i'd recommend eating out! (The Sea Bass at the Turkish House is amazing!).

Hotel Internet a bit on the expensive side. Use it if you only really need it! Small business centre in a room off the hotel lobby with a couple of computers and the staff are only to willing to assist you with printing boarding passes etc (for free) so use this option.

Nice rooftop pool and a small but adequate fitness centre.

Staff were friendly and late check out (4 pm) wasn't a problem. I'd recommend this hotel for both family and business travel. There is a laundry located right next door to the hotel (open evenings only). Save money by using this laundry rather than the hotel.

You can catch a cab right outside the hotel and the hotel staff will gladly assist you.Get the hotel staff to give you an approximation of the cab fare and don't be afraid to negotiate as the cabs don't have meters. Don't be afraid to tell the cab driver the quoted fare is too expensive and youll get another cab. Usually works!

I would stay here again when next in sanaa. Much better option than the nearby Radison Blue Hotel.

Room Tip: If you don't smoke be sure to request a non-smoking room and don't be shy about asking for a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank andrew m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2013

The hotel is located in a convenient area if you want to experience the real Omani surroundings. Easy reachable from the airport and from the highway.
The building is quite new and really very clean. People working there made me feel welcome and they made everything to make me enjoy my stay.
The only suggestion (but it is really a pity detail) would be to install a chiller for the water from the sink.
I suggest it to everyone who wants to go to Muscat without getting far from the city itself.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Gekomi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2013

Stayed in this hotel in April with family.Our room was spacious and comfortable. We had our room in 6th floor and had a nice sea view.
Large bed,extra bed,nice cupboards,spacious well stocked bathroom,minibar.Buffet Breakfast was also very good with all types of fruits,sweets,hot and cold menus.
The physical appearance of the hotel is unique with a pink coloured exterior. Location is very good with restaurants and shopping centers nearby.
Can easily avail taxis from outside the hotel.The staff was really helpful and professional. They don't serve alcohol. Nice hotel to be with family both for business and holiday.
Price is little bit on the higher side but i think overall in Oman hotel rooms are expensive compared to neighbouring GCC countries.

Room Tip: Upper floor room with sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ricky c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2013

I stayed here for couple of days for business. It has a very good location and probably the best 4-star hotel in the area.
You can find a lot of Turkish restaurants just outside the hotel.
They have free wifi and breakfast is included. Dont expect too much from the breakfast as it had more indian dishes than continental.
They offer airport pick and drop at OR8 each way.
Overall a good experience.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jzeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Muscat hotels
0.1 mi away
Millennium Executive Apartments Muscat
1.5 mi away
Somerset Panorama Muscat
2.6 mi away
Majan Continental Hotel
Majan Continental Hotel
#28 of 60 in Muscat
125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
City Seasons Hotel Muscat
0.7 mi away
Best Western Premier Muscat
0.9 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Muscat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Platinum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Platinum

Address: Opposite Court, Next to Oman Oil Petrol Pump Al Khuwair | PO Box 3735, Muscat 112, Oman
Region: Oman > Muscat Governorate > Muscat
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 60 Hotels in Muscat
Price Range: £79 - £185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Platinum 4*
Number of rooms: 85
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Platinum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing