We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant stay”
Review of Al Qurum Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Al Qurum Resort
Ranked #6 of 29 Muscat B&B and Inns
Reviewed 1 February 2013

Stayed here January 2013. King size room (103) had lovely sea view, clean and plenty of space, with the usual hotel room items (toiletries, coffee, tea, robes, slippers). Positives included the free water every day, the delightful and very helpful staff, the reasonably equipped gym, and the location, which has to be just about the best location in the area. We tried the sushi night which was first class, and the pool and its area were sufficient, with the pool being warm and the area tidy. Areas for attention included the room itself, which was tired, as was the balcony area, which had tiles broken and missing which should be an easy job to maintain. Also the noise from the generator on the hotel roof was unacceptable, and when we complained about this, it was evident this was a common complaint about this particular room. So if you are sensitive to noise, make sure you are not in room 103! Also be careful in the restaurant if you attend the weekly themed buffet nights, as the drinks supplied at the table, including the bottle of water waiting for you, do not come with the meal, and a heavy tax adds considerably to the cost. The breakfast was a great experience, being served each morning on the balcony outside your room, plenty of coffee, breads, cakes, fruit and hot food, although was surprised the only choice of hot food on the menu was eggs. Whether fried, poached, boiled, scrambled or as an omelette, you can have eggs, but beef/turkey bacon, sausage etc. was not an option, something we think should be looked at, as it would provide some much needed variety. The location of the hotel adjacent to the Al Qurum resort is great, with easy access to restaurants, coffee shops and a small mall, and the hotel backs straight on to the most amazing beach, which took us easily 2 hours to walk along it, and we enjoy our walking. The hotel also has a good relationship with the local car hire service, and we booked 2 days car hire very cheaply. All in all a pleasant stay, very helpful staff and great location. If staying in the area again this would still be our first choice of hotel.

Room Tip: If you don't like background noise, keep away from room 103.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tomtomgoer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (79)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

46 - 52 of 79 reviews

Reviewed 30 August 2012

We came from Bangkok and stayed 2 nights in Muscat for stop over. I spent a lot of time to find a reasonably priced hotel. What I found ist the Qurum Resort and I can say we where very happy with it. I booked through booking.com and payed 170 OMR (350 EUR) for a double room with ocean view and a very good breakfast.
Arrival: We arrived at 5 in the morning. Our room was not ready yet but we were offered the option to move into another room until our room is ready. I think this offer was great as we where really tired and needed some rest.
Staff: Everybody we met was really friendly and helpful.
Room: If you want so stay there you HAVE to take a seaview room. Our room was very spacios and had access to the wonderful terrace on the first floor with view to the ocean which you can see to the right hand side. If you look straight you see bushes and trees, the pool and a wonderful garden.
Pool: At noon we took a long nap at the pool, it was a quiet and relaxed atmosphere. The pool staff was busy all day, cleaning the pool deck and keeping everything in perfekt order. They were very helpful in setting up our umbrellas and sundbeds. The pool has a roof and nets around it which gives you shade so you can stay in the water as long as you want without getting roasted by the agressive sun. Good for children also. One thing that really bothered us was that repair work on the terrace was going on - after their noon brake ist was pretty noisy.
Beach: The hotel is sourrounded by a wall, nevertheless you can access the nice beach directly from the hotel. There is a door that takes your right to the beach. The beach ist long, big and nice. On the weekend crowded with locals - I saw a million joggers - seems to be very popular in Muscat (males only :=)
Location: You definitely need a car if you stay there as it is quiet a distance to downtown Muscat (to the Souq). By car no problem, by foot no way ! right next to the hotel is a smal plaza with some restaurants. It is nice to sit there in the evening an watch the Omanis show off. Unbelievable - they cruise the parking lot to show their big cars to everybody. We found it quite interesting to watch. Not far away right at the beach is a Starbucks - you can sit there, drink your latte and look at the ocean. Pretty cool.
Breakfast: The breakfast was very good. No buffet but they would serve you almost everything you want. Very friendly and helpful again !
All in all: I would definetly stay there again (with car). Compared to all the other very expensive hotels a good option, small hotel, good sevice, wonderful oceanview room. It was worth the money !

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LoveMunich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2012

Drove all the way from Abu Dhabi , to the Al Qurum Resort, i actuall worked in Muscat for 4.5 years , and never new much about the resort except for Feeny's bar. The rooms were very clean, service was great, no problems at all. I was amazed to discover that there are only 7 rooms , so make your resdervation early. Food excellent,

Room Tip: Room 102 has a great view, and is closse to the staris and elevator, AC great
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kieran H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
659reservations, Front Office Manager at Al Qurum Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2016

Dear Guest, Thank you for your appreciation. We are delighted to hear your pleasing review and we have upgraded three more rooms in our property so now we have total ten beautiful rooms. Thank you once again and see you very soon. Best Regards, David Fernandes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2012

Beautiful little resort, my son and I had reservation made via Venere.Com our night on May 2nd was great, beautiful room overlooking the sea with large balcony, we were leaving for a 5 days tour and coming back for one night at the resort ( on the 7th of May ) everything was confirmed by the receptionist that we would have the same room . At the end of our tour when we went to check in at the Al Qurum they advised us that we did not have a room ( their mistake without explication) and they had booked us at the Ramada closed by , a bigger hotel our room looking into a parking lot , no balcony. It was so disappointing as we were so excited to return to the Al Qurum for our last night in Oman. So I guess that booking through Venere.Com does not mean anything . Anything like this never happened with Booking.Com

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marjelaine a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2012

We stayed here for a night on my birthday. Good location for walks along the beach and there are a number of restaurants nearby. The staff were friendly and helpful and the breakfast delicious - we ate ours on the shared balcony outside the room with a lovely view of the sea. The night we were there, Shaggy performed in the gardens of the Inter-Continental next door. It was fun sitting on our balcony and watching the free show, reminiscing our teens, with a G&T!

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mjkens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2012

If you are looking for affordable accommodation in Muscat, save yourself the time and bother reading endless reviews, THIS IS THE ONE !!!
Nice clean rooms, fantastic breakfast, friendly staff, great location.
Due to our late flight and after 5 nights here they let us spend the last day around the pool and then gave us the use of the health club facilities before we left.
If I was to visit Muscat again, I would stay here again without hesitation.
My Wife & I Loved, not only here at the Al Qurum but in Muscat and Oman, the weather was warm but the people where even warmer a wonderful country !!!
Thank you All.

Room Tip: Beach View Room Would Be Preferable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank JMT33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2012

Warm, friendly atmosphere!!! Extremely assisting and helpful staff!!! Beautiful setting!!! Very conveniently situated!!! Meals of a high standard and excellently presented!!! Very clean and well prepared rooms!!! The PLACE to be in Oman!!!!!! Thank you for a exceptionally pleasent stay!!!!

Room Tip: We were in room 104 which was perfect for our needs!!! Did not see the other rooms of which there ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank roharda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Muscat hotels
1.3 mi away
Grand Hyatt Muscat
Grand Hyatt Muscat
#11 of 61 in Muscat
1,520 reviews
1.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Muscat
Crowne Plaza Muscat
#7 of 61 in Muscat
1,612 reviews
0.1 mi away
InterContinental Hotel Muscat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Muscat
4.2 mi away
The Chedi Muscat – a GHM hotel
3.5 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Muscat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Al Qurum Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Al Qurum Resort

Address: Muscat 112, Oman
Region: Oman > Muscat Governorate > Muscat
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Muscat
Price Range: £100 - £148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Al Qurum Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This boutique resort on Qurum beachfront offers air-conditioned rooms with a private balcony and views of Muscat or Arabian Gulf. The resort has its own continental restaurant and a garden with a pool.An LCD TV and safe are available in all of Al Qurum's hotel rooms. Each is equipped with a minibar, tea/coffee facilities and a private bathroom.A continental breakfast is served daily in Al Qurum resort's restaurant or on the sun terrace. There is also a bar for drinks and snacks.The on-site fitness centre offer guests an alternative to the beach and pool area. There are also a few souvenir shops and a business centre.Al Qurum is located 15 km from Seeb Airport. It is set nearby the shopping area of Jawahrat Al Shatti Complex. Free parking is available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com and HotelsClick so you can book your Al Qurum Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Al Qurum Hotel Muscat

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing