We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Compact, Clean and Comfortable Hotel”
Review of The Platinum

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Platinum
Ranked #31 of 63 Hotels in Muscat
Reviewed 1 March 2014

The unusual structure of the hotel - with a narrow frontage and trapezoidal shape makes one wonder what is in store .. but the 2 days stay turned out to be a good, comfortable one. There is hardly any noise in the rooms despite being on a main road, the rooms are spacious and clean. The mattresses can do with a replacement as they seem to soft.. Food is simple and freshly made and service is good. Just one word of caution .. get all your instructions to the hotel and terms in writing as there seems to be limited co-ordination between back office and front desk .. and some of the front desk staff seem to forget they are there to serve the hotel guests.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sundara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (86)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

41 - 47 of 86 reviews

Reviewed 25 February 2014

The Platinum is a nice, new, oriental style Hotel. It's very comfortable, very good matrasses, a nice Little Pool. Excellent choice for breakfast, with daily changes. The staff is pleasant and helpful. This Hotel is ideal for a short Holiday. For a Long Holiday the wardrobe is small and the location is not City Center and it's away from the beach. However, taxis are available everywhere. You must bargain the Price before the ride!

Room Tip: Rooms higher floor are quieter. But windows have good Isolation though
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Damiano S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014

Stayed there for three nights traveling with a group.The hotel is not huge but nicely decorated and clean.Stuff polite and helpful.Rooms in a good size.The only negative was the breakfast and dinner.Every day was the same and the taste was poor,needs improvement for a 4 star hotel.Alcohol is not served in the hotel,so if you need a drink,there's an irish pub in Radisson blu hotel just 10 min walk.I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank manosRhodes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2013 via mobile

I stayed at this hotel with my girlfriend for 2 nights.

The room was nice and so was the breakfast. Our room had a great view over Muscat and the Gulf.

I think all hotels in Muscat were a bit expensive and this one was no exception.

I would recommend this hotel.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank chrismck84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2013

I stayed only 1 night and didn't use the pool so cant really say too much. Position was OK in the back of Al Khuwair - there are a few local restaurants around and a great Shawerma place next door - brought back old memories, a large Shawerma was RO0.6 (about a pound).

Rooms were a good size and the bathroom was pretty good too. TV featured CNN and BBC plus the usual middle East movie channels. Service was friendly and internet is free, but geologically slow!!!!
Breakfast was nothing to write home about - it filled the gap in the morning.

I might stay again, price was OR 59 including taxes.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Keith1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013

We stayed here during the recent Eid vacation, we found this to be reasonably priced and in a busy area. We were not disappointed. The first room they gave us had a musty smell and the sheets felt damp so we requested another room and they happily obliged. The room we were given was a good size, very clean. The service was good, rooms cleaned to a good standard everyday. The breakfast (included in the deal we booked) was decent, variety was good although some things looked like they were reused day after day-hummous, fruits, labnah. Another downside was that they did not offer different types of hot drink (just brewed coffee and tea bags) despite having a coffee machine, but if you wanted a latte/cappuccino you had to pay for it! However, they did offer eggs cooked anyway you wanted.
We didnt use the facilities although a gym and pool were available. They provided a little bed for our 5 month old baby (2 days into our stay because they were overbooked with families).

Overall we liked the hotel, the staff and would stay here again. Also conveniently located right next to a turkish food place just in case you felt peckish.

Room Tip: If you need a bed for a child request one when you book a room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank a a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2013

Stayed there for a night during a biz trip. The rooms are spacious, clean and comfortable. Best thing about it was its rates...reasonable if you are on a budget.

Internet was good, and breakfast is not bad...its location is not ideal though, not much around it.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mohammed A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Muscat hotels
0.7 mi away
Best Western Premier Muscat
0.9 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Muscat
4.4 mi away
Ramee Guestline Hotel Qurum - Oman
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.8 mi away
Eastin Residences Muscat
1.5 mi away
Somerset Panorama Muscat
0.6 mi away
Hotel Muscat Holiday
Hotel Muscat Holiday
#28 of 63 in Muscat
201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Platinum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Platinum

Address: Opposite Court, Next to Oman Oil Petrol Pump Al Khuwair | PO Box 3735, Muscat 112, Oman
Region: Oman > Muscat Governorate > Muscat
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 63 Hotels in Muscat
Price Range: £62 - £147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Platinum 4*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Platinum, is a non-licensed four star hotel in Al Khuwair, Muscat. The architecturally majestic structure is now a prominent landmark in Muscat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Platinum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing