We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for Money”
Review of Samara Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Samara Hotel
Ranked #27 of 60 Hotels in Muscat
Reviewed 10 January 2014

Centrally located.Service is very good.Stayed there for four days with family. Staff were very much obliged. In fact they have installed TV channel set off box to view our favourite TV programmes.

Only area where the improvement required is restaurant. You have wait for fillings ( breakfast) because invariably you will see an empty food container. Otherwise it is a good hotel to stay.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaddyDee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (108)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

46 - 52 of 108 reviews

Reviewed 8 January 2014

Good ok spacious room equipped with most of the standard equipment: desk, closet, hairdryer, shampoo, soap, cable (or satelite) tv, good and stable internet, comfortable beds. The staff is really nice and helpful. Location is good as it is located right between old muscat and the airport. Easy to grab a cab just outside - and easy for cabs to find as it is right next to the Al Zawawi Mosque. 3-4 R to Ash Shati Beach - and 5-6R to old Muscat/the marina.

It is great value considering the price - 68$ for twin room (79$ incl the 17% tax/service) equal to 34 (39,5$) per person per night. We got that deal from agoda, and I would recommend going through this site as they by far is the cheapest site..

Things to note: water pressure is not the best for the 2nd person showering, no tea/coffee in room, not really a reading light just - the always charming - neon light in the ceiling. Also remember to ask for login details in the lobby - it works for 24 hours.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Marie V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2013

I was surprised about the expensive rates of hotels in Muscat when I wanted to visit this beautiful city with my family (total of 7), so I opted for this hotel since it was one of the highest in ranking in TripAdvisor.
I sent the management an e-mail and they gave me a special discounted price for two large suites including breakfast.
To be honest, the hotel could do with better furniture and better cleaning, but it was acceptable and the staff were very nice.
Breakfast was average and toilets somewhat small and as I said before could do with better cleaning.
Location was great and we had one of the rooms with a view to one of the largest mosques in town which had a big green grass area that almost looked like a park.
I went with my own car and had at times difficulties with parking since there isn't much space.
All-in-all, I would say it was a pleasant stay.
If you are limited on budget yet need plenty of space, then Yes, go for this hotel.

Room Tip: Try to get a room facing the nearby mosque... very nice indeed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ISMAEL-DOHA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

This is a simple, clean but good value hotel. Approx $ 45 per room night. Privately run place, approx 15 mins cab ride from the airport. Restaurant is not very good but there are lots of local eateries in walking distance. Suitable for business visits only: Not suitable for leisure travel or with families. Very nice staff and management.

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room- they are a bit bigger
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2013

Enjoyed a very comfortable 2 night stay. Excellent and efficient welcome and check-in, just what was needed after a late arrival. Room was simply comfortable and everything you needed without the frills. Good working spaces in the room, excellent WiFi connection, and decent shower in the morning. You do get some noise from the corridor, and rooms above when furniture is being moved around. But not a major when you hit the comfortable bed for sleep. Breakfast was simple, but covers the basics and enough to fuel up for the day. All in all a good value, comfortable, clean, well run and well located hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravelerSPK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2013

I booked at last minute and got an upgrade to a larger room. Indian welcome style at the reception but a quick and swift night check-in. Good value for money, clean room, clean bathroom, free Internet access, no noise issues. Excellent solution if you look for a room after a late flight arrival as it is situated between Seeb Airport and Muscat/Mutrah/Ruwi. Nice restaurants in Al-Khuwair district but you you do need to move farther to the neighborhood of the Radisson Blu hotel which is only a 5 minutes distance in taxi/car. There is a nice large Middle Eastern bakery down the street along the main Road (30 seconds walking distance !).

Stayed: March 2013, travelled solo
Thank perks787
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2013

Everything was fine..location..close to airport...although not many restaurants around. Rooms clean, comfortable bed, quiet area...slept well. But the one thing that spoiled all the good was smoke from another room that filtered through the ventilation system and forced us to close the bathroom door. They should be more vigilant about the smoking policy.Remember breakfast not incl. in price.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leanaa1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Muscat hotels
2.0 mi away
Muscat Dunes Hotel
Muscat Dunes Hotel
#34 of 60 in Muscat
55 reviews
0.9 mi away
Ibis Muscat
Ibis Muscat
#16 of 60 in Muscat
603 reviews
2.0 mi away
Midan Hotel Suites, Muscat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Best Western Premier Muscat
9.7 mi away
Pioneer Hotel Apartments
Pioneer Hotel Apartments
#22 of 60 in Muscat
74 reviews
8.4 mi away
Delmon Hotel Apartments
Delmon Hotel Apartments
#33 of 60 in Muscat
90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Samara Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Samara Hotel

Address: Al Khuwair Street, Muscat, Oman
Region: Oman > Muscat Governorate > Muscat
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 60 Hotels in Muscat
Price Range: £33 - £50 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Samara Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, HotelsClick, Ebookers and Hotels.com so you can book your Samara Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing