We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Impossible to sleep in very nice room”
Review of Tulip Inn Muscat

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Tulip Inn Muscat
Ranked #16 of 52 Hotels in Muscat
Kinrooi, Belgium
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Impossible to sleep in very nice room”
Reviewed 10 February 2014 via mobile

We had a nice suite on the 7th floor, BUT due to constant loud mechanical noise on the roof it was impossible to sleep. After informing the management, they seemed to be aware of the problem, but no action was taken. At check out time no compensation was granted. This is the most customer UN-friendly hotel I have ever visited This was my last visit to the golden tulip hotel chain.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
4 Thank Mathieu2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

395 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    91
    207
    85
    7
    5
See reviews for
67
113
34
108
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kumbakonam
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2014

Very good hotel where all the oman air hostess were also staying.

Enjoyed good breakfast

Fine experience of stay in that hotel.

Wi- fi internet connection was not available automatically. Probably, we have to make payment separately

Room Tip: All rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jayadasa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manama, Bahrain
Level Contributor
108 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2014

Overall a good hotel for the money. Stayed just for one night in January 2014. Rooms are spacious and stocked with complimentary bottled water and tea/coffee making facilities. Reasonable choice of TV channels plus addition of Bose Docking station. Only complaint about my room was A/c Compressor noise from outside my window. Breakfast was adequate and commensurate with this level of property. Would certainly stay here again for short stay/business trip.

Room Tip: Ask for one that does not have the A/c compressors just outside your window
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PaulClabburn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Wien, Austria
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2014

Coming to the Hotel late at night we got an upgrade to a very beautiful executive room. What a nice surprise :) The Service was good and the breakfast buffet nice. The Hotel is very good value for money

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barbara E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, England
Level Contributor
123 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 209 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014

I stayed at this hotel for two nights in early January 2014 prior to visiting other parts of Oman, and as my introduction to the country I can only say that it was excellent in every regard.

I had a suite of some sort on the 7th floor (the executive floor). It was very large, and in addition to the bedroom area, also had two sitting areas -- one with a sofa and chair, the other with a table and two chairs -- plus two desks, TV console, coffee table, etc. The bathroom had both a bath and a shower. The decor of the room, like that of the lobby and the restaurant, contained enough elements of Arab bling to keep me happy!: gold lamp standards, blingy chandeliers, glittery cushions, tiny glass tulips on all the hooks for the curtain tie-backs, diamante-studded occasional tables, puffy purple chairs... The suite also contained every amenity a guest could need: coffee machine, kettle, supply of coffee and tea, safe, shoe-cleaner, toiletries (including dental kit, shaver kit and shower cap), writing paper and envelopes, a notepad and pen...

Service here was very nice indeed; receptionists were friendly and helpful, the restaurant staff were extremely efficient and willing to assist, room service was prompt and food was not bad, and the whole place was spotlessly clean.

This hotel is also in an area that is very convenient for restaurants; I particularly liked a Kerala (Indian) restaurant nearby that is called Highland Restaurant. There are plenty of other decent eateries around, though, plus cafes and juice bars. It's not too far to drive to the airport, or through to Muscat Old Town, Mattrah or Ruwi.

Parking at the rear of the hotel is free.

I had a great stay here for two days, and if I were to fly into Muscat again I would certainly use the Tulip Inn as a base once again. It doesn't have a pool or garden, which is why it was given only 3* by the government, but if you want a base to be in the city, or you're on business, and don't need a pool, then this is a great place to base yourself.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms on the left of the hotel as you face the front door; the building on the other side of t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Quentin1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014

The hotel is a good place to start the journey to Oman. Rooms are acceptable, although we had a window on the inner court and thus no real daylight. If we would have stayed longer, we would have requested another room. The service is good and friendly. Reception staff went out of their way to help us with questions. The location is nearby the airport and at acceptable distance to major sights, although travelling to Muttrah by taxi will be somewhat costly. Taxi service of the hotel is excellent and at a good price (I was picked up from the airport and went to a car rental with them).

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the outside of the hotel, we had a room with a room on the innercourt and thus no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MaartenNLD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oulu, Finland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014

We stayed in this hotel in the beginning of our Oman Trip in December and decided to come back for the Christmas as we enjoyed our stay in this hotel.. First time we had a one bedroom suite and second time a studio. Both spacious, well appointed and very clean. The service was excellent, any issue was taken care immediately. Even Christmas music, Santa Claus and Christmas buffet was organized. Good breakfast buffet, airport shuttle and hotel own parking. Good location to explore Muscat, top restaurants and a super market nearby. Recommended!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fishfriend198400
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Muscat hotels
0.4 mi away
Ibis Muscat
Ibis Muscat
#13 of 52 in Muscat
539 reviews
0.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Muscat
1.5 mi away
Midan Hotel Suites, Muscat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Muscat
1.7 mi away
The Chedi Muscat – a GHM hotel
0.1 mi away
City Seasons Hotel Muscat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tulip Inn Muscat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tulip Inn Muscat

Property: Tulip Inn Muscat
Address: Way 3504, Al Khuwair | PO Box 179, PC 102- Al Qurum, Muscat 113, Oman
Region: Oman > Muscat Governorate > Muscat
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 52 Hotels in Muscat
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Tulip Inn Muscat 3*
Number of rooms: 153
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Tulip Inn Muscat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing