We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Upcoming landmark” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Almouj Golf

Almouj Golf
Ranked #16 of 64 Outdoor Activities in Muscat
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: International golfing legend Greg Norman is responsible for the magnificent design of the 18 hole, par 72 championship golf course at Almouj Golf.With 36 golf projects currently in progress worldwide, The Shark, as he is affectionately known, visited the site back in 2006 and could instantly see in his mind's eye the course that he wanted to create. After carefully studying the topography and weather conditions of the site, and using his years of experience playing top golf courses around the globe, Greg and his associates from Greg Norman Design produced an inspiring plan.The new Greg Norman course offers truly unique characters with each hole offering something different from the last. He and his design team were mindful of maintaining the panorama of the ocean and the spectacular vista of the Hajar Mountains. On a clear day you almost feel as if you can touch the mountains.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Upcoming landmark”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014

Great project to be the best of it's kind. I visited the place on the way from hotel to the airport. few restaurants are working, like Shakespeare. Came to know that few 5 and 4 * hotels are due to open in this area. then it will be just WOW landmark.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank ABDULLAH F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    34
    10
    3
    3
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Double Oak, Texas
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice Links style course.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014

This is a much better golf course than the Muscat Hills Course and if you enjoy links style golf this is a rare treat for the Middle East.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank shawtech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Almouj_Golf, Director of Sales at Almouj Golf, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Dear Shawtech,

Thank you for your review. Having traveled so far to get here, we are happy that you have left Oman having had a pleasant experience at Almouj Golf.

I do hope your tour of Oman was a pleasant one too, with good memories and photos to take home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Muscat, Oman
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Golf brunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

Nice relaxed golf, good food, friendly people, also very good for beginners to learn the game, the training facility is good.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Almouj_Golf, Director of Sales at Almouj Golf, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Dear Paul,

Thank you for your review. It is always a humbling to hear we have provided a pleasurable experience for our visitors. We aim to consistently provide a high level of satisfaction on and off the golf course.

Thank you for letting us know we are still on track.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Casablanca, Morocco
Level Contributor
63 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“I don't play golf but I love the place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

I have never played golf but I really like the place. I had a chance to walk around (and to drive around in those little golf cars!) and it's a beautiful place.

In Oman, where greenery is a rare sight, the greenery of the place is very relaxing. It's right on the sea so the views are great too.

And they have a lovely restaurant with both a la carte and BBQ buffet. The food is excellent and the staff are very attentive.

If you want something different, a bit up class, quiet and relaxing - this is the place.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank CanBe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Almouj_Golf, Director of Sales at Almouj Golf, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Dear CanBe

Thank you for your review. It was an early decision for Almouj Golf to offer, not only the best golfing experience but to share some of that experience with non-golfers as well. Offering great service and food and, unique to Almouj Golf, a tour of the golf course with it's stunning views. Not to forget Try Golf sessions, hint, hint CanBe.

We hope your review will encourage more to share this unique experience with us. We look forward to providing you the best of our service and views soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedfordshire, England
Level Contributor
104 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 204 helpful votes
“Breathtaking”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014

This course needs to be seen to be believed. It is so beautiful, and also almost manicured. There are some wonderful holes, a number of them challenging such as over gullies. Many of them however are less challenging and within the grasp of most reasonable golfers.

And then there are couple of greens which are just stunning. They stretch into the sea, the whole of the course runs down the coast, but a couple of them actually go into the sea so that any bad shot, you say goodbye to your ball.

There is a very nice clubhouse, we had dinner there one evening and it was reasonably priced for Oman. 11 Omani Rials is cheap for a bottle of wine I can assure you. Also sitting there whilst the sun went down over the driving range was quite beautiful. Also it has a nine hole course which is floodlit, and you can therefore go round late into the evening. The opening hole is so intimidating, but don't worry it gets better.

It is not cheap, £150 for two people to go around the course sounds expensive, but they realise most people playing will come from abroad so that figure includes shoe hire, club hire and a cart. So overall not terribly expensive, and worth paying for one of the most beautiful golf courses you will ever see.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Alan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Almouj_Golf, Director of Sales at Almouj Golf, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Thank you, Notalamb, for visiting Almouj Golf and taking the time to write about us. We are happy to hear you had an enjoyable time with us.

We are overwhelmed by the great reviews of the course and facilities from all who have written. Your reviews are the best way to confirm the level of satisfaction we strive to provide here at Almouj Golf.

We hope you will visit Oman and Almouj Golf again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Almouj Golf also viewed

Muscat, Muscat Governorate
 
Muscat, Muscat Governorate
Muscat, Muscat Governorate
 

Been to Almouj Golf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing