We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good but not great”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Tuscany

Tuscany
Ranked #59 of 399 Restaurants in Muscat
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
125 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Good but not great”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

Went there with my wife as she had a craving for Italian food. When she asked if they could do a seafood linguini they said sorry it was the first night of a new menu. Seeing that there was a linguini on the menu I thought was not encouraging. Shared an octopus entre which was tender but while nice didn't set the world on fire. The mains were a fairly average seafood risotto where the tomato seemed too dominant and the rice at risk of being undercooked. My ravioli in the squid stew was interesting. It was light and delicate but again the combination didn't quite work for me. Had a couple of glasses of the house Riesling which was drinkable. Service was very good. At just under 50 rial I wouldn't be rushing back.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Syd M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    75
    30
    10
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Netherlands
Level Contributor
221 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 217 helpful votes
“disappointing”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

In the Middle East you expect good restaurants with excellent service in the top hotels. This is how we entered the Tuscany at the Hyatt Muscat. But we (group of 5) are all disappointed. The food was not bad, bot also not what you expect. It was average. But the service was really disappointing. Example: 4 main courses appeared together, the 5th person had to wait more than 5 minutes before his dish appeared. When we complained they told us "sorry sir, the kitchen was really busy". They provided us a free desert, for the inconvenience, which was nice. But in a well managed restaurant this would never happen.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank flyingdutchmannl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
402 reviews
272 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 246 helpful votes
“Surprisingly Excellent Italian”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014 via mobile

Business lunch here last week for four.
Excellent service and very authentic Italian food presented in very lovely surroundings.
I had Beef Carpaccio and Fillet and they were both excellent.
I didn't pay so I have no idea of the final bill but to be sure it was unlikely to be cheap!
Highly recommended and I will certainly go again.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank timchambola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
224 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Authentic Italian”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2014

Go for the antipasta beef carpaccio and then the Tuna! The wine is nice but expensive so this is a special occasion meal.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank KEVIN R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“top italian”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2014

Without a doubt , one of the best restaurants in Middle EAst...great food and service, incredible wine list, elegance at its best

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank giansardo77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tuscany also viewed

Muscat, Muscat Governorate
Muscat, Muscat Governorate
 
Muscat, Muscat Governorate
Muscat, Muscat Governorate
 

Been to Tuscany? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing