We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very adequate”
Review of Samara Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Samara Hotel
Ranked #30 of 63 Hotels in Muscat
Reviewed 20 February 2014

We stayed at the hotel in between connecting flights and it is a good place, 15 minutes from the airport. They provide free wifi and breakfast is not included. For a touch of islam, there is a mosque pretty close which tends to wake you up in the morning.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank iWiebe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (112)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

44 - 50 of 112 reviews

Reviewed 12 February 2014

+ basic but very clean, spacious rooms
+ good value for money (good offers on booking.com)
+ location is good: lots of restaurants and a big mall near by
- call to prayer wakes you up in the morning
- room is not that quiet (voices from the corridor and other rooms could keep you awake)

If you are only looking for a clean place to sleep in, this is your choice!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elinatuuliav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2014

The Samara is a modest, clean hotel with a very nice staff. From the moment we checked in to now (this is our 4th night) we have been impressed with everyone. Qatar Airlines lost our luggage and the staff did everything to help us get it back. They kept calling the airport without us asking. The little restaurant has excellent Turkish coffee. The room is clean. The only issue is the water pressure and hot and cold spurts while showering! But who really cares! Our room faced a huge and at night illuminated mosque. We were woken by the early morning prayer...pretty nice way to wake up! We did not care since Muscat is a day city and not much to do at night city. Just buy a bottle of liquor before arriving and relax at the hotel. Great price in a very expensive city and most taxi drivers know the hotel name so no problems getting around.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the mosque!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MikeandXiaoHong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2014

Nice spacious rooms, the top ones even have sea view. Housekeeping service was very efficient, the room was very clean. Nearby are a couple of restaurants, an awesome Iranian buffet is just down the road. If you are coming by car from the airport, you will get mad finding the road that leads to the hotel. Although it doesn't make any sense, you have to drive way past the hotel and take the turn-off to Zakher Shopping Mall and then drive all the way back on the street that runs parallel to the highway, Dohat Al Adab. On this street, you drive until you reach the Ibis Hotel. Then it's a right turn and another immediate right turn. Took me 2 hours to figure that one out ;-) The restaurant in the hotel is not recommendable.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cheftrainer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2014

Centrally located.Service is very good.Stayed there for four days with family. Staff were very much obliged. In fact they have installed TV channel set off box to view our favourite TV programmes.

Only area where the improvement required is restaurant. You have wait for fillings ( breakfast) because invariably you will see an empty food container. Otherwise it is a good hotel to stay.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaddyDee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014

Good ok spacious room equipped with most of the standard equipment: desk, closet, hairdryer, shampoo, soap, cable (or satelite) tv, good and stable internet, comfortable beds. The staff is really nice and helpful. Location is good as it is located right between old muscat and the airport. Easy to grab a cab just outside - and easy for cabs to find as it is right next to the Al Zawawi Mosque. 3-4 R to Ash Shati Beach - and 5-6R to old Muscat/the marina.

It is great value considering the price - 68$ for twin room (79$ incl the 17% tax/service) equal to 34 (39,5$) per person per night. We got that deal from agoda, and I would recommend going through this site as they by far is the cheapest site..

Things to note: water pressure is not the best for the 2nd person showering, no tea/coffee in room, not really a reading light just - the always charming - neon light in the ceiling. Also remember to ask for login details in the lobby - it works for 24 hours.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Marie V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2013

I was surprised about the expensive rates of hotels in Muscat when I wanted to visit this beautiful city with my family (total of 7), so I opted for this hotel since it was one of the highest in ranking in TripAdvisor.
I sent the management an e-mail and they gave me a special discounted price for two large suites including breakfast.
To be honest, the hotel could do with better furniture and better cleaning, but it was acceptable and the staff were very nice.
Breakfast was average and toilets somewhat small and as I said before could do with better cleaning.
Location was great and we had one of the rooms with a view to one of the largest mosques in town which had a big green grass area that almost looked like a park.
I went with my own car and had at times difficulties with parking since there isn't much space.
All-in-all, I would say it was a pleasant stay.
If you are limited on budget yet need plenty of space, then Yes, go for this hotel.

Room Tip: Try to get a room facing the nearby mosque... very nice indeed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ISMAEL-DOHA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Muscat
9.1 mi away
Delmon Hotel Apartments
Delmon Hotel Apartments
#39 of 63 in Muscat
89 reviews
1.5 mi away
Muscat Dunes Hotel
Muscat Dunes Hotel
#33 of 63 in Muscat
60 reviews
0 mi away
Crystal Suites
Crystal Suites
#37 of 63 in Muscat
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Midan Hotel Suites, Muscat
10.4 mi away
Pioneer Hotel Apartments
Pioneer Hotel Apartments
#27 of 63 in Muscat
81 reviews
12.5 mi away
Oman Palm Hotel Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Samara Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Samara Hotel

Address: Al Khuwair Street, Muscat, Oman
Region: Oman > Muscat Governorate > Muscat
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 63 Hotels in Muscat
Price Range: £33 - £63 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Samara Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Samara Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing