We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Confortable and clean”
Review of L'Espace

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Muscat
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
L'Espace
Ranked #9 of 28 Muscat B&B and Inns
London
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Confortable and clean”
Reviewed 28 February 2014

Good spot for staying close to the main hotels (PH and Chedi), nice villa in front of the beach. Not a fault for the price asked. You probably need a car for touring Muscat but everybody does with a fuel at a price of a sandwich.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Seadreamingever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    86
    25
    4
    0
    1
See reviews for
30
50
12
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014

If you look for a good option in Muscat, this is the place to stay. In a 3 floor villa with beautiful antique mainly Indian furniture, a large terrace on the 3rd floor with Arabic comfortable seating, great views over the Gulf of Oman, you cannot relax better. The rooms are designed simple, furnished with antiques, too, the bed very comfortable. The breakfast is served (i.e. FRESH dishes such as omelette, croissants, cheese platter, fruits guaranteed) on the terrace on the elevated ground floor with view to the beach and sea. Dinner is not available but the BBQ truck on the beach opposite the villa serves anything from shrimps to calamaris, lamb to beef, soup and bread. Judging by the many diners, this must be one of the secret Muscat dining tips....

Room Tip: No lift available, therefore suggest elderly to book lower floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelspecialist69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Germany
Level 6 Contributor
156 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2013

We stayed in one of their huge family rooms for two nights in October and were very happy with our stay. The ground floor room had two large kingsize beds and there was ample space in the room for all four of us. Sofia and her housekeeper are great hosts and did everything to make our stay smooth and enjoyable. The area is very quiet, yet close to the airport and only a 5 minute drive from a very well stocked supermarket (Lulu) and some restaurants. Driving time into Mutrah is about 20 minutes, traffic permitting. The beach in front of the villa does not seem really appealing, I would not like to swim there, but it is nice to look at anyway. My only criticism is the fact that the automatic door opener does not work and guests do not get keys. Once we were locked out for a while, since nobody had heard our ringing the door bell, and the same night we unexpectedly returned late (around midnight) and had to make the housekeeper get up again in order be let in. Otherwise a very pleasant stay, highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fraugast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 1 December 2013

We were looking form somewhere to say near to the ministries area to be close to friends for our stay and stumbled upon L'Espace. A quick read of some reviews later I was on the phone to Sofia to make the booking and in 20 mins I was politely and efficiently all sorted.
Great directions and we arrived to a lovely welcome from Coquin the resident Yorkie and the kids were hooked.
We had a great stay, excellent service from Lize and help from Gopal, a fantastic fresh breakfast every morning, great clean rooms and a good night's sleep was all we can really say about our 3 nights.
I am happy to recommend L'Espcace to everyone who is looking for a non-hotel stay in Muscat to get a nice friendly welcome and service, including wifi & breakfast for the same rate as a faceless welcome elsewhere.

My only gripe has nothing to do with L'Espace but, for a country that will fine you for having a dirty car Oman really needs to get a grip on the shameless visitors to the beach who leave it looking like a landfill each morning, the only buzzkill of our trip.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Al Muharraq, Bahrain
1 review
Reviewed 3 November 2013

We spent 2 nights at L'Espace during Eid break and we enjoyed it very much. The location is good, close to the airport but not too far from the city centre. You have to rent a car to visit Muscat anyway, since the lack of public transport. The place is easy to find thanks to the very clear indications provided by the owner. The building itself is a beautiful villa, with a great rooftop terrace. The room was well furnished, clean and with a comfortable bed. Good variety of food at breakfast.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ilamazzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frankfurt, Germany
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013

My wife and I recently spent two nights in the L'Espace B&B and we loved it. Sofia is a wonderful hostess and was very instrumental in facilitating our wonderful stay. She was a wealth of information and helped us with taxi bookings and organizing restaurant bookings and a visit to the grand mosque. The house is very nice with all that one would expect from a B&B style lodging. Our room was nicely appointed and was clean. The area is quiet and a little removed from the main activity of Muscat so a car is recommend, but taxis are reasonable and one can easily rely on them. If I were returning to Muscat, I would likely continue to rely on the taxi service unless you will be doing a lot of moving about, then a car would make better economic sense.

Breakfast was well prepared and presented. We were quite satisfied after our meal. There is also a small menu provide if you would like to have a small meal during other times of the day. I imagine, with enough notice, any menu item could be created and prepared to your liking should you desire. Sofia and her staff are accommodating and would do their best to facilitate your needs.

The B&B is located directly on a main public beach and it is wonderful to see the locals congregate for afternoon meals in the public areas. We enjoyed a lovely walk along the beach and made an incursion into the neighbouring hotel called The Chedi. This is a 5-star hotel not far from the B&B which will "tolerate" outsiders, but only in the pool bar/restaurant area. Sofia told us that the hotel does not appreciate outsiders coming from the beach so we used our super stealthy skills to sneak in. We were mostly successful but were found out when we are asked for our room number. Then we were politely told we could use the pool bar area should we like to stay. Fair enough…try to look the part if you are going to visit.

Overall, we had a wonderful visit to Oman. We will return to Muscat, and we will definitely return to L'Espace. I appreciate great service when I find it and I always return to the place I find it.
Thank you Sofia and staff.

Room Tip: A car would be useful, but not a necestiy
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DresdenDean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2013

L'Espace is a mansion along the beach, near the Chedi hotel, in Muscat - a very nice area of the city. We loved staying in the beautiful house, and the rooms are very large. We had the family room with a balcony which was perfect for 4 people. High ceilings and all the modern comforts. Sofia is a great host and can give you plenty of restaurant and sight-seeing tips. There are lovely common areas including the terrace on the top floor. Breakfast is substantial and served in a lovely dining room. We had our own car and street parking was right outside the house and always loads of space available. Can be a bit difficult to nagivate to - a GPS is a big help but you may want directions before you get into Muscat. There aren't many restaurant options you can walk to so best to use this B&B if you have a car, or don't mind relying on taxis. Oman isn't a cheap place for accommodation but, in light of this, we were happy with the value.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Canozzie1001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Muscat hotels
0.5 mi away
The Chedi Muscat – a GHM hotel
2.4 mi away
Grand Hyatt Muscat
Grand Hyatt Muscat
#12 of 56 in Muscat
1,433 reviews
5.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Muscat
Crowne Plaza Muscat
#8 of 56 in Muscat
1,535 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.2 mi away
Sheraton Oman Hotel
Sheraton Oman Hotel
#1 of 56 in Muscat
179 reviews
3.8 mi away
InterContinental Hotel Muscat
0.7 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Muscat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to L'Espace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L'Espace

Property: L'Espace
Address: 77 Al Ezdehar Street | Gubrah North, Muscat 114, Oman
Region: Oman > Muscat Governorate > Muscat
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Muscat
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Central Muscat, right on the beach, facing the sea of Oman, l’Espace-Muscat welcomes you, whether you are on a leisure trip or on a business journey in the Omani Capital. Only 10 minutes away from the International Airport, our 6 guest rooms, living rooms, terraces, conference room and art boutique, are furnished with unique pieces specially designed in Rajastan, India. Our luxurious Villa and our warm family offers style, comfort and relaxation to your stay in Oman, in the colorful atmosphere we have created to match the blue horizon that unfolds in front of the house, with touches from Europe, the Middle East and India. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
l`Espace Hotel Muscat

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing