We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“On the Decline”
Review of Bait Al-Baranda

Bait Al-Baranda
Book In Advance
More Info
US$162.00*
and up
Private Full-Day Muscat Tour with Lunch
More Info
US$228.00*
and up
Small Group Half Day Tour: Classic Muscat Sultan Qaboos Grand Mosque
Ranked #26 of 86 things to do in Muscat
Attraction details
Muscat, Oman
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“On the Decline”
Reviewed 2 December 2013

I visited Bait Al Baranda about 3 years ago and I really enjoyed it. It was really informative and interesting.
I was very keen to re-visit it this year and took a few friends with me however we ended up being quite disappointed. The first issue we ran into was parking. We went on a weekday and had the hardest time finding a place to park.
The best part of the whole visit was the lovely Omani man at the welcome desk who was very interested in where we were from and who gave us pamphlets.
I would say the place just felt like it had been left for three years and stripped of the information. Most of the displays had no information about the pictures or display or they were broken. The displays which did have information were okay. A lot of the video/sound displays weren't working while we were there and the lights weren't even on so we had to read the signs by the light of our phones.
We loved the before and after pictures of Muscat but again, there were no dates next to them nor any description of where the photo was taken or of what.
This place has so much potential but it is let down by the lack of care and attention to detail. If you have no idea about the history of Oman, I would still recommend a visit (after all, entry is only OR 1) since it will give you an idea of how modern day Muscat came to be.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank OmaniKiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    43
    26
    4
    1
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Muscat, Oman
Level 6 Contributor
322 reviews
67 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
“Panoramic view of Oman's rich History”
Reviewed 26 November 2013

Since the geological times through pre-historic human settlements all the way to the modern history and a brief but thorough journey within the resent history and current dynasty. Some interesting maps , archeological pieces and Omani traditional customes as well.

A 45 minutes of a very educational pleasure definitely worth it

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank FIbrahim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Best small museueum of muscat”
Reviewed 9 November 2013

well worth a couple of hours for the history of Oman, relations with maritime UK, France thro' centuries, Portuguese occupation and etc etc ;

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank whynotnic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Good insights into Omani culture”
Reviewed 7 November 2013

Spent almost 2 hours here looking at the history of Muscat and learnt heaps about the culture, dress and was most informative.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chorzow, Poland
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“History of Muscat and Oman in a modern way”
Reviewed 18 October 2013

You can find a lot of Muscat history, tradition in that museum presented in a modern way - there are interactive screen, tests, presentations, videos. It is not allowed to make the pictures there but you can try to keep everything in your memory :) In overall I can say that this is a worth to see museum. It is located close to Mutrah suq so you can visit it as a break in the shopping.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank grzadam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bait Al-Baranda also viewed

Muscat, Muscat Governorate
 
Muscat, Muscat Governorate
 

Been to Bait Al-Baranda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing