We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quiet & Clean hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Muscat

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Muscat
Ranked #42 of 49 Hotels in Muscat
Saham
Level Contributor
62 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Quiet & Clean hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2013

Stayed there for four days, it was around 38 OMR.

Its location is fantastic ; central of Muscat, close to the main roads. Food is good. Internet is fast as well. Clean & quiet rooms.
There was Omani coffee down in the lobby , and I asked for dates . The reception woman apologized for not having dates , instead, she ordered fresh cookies for me for free , and there were delicious.

Area of improvements :

Maybe we needed more parking lots as there are very limited ones.
Some of the reception personnel were not quite friendly , I asked for the price of a night and I replied that the difference in the internet is quite big ( around 8 OMR) . She replied , well then go to the net and book! I don’t mind the difference that much in this situation , but I was shocked the way she replied. It is like saying , you want go ahead otherwise get out!
She needs to be more friendly to guests whether she agrees with them or not , and that is rule number one of customer service.( I checked in around 4 pm)

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ahmed A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    0
    14
    17
    12
    8
See reviews for
12
6
1
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Buckingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2013

This hotel is cheap. The room we had was large, we had three beds in but could easily have set up a small dorm for all our chums. If you need space rather than luxury this is the place for you.
It was a cheap place to stay it ticked all the boxes for a basic hotel. It didn't shine in anyway and when we checked out a day early the staff weren't surprised.
But don't rule it out if you need a bed for the night.

PSn
No alcohol is served in this hotel, that wasn't an issue for us but it may be for some.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Oodle007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2013 via mobile

It's ok for the money and you like big rooms with no frills aka travel lodge then this is the place.
On arrival to a room booked for 3 had to ask and wait for bed to arrive then for broken chair to be removed but wasn't replaced no cup no spoons but big room did I mention that ?
Try somewhere else and if all that fails its ok.
Oman is expensive and not all hotels have alcohol !! This one DOESN'T .

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jackysparkle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Muscat hotels

Beirut
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2013

The floors are never cleaned (hairballs, stains etc. are all there to welcome you). The corners are the filthiest. The bathroom ceiling was dripping rusty and smelly water. The bathtub had dark stains. The room smelled like cigarette smoke at all times. The bed was broken (I would hate to think why). I asked for slippers, which never came (and were apparently delivered to my friend's room instead). The bathroom amenities are not replaced daily. Breakfast was basic but OK. All in all, I would never go back.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Diana F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
61 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2012

First things first...This one is a namesake. It doesn't belong to 'the Rotana group' (http://www.rotana.com/). Hence, get ready to compromise on quality. Having said that, this hotel isn't a bad choice if you are only looking for a place to keep your luggage and spend the best part of the day exploring the beautiful city. It is located conveniently and you will find a lot of cabs, supermarkets and good restaurants nearby. For the rooms, they are clean but could do better by replacing some of the creaky furniture.

However, the staff could be a bit more attentive. We had to wait really long for getting a room with working lights even though we had made reservations and had driven down a tiring distance from Ras al Khaimah. The first impression could have been better.

Anyway, I would recommend this place for people who are willing to spend and expect a little more than budget traveller would.

Room Tip: Rooms on the left of the corridor (facing the sun). They are bright and have a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jayasri_V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, Scotland
Level Contributor
86 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2012

Until this hotel fixes the issues with their internet connection then there is no point staying here if you have any business to attend to. Had to use my mobile phones 3G connection to get internet the majority of the time costing me a fortune in roaming charges. Initially i had a room on the 4th floor which would never pick up the wifi signal. They then moved me to the 3rd floor where the wifi connection would occasionally work (slow if it did). My mobile would never connect to the wifi therefore i could not message home for free with iMessage or WhatsApp. This added a considerable cost to my stay with each text message costing me 40 pence when it should have been free if their damn internet worked.

The curtains in my room left an 8 inch gap in the middle meaning my room was too bright once the sun came up in the morning. There was no towel in my initial room. TV channels are limited with around half not working. Breakfast was average. No hair dryer in the room. Strange smell in my second room.

The beds were very comfortable however. Wouldn't stay here again unless they got a new wifi system.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank djorkaeff1903
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Muscat, Oman
Level Contributor
141 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2012

I was quite worried after reading all the reviews but I have stayed in this hotel for nearly 3 weeks. Rooms are spacious and clean. Yes in the bathroom some of the fittings could be improved like shower curtain but those are minor. I had a very pleasant stay. Breakfast spread is quite good even for vegetarians. They have a gym and swimming pool. More than all of this the location is excellent. It is nearby so many restuarants and shopping centers, all just walking distance. When you get your room you first need to check if the Wi-Fi internet works as the signal strength is not so good in all the rooms.

A quite decent hotel and wouldnt mind staying there again.

Room Tip: Ensure you check the Wi-Fi internet signal before accepting the room. They will change the room for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank harishbala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Muscat hotels
0.0 mi away
Ibis Muscat
Ibis Muscat
#14 of 49 in Muscat
3.5 of 5 bubbles 489 reviews
0.0 mi away
Eastin Residences Muscat
0.0 mi away
Samara Hotel
Samara Hotel
#23 of 49 in Muscat
4.0 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Tulip Inn Muscat
Tulip Inn Muscat
#13 of 49 in Muscat
4.0 of 5 bubbles 387 reviews
0.0 mi away
Dhilal Hotel Apartments
Dhilal Hotel Apartments
#39 of 49 in Muscat
3.0 of 5 bubbles 2 reviews
0.0 mi away
Coral Muscat Hotel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Muscat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Muscat

Property: Hotel Muscat
Address: Al-Khuwair beside Zawawi Mosque, Muscat 113, Oman (Formerly Rotana Hotel Muscat)
Region: Oman > Muscat Governorate > Muscat
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 49 Hotels in Muscat
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Hotel Muscat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing