We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Its a namesake, lower your expectations.”
Review of Hotel Muscat

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Muscat
Ranked #46 of 55 Hotels in Muscat
New Delhi, India
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Its a namesake, lower your expectations.”
Reviewed 22 November 2012

First things first...This one is a namesake. It doesn't belong to 'the Rotana group' (http://www.rotana.com/). Hence, get ready to compromise on quality. Having said that, this hotel isn't a bad choice if you are only looking for a place to keep your luggage and spend the best part of the day exploring the beautiful city. It is located conveniently and you will find a lot of cabs, supermarkets and good restaurants nearby. For the rooms, they are clean but could do better by replacing some of the creaky furniture.

However, the staff could be a bit more attentive. We had to wait really long for getting a room with working lights even though we had made reservations and had driven down a tiring distance from Ras al Khaimah. The first impression could have been better.

Anyway, I would recommend this place for people who are willing to spend and expect a little more than budget traveller would.

Room Tip: Rooms on the left of the corridor (facing the sun). They are bright and have a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jayasri_V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    0
    14
    17
    12
    8
See reviews for
12
6
1
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, Scotland
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2012

Until this hotel fixes the issues with their internet connection then there is no point staying here if you have any business to attend to. Had to use my mobile phones 3G connection to get internet the majority of the time costing me a fortune in roaming charges. Initially i had a room on the 4th floor which would never pick up the wifi signal. They then moved me to the 3rd floor where the wifi connection would occasionally work (slow if it did). My mobile would never connect to the wifi therefore i could not message home for free with iMessage or WhatsApp. This added a considerable cost to my stay with each text message costing me 40 pence when it should have been free if their damn internet worked.

The curtains in my room left an 8 inch gap in the middle meaning my room was too bright once the sun came up in the morning. There was no towel in my initial room. TV channels are limited with around half not working. Breakfast was average. No hair dryer in the room. Strange smell in my second room.

The beds were very comfortable however. Wouldn't stay here again unless they got a new wifi system.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank djorkaeff1903
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Muscat hotels

Muscat, Oman
Level 6 Contributor
186 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2012

I was quite worried after reading all the reviews but I have stayed in this hotel for nearly 3 weeks. Rooms are spacious and clean. Yes in the bathroom some of the fittings could be improved like shower curtain but those are minor. I had a very pleasant stay. Breakfast spread is quite good even for vegetarians. They have a gym and swimming pool. More than all of this the location is excellent. It is nearby so many restuarants and shopping centers, all just walking distance. When you get your room you first need to check if the Wi-Fi internet works as the signal strength is not so good in all the rooms.

A quite decent hotel and wouldnt mind staying there again.

Room Tip: Ensure you check the Wi-Fi internet signal before accepting the room. They will change the room for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank harishbala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2012

This hotel was booked by my office for a business trip. When I saw the hotel review I was bit worried with the hotel review in tripadvisor, but after reaching there I was presently surprised. This hotel is not by the Rotana group of middle-east. It’s a different one.
The hotel is a definitely a decent one. I am not sure of whether its value for money or not cause I was not aware of the rents in the hotels around. But definitely this is a decent one and a good option not far off from the airport. The hotel is equipped with health club, restaurants, swimming pool, couple of banquet halls, wifi connections. But they don’t have any bar or club attached with the hotel. There are a few hotels around where one have to walk down for a glass of drinks.
The rooms are upto the standard, equipped with all the amenities expected. The breakfast served is also good with moderate options. I ordered dinner for one night and the preparation was delicious. But for the dinner I need to make the staff awake to prepare the food at just 11PM. The ambience of the restaurant at ground floor was good, but not much of visitors made the staffs to switch of the lights and go for a sleep!!! There are few food options available at a walk able distance from the hotel. So stay is not much challenging.
Only drawback, the lift was full of smell of chlorine because of the swimming pool in the basement.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tmsrc_1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 December 2011

The room was not prepared nor cleaned ptoperly and very hot, had insects.. when we complained we had the unprofessional management who has no respect to customers satisfaction, the staff has no experience in hospitality, room service staff doesn't understand English and they are smelly !!! was very frustrating as a Rotana hotel !! although they had good finishing and decoration, nice reception staff but it has nothing to be compared with other Rotana hotels in the ME !!! No Way!!
the hotel need improvement and a professional management team, a higher standard of hospitality and cleaning of the rooms, pool, restaurant, more important is they should care about customer satisfaction more than just charging the extra money as customers are always right..

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helena S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2011

The room was tidy enough. Price was not unreasonable compared to other Muscat hotels at the time. Only real complaints are that the room smelt quite smoky when we arrived, and the WiFi was not working properly. The hotel & room were both in good condition. One of the bedside lamps was wired into the power socket with 2 bare wires, no plug.
The staff were fine.

Room Tip: Ask for a non-smoking room. Not sure if they actually have any though!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MikeZandvliet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2011

It is business hotel with all the latest amenities. The positives this hotel has are
(+) depending on the room, you get a stunning view of the vista. (The higher you go in terms of floors choice, the better the view from the room)
(+)a mini chiller to keep your drinks (cola + water) cold.
(+) ironing board to iron your own clothes
(+) comfortable living arrangements, which include bed, writing table and shelves and a safe to store your valuables.
(+) Daily house cleaning that provides clean bed sheets and towels
(+) a flat panel TV with USB playback for pictures & music
(+) lot of restaurants in the vicinity including Subway, Mc Donald’s & KFC.
(+) very good fitness center with brand new equipments & a trainer to help you with your training needs

What it lacks is
(-) Wi-fi connectivity: If the number of guests increases in the hotel, then you will face connectivity issues. Otherwise if the connection is good, then the broadband speed is very nice. So if you are planning to work from the hotel, check the wifi connectivity before you choose your room.
(-) TV Channels: There are very limited options for viewing on the TV. Apart from 2 news channel, 1 Hindi channel (Zee Arabia) and 4 English channels, rest is Arabic. So if you are looking for the Indian Hindi package of Star or Zee channels, you will be very disappointed.
(-) Room service is below par. In the initial few days of my stay, I decided to try the room service for my lunch and dinner and the quality of the food is very substandard compared to the rating this hotel claims it to be.
(-)Complimentary Breakfast: Breakfast is, more often than not, the same everyday and is served cold. They do not have much of a choice in terms of the spread, and the options available only cater to the Non Indian Taste Buds. So if you are looking for a vegetarian spread, you are at a loss of options.
(-)Laundry is expensive in the hotel, but there are a couple of Laundry stores in the vicinity
(-) travel is an issue here, since the Cabs do not run on meters. So please negotiate with the driver regarding the rates before you take the Cab.

So choose this place only if you are looking at a place to crash and nothing else.

Room Tip: Higher Floors have a better view of the vista. North Side rooms face the sea while the South Side f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Projit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Muscat hotels
0.0 mi away
Delmon Hotel Apartments
Delmon Hotel Apartments
#34 of 55 in Muscat
90 reviews
0.0 mi away
Muscat Dunes Hotel
Muscat Dunes Hotel
#30 of 55 in Muscat
54 reviews
0.0 mi away
Venus Hotel
Venus Hotel
#40 of 55 in Muscat
8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Safeer Continental Hotel
Safeer Continental Hotel
#31 of 55 in Muscat
48 reviews
0.0 mi away
Qurum Beach Hotel
Qurum Beach Hotel
#36 of 55 in Muscat
71 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ramee Guestline Hotel Qurum - Oman
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Muscat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Muscat

Property: Hotel Muscat
Address: Al-Khuwair beside Zawawi Mosque, Muscat 113, Oman (Formerly Rotana Hotel Muscat)
Region: Oman > Muscat Governorate > Muscat
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 55 Hotels in Muscat
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK) and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Muscat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing