We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely ambience,average food”
Review of The Jungle

The Jungle
Ranked #28 of 402 Restaurants in Muscat
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$37
Cuisines: Indian, Asian, International, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View, Groups, Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Located in the heart of Muscat, next to Qurum National Park, The Jungle is a casual dining restaurant designed with a tropical rainforest theme amid lush foliage. Guests enter the restaurant through the 'jungle' itself complete with rain, thunder and lightning effects and the sounds of a roaring dinosaur, chirping birds and other native animal noises.
Muscat, Oman
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Lovely ambience,average food”
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Visited this place for a family dinner..Loved the ambience especially it being very different from the other places in Muscat.However there were very few options for vegetarians and it was very average....
overall,one time experience

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank vrishtigarg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

426 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    195
    130
    56
    16
    29
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Muscat, Oman
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A cool nest amidst jungle settings”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Actually we have frequented this restaurant 4 times in the 6 months. Starting with the entry into the restaurant , it's magical for the kids as they see croc, monkey and other animals as if real in a forest setting. As you enter there is an ambience , a connect with nature. We are vegans but there is enough and more choices. Dal makhani is breath taking and along with rice is Yum and so is their spicy mushroom dish. Their mock tails are innovative. The Indian breads are prepared very tasty especially stuffed ones. On the whole wholesome satisfying experience.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 1966Doctor1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alassio
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Very lower experience ”
Reviewed 5 May 2014 via mobile

Only the locations it's was nice with a good atmosphere but just entry you can feel a smell of meat on grill.
We order 2 fillets and 1 pad thai as starter and after 20 minute one waitress ( only two on Saturday dinner time) gives us a starter without drinks that we already order. When we ask the drinks she asked us if we need in that moment.... (????)
So the experience was very disappointed and the service was inconsistent.
I think we never come back.

Helpful?
Thank Leonardo D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Average food but good place”
Reviewed 16 April 2014

Good place especially for kids, where they can enjoy the tropical rain forest setting at the entrance and enjoy the birds chirping and sounds of other animals. Also the replicas of different animals are placed outside where a constant artificial drizzle is arranged. interior of the restaurant is also nice. Food is average and some dishes are even below average. especially all the gravy dishes are below standard and below average. BBQ is comparatively better but not mouth watering. Its bit expensive also. But definitely worth One Visit.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Mughal06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Muscat Governorate, Oman
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Stay away from the drinks”
Reviewed 19 March 2014

That said, the rest of the menu is quite good. I have been there twice and will go again. The steak is especially good. It comes on a sizzle platter that keeps the food hot for the entire meal! You can even order your steak medium rare and cook it to medium doneness (I know it's not a word, but you know what I mean) yourself. Leave it on the platter long enough and you can even satisfy those in the party who like their steak well done!

I've also tried the skewers that are on the menu, and can recommend them, as well. You may not love meat as much as I do, but, if you do, the Jungle is a place to try.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ConorO_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Jungle also viewed

Muscat, Muscat Governorate
Muscat, Muscat Governorate
 
Muscat, Muscat Governorate
Muscat, Muscat Governorate
 

Been to The Jungle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing