We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Acceptable for a short stay”
Review of Tulip Inn Muscat

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Tulip Inn Muscat
Ranked #22 of 62 Hotels in Muscat
Reviewed 17 April 2013

Our experience at Tulip Inn was consistent with most of the other reviewers. We were upgraded to a suite, which was large even by Middle East standards, but found a few problems which I wouldn’t expect from a four star hotel. I think a lot of it is due to the poor standard of customer service in Muscat in general.

Upon arriving at the hotel at 1am and parking my hire car, the front desk staff happily stood and watched while we struggled getting my bags through the door, and then ignored us when I greeted them!

After checking in, I realised we hadn’t been told anything about breakfast times and wifi access and the room had been set up for one person, with only one set of towels. I phoned reception and they sent up more towels and phoned me back a couple of hours later (3am) with a wifi password.

The wifi login can only be used on one device at a time, and there is a RO 3 charge for an additional password. You’ll need to ask the front desk staff to speak to the “IT Manager” to request this, as the first staff I spoke to said that it wasn’t possible to have a second login.
The sleep wasn’t great, as the air conditioners in the room were very noisy, and not suitable for a bedroom due to the glowing LED display.

There’s not much else I can say that hasn’t already been said before. There is a supermarket, TGI Fridays and KFC a few minutes walk from the hotel, as well as a couple of local shisha cafes and a Turkish kebab shop, which is good for a city where nothing is walkable. There is also a large, free carpark at the back of the hotel, so parking isn’t an issue.
Street names aren’t reliable in Muscat, and neither were the latest TomTom GPS maps, but the coordinates for the Tulip Inn car park are N 23.594976 and E 58.425475

If you don’t want to drive, licensed taxis are easily found outside the hotel. Ask at the reception desk and they’ll tell you the correct fare and arrange a car for you. It was RO 5 to the Intercontinental Hotel.

Overall, Tulip Inn isn’t a bad hotel as it is clean and there’s nothing particularly wrong it with. Just don’t expect the same level of service you’d have from a four star hotel in Dubai.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CallumLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (411)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

222 - 228 of 411 reviews

Reviewed 4 April 2013

Helpfull staff, I arrive 5am and they booked me in the room before 6am at no cost. Transport not at airport but after info phoned them they were there within 10 mins free transport. Breakfast very nice, you think you can have more the next day to be surprised with a new nice menu. Close walking distance to supermarket and restaurants. Good to organise day trips. Clean and comfortable room.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MACHUBODIE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2013

Stayed here with special offer three nights for the price of two. Can recommend, kind service, good breakfast, close to hypermarket and restaurants. In case you need taxi support, there is always available. No negative surprises, worth the price.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ramcees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2013

We stayed at the tulip inn as a stop over in oman . The hotel is nice and clean - good size bedroom 2 big bed very clean - buffet breakfast is good - free wifi - the staff at reception are super - friendly and very helpful there is a mall near by with a big supermarket - many restaurants also near by - the location isn't what expected, you need a car to go anywhere - taxi have fixed prices - we used the collective taxi and are really cheap, just put you hand out and they stop. People in Oman are really friendly and welcome tourists.
Oman isn't a great destination and would go back

Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
2  Thank fabrizioparmeggiani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2013

If you are looking for a decent hotel with a moderate price tag then this place ticks the boxes. I was given a suite which was the best bit, unusually the suite was less on rack rates than the superior room.
As with most hotels in the reasonable price range there are drawbacks - no swimming pool, no bar, and just the feel of less than top grade staff. Everyone was very helpful but the actual service levels came across a bit haphazard with less flexability than you would normally expect.
Decor was, as other contributors have mentioned, a little dated and quirky - but not unpleasant for a short stay.
The restaurant was OK, nothing to rave about but again, for a short business stay not bad.
It is worth mentioning that if you have a stamp for entry to UAE prior to arriving in Oman you dont have to buy a visa - I had an e-pass for Dubai and immigration charged me for a visa because there wasnt a stamp.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Keith1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2013

Conveniently located. Malls & restaurants within walking distance.
Family suite was compact but good . Nice, clean and well maintained.
Plasma TV with satellite channels
Good breakfast.
Nice friendly & helping staff.
Good choice with value for money.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank VarunSinha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2013

i ve been twice in tulip inn Muscate, nice hotel, rich breakfast, clean rooms, modern bathrooms. could be one of the good choices while you are in Muscate, price acceptable in a country where hotels are very expensive and can not understand why.. there is a mall next to hotel with a supermarket and many restaurants around.

Room Tip: Junior suite was huge
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank katiahayek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Muscat hotels
0.7 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Muscat
0.4 mi away
Ibis Muscat
Ibis Muscat
#11 of 62 in Muscat
675 reviews
0.9 mi away
Best Western Premier Muscat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Midan Hotel Suites, Muscat
8 mi away
Sheraton Oman Hotel
Sheraton Oman Hotel
#2 of 62 in Muscat
297 reviews
4.5 mi away
Coral Muscat Hotel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tulip Inn Muscat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tulip Inn Muscat

Address: Way 3504, Al Khuwair | PO Box 179, PC 102- Al Qurum, Muscat 113, Oman
Region: Oman > Muscat Governorate > Muscat
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 62 Hotels in Muscat
Price Range: £56 - £170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Tulip Inn Muscat 3*
Number of rooms: 153
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Tulip Inn Muscat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing