We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not bad for the price”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Muscat

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Muscat
Ranked #42 of 50 Hotels in Muscat
UK
Level Contributor
184 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Not bad for the price”
Reviewed 16 March 2014

I moved here from a truly bad hotel. The Rotana Muscat is not part of the International Rotana chain so no points.

It was clean and in a good position, there was a passable gym and a swimming pool in the basement. The breakfast was OK as well. Staff were good and the front desk team made you feel comfortable and welcome.

There isn't much to rave about, its functional and fulfils a need - but it is a good value, well positioned place and I may stay again when on business. As a holiday hotel it wouldn't be enough for me, but every place serves a purpose and as a budget business hotel in Al Khuwar it was fine.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keith1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    0
    14
    17
    12
    8
See reviews for
12
6
1
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2014 via mobile

We stayed one night in the rotana. The room was not very clean but bigger then other hotels like the ibis. The breakfast buffet was ver nice with a lot of choice. The only things i was not happy about is the unclean bathroom and the very loud climate.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank themaluco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2014

Stayed for 5 nights on my own. Basic but clean room in a good location close to where I was doing business. Wouldn't want to stay here with my family, but ticked the boxes for solely wanting a place to sleep and shower at a reasonable price. I would use it again under similar circumstances.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JGLKI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
212 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2014

This hotel clearly started off as an apartment block before becoming an hotel. The rooms are quite poor, there is on switch to turn off the lights from the bedside, you have to get up walk to the door to switch off the lights.
Room furnishings are of average quality at best.
My advice, there are a number of hotels walking distance from this one!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheRealKhairy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Muscat hotels

Beirut, Lebanon
Level Contributor
36 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2013

With a central and great location, the hotel is clean and quiet with very helpful staff. The room was spacious with a very comfortable bed. However, it needs renovation. Breakfast was appalling and cookies smelled like fried spring rolls. The number of TV channels is very limited.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mhry_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai
1 review
Reviewed 11 September 2013

A comfortable short stay.
The room is clean, good bed and clean toilet.
Located with amenities, near to shopping malls.
I like the breakfast and hospitality of the staff.
Just hope to have Singapore Dollar currency exchange service at the counter, now there is none.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
Thank Chen Chung K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saham
Level Contributor
63 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2013

Stayed there for four days, it was around 38 OMR.

Its location is fantastic ; central of Muscat, close to the main roads. Food is good. Internet is fast as well. Clean & quiet rooms.
There was Omani coffee down in the lobby , and I asked for dates . The reception woman apologized for not having dates , instead, she ordered fresh cookies for me for free , and there were delicious.

Area of improvements :

Maybe we needed more parking lots as there are very limited ones.
Some of the reception personnel were not quite friendly , I asked for the price of a night and I replied that the difference in the internet is quite big ( around 8 OMR) . She replied , well then go to the net and book! I don’t mind the difference that much in this situation , but I was shocked the way she replied. It is like saying , you want go ahead otherwise get out!
She needs to be more friendly to guests whether she agrees with them or not , and that is rule number one of customer service.( I checked in around 4 pm)

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ahmed A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Muscat
0.0 mi away
Eastin Residences Muscat
0.0 mi away
Tulip Inn Muscat
Tulip Inn Muscat
#14 of 50 in Muscat
389 reviews
0.0 mi away
Dhilal Hotel Apartments
Dhilal Hotel Apartments
#39 of 50 in Muscat
2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Ruwi Hotel
Ruwi Hotel
#1 of 10 in Ruwi
457 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Muscat Holiday
Hotel Muscat Holiday
#19 of 50 in Muscat
190 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ibis Muscat
Ibis Muscat
#13 of 50 in Muscat
507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Muscat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Muscat

Property: Hotel Muscat
Address: Al-Khuwair beside Zawawi Mosque, Muscat 113, Oman (Formerly Rotana Hotel Muscat)
Region: Oman > Muscat Governorate > Muscat
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 50 Hotels in Muscat
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Evoline ltd and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Hotel Muscat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing