We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel to start a trip to Oman”
Review of Tulip Inn Muscat

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Tulip Inn Muscat
Ranked #22 of 62 Hotels in Muscat
Reviewed 7 January 2014

The hotel is a good place to start the journey to Oman. Rooms are acceptable, although we had a window on the inner court and thus no real daylight. If we would have stayed longer, we would have requested another room. The service is good and friendly. Reception staff went out of their way to help us with questions. The location is nearby the airport and at acceptable distance to major sights, although travelling to Muttrah by taxi will be somewhat costly. Taxi service of the hotel is excellent and at a good price (I was picked up from the airport and went to a car rental with them).

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the outside of the hotel, we had a room with a room on the innercourt and thus no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MaartenNLD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (411)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

184 - 190 of 411 reviews

Reviewed 6 January 2014

We stayed in this hotel in the beginning of our Oman Trip in December and decided to come back for the Christmas as we enjoyed our stay in this hotel.. First time we had a one bedroom suite and second time a studio. Both spacious, well appointed and very clean. The service was excellent, any issue was taken care immediately. Even Christmas music, Santa Claus and Christmas buffet was organized. Good breakfast buffet, airport shuttle and hotel own parking. Good location to explore Muscat, top restaurants and a super market nearby. Recommended!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fishfriend198400
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014

This hotel is way more "hotel" than the rates might suggest. It's elegant and clean with a unique style and decor that's all it's own. We appreciated the free upgrade to a suite..and that was because we booked through Hotels dot com. You may want to consider that. The room was very spacious, clean, and comfortable. The bathroom had two showers...nice! The staff were extremely helpful, courteous, and always smiling. And a smile is worth a million bucks when you're tired, hungry, and surrounded by unfamiliar places. There were a few, perhaps minor things, that my wife and I didn't like but I'll mention them here since it may be important to other travelers.
-driving directions to hotel not very clear. The hotel is located a block or so off the main highway and tucked away a bit. We passed by it several times without seeing it. Having driven 5 hours from Dubai to get there, we were looking forward to quickly finding the hotel and resting. But alas!
-once in the hotel, tired and weary, we were hungry and tried the hotel's only restaurant. OVER PRICED AND EMPTY ON A FRIDAY NIGHT! For the two of us it cost more than one night's stay at the hotel and the food was less than average. The buffet might have been good if it hadn't sat there for perhaps hours...but it is definitely over priced. Consider a short walk to numerous restaurants nearby which we only discovered the next day during a morning stroll.
-the internet, although free of charge which is much appreciated, was allowed to be had in only one device per room. So both my wife and I couldn't be online at the same time.
-the front of the hotel faces a back alley...trashy, dirty, and unsightly! Although the hotel can not do anything about this, it might be the reason why the rates are so "reasonable".
Overall we would recommend this hotel to friends and would stay there again should the occasion arise. Especially if you have a car since it's within a half hour drive of many attractions, many only minutes away.

Room Tip: Book through hotels.com for a free upgrade to a suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ed g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014

I got a room with 2 single beds and 2 TVs. There was safe, minifridge and electric kettle in room,
Bed was firm. There is no swimmingpool at hotel. Reception was a little slow. Breakfast was included and was good. There is a big supermarket 100 meter from hotel and several restaurants near by. I will recommend Begum (Indian), it has nice food and to a reasonable price (they do also delivery to the hotel). Subway and McD are also in the naborhood.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PerH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014

We had a very good experience at the Tulip Inn. We were upgraded to executive suite on arrival, which was a very comfortable two bedroom room which was spacious, well equiped and very clean. Location of hotel is very convenient for exploring Muscat, offers easy parking as welland is well surrounded by restaurants and shops.
Hotel has an ok gym, relatively small but high quality equipment.
Breakfast is fairly basic.
Would not recommend to pay extra for the eecutive lounge as it hardly adds value.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bas V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2013 via mobile

Even though the loudly decorated lobby makes you think that you will stay in a modern place. The rooms are adequate and traditional but the buffet is taste less and the hotel infrastructure is worn out and badly decorated. I do not recommend this hotel to others !

Stayed: March 2013
Thank William M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2013

We stayed 5 nights and enjoyed it. The Arabic style of the foyer made me smile every time I entered. It's great! The room was large and very comfortable, it even had a sofa. WiFi is reliable and secure. The beds are very comfortable. There are very good restaurants within walking distance. Try Foodlands in the next street for excellent Indian. Breakfast is comprehensive but not kept hot by the bain marie.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank keithy3242
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Muscat hotels
0.7 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Muscat
0.4 mi away
Ibis Muscat
Ibis Muscat
#11 of 62 in Muscat
674 reviews
0.9 mi away
Best Western Premier Muscat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Midan Hotel Suites, Muscat
8 mi away
Sheraton Oman Hotel
Sheraton Oman Hotel
#2 of 62 in Muscat
295 reviews
4.5 mi away
Coral Muscat Hotel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tulip Inn Muscat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tulip Inn Muscat

Address: Way 3504, Al Khuwair | PO Box 179, PC 102- Al Qurum, Muscat 113, Oman
Region: Oman > Muscat Governorate > Muscat
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 62 Hotels in Muscat
Price Range: £56 - £170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Tulip Inn Muscat 3*
Number of rooms: 153
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Tulip Inn Muscat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing