We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely view over small cove”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Muscat
Ranked #6 of 50 Hotels in Muscat
Certificate of Excellence
farnham common
Level Contributor
299 reviews
178 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 195 helpful votes
“Lovely view over small cove”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2011

The hotel is a little worn. But service was good and food was excellent. Pool very welcoming. Free bus shuttle to nearby places.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JandJFarnhamCommon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RonnyFFOM_CPMuscat, Manager at Crowne Plaza Muscat, responded to this review, 5 April 2011
Thank you for your comments and we hope to be able to welcome you to the Crowne Plaza again very soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,471 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    623
    659
    135
    39
    15
See reviews for
280
498
80
370
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (408)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2011

Rooms were satisfactory given that other accommodations could be had a far greater price but without the view from atop the bluff that overlooks the beaches north along the coastline up to the airport. The beach strand is accessible -- the cruising by locals is entertaining to say the least. Concierge desk very helpful in identifying sights to see and what not to waste time on. Breakfast buffet had great choices, service excellent. Would not hesitate to return to enjoy more of Muscat.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ExCaliforniaGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RonnyFFOM_CPMuscat, Manager at Crowne Plaza Muscat, responded to this review, 5 April 2011
We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to welcome you back very soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2010

Just back from a stay here, the hotel was very good and the staff very friendly and helpful. The location of the hotel was great and the shuttle bus into town and to the local shops was good.
The massage in the gym area was very good and the gym area was easy to use and well maintained with staff on hand to assist.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LotteLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RonnyFFOM_CPMuscat, Manager at Crowne Plaza Muscat, responded to this review, 5 April 2011
Thank you for taking the time to post your review of our hotel and your stay.

We are delighted that our services enhanced your period in Muscat and hope to be able to welcome you back very soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Divonne-les-Bains, France
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2010

We spent 2 nights in this courageous hotel. In particular the staff was very courteous, welcoming and helpful. We got an upgrade to a nice room with balcony overlooking the sea without us even asking. Also we were allowed to check out much later than normal (we had a late evening flight), which was great. The hotel is on a beautiful spot overlooking the sea, with its own private beach, and, of course, a large pool with poolside bar. Breakfast was great with quite a choice of all kinds of delicious foods and fresh drinks. We can recommend this hotel highly.
Stefanie and Frans

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 0450frans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RonnyFFOM_CPMuscat, Manager at Crowne Plaza Muscat, responded to this review, 5 April 2011
Thank you for your comments. We have passed on your comments our team members - especially to our chefs !

Please visit us again when you are next in Muscat
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Divonne-les-Bains, France
Level Contributor
74 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2010

We booked a standard room for 2 nights at the Crowne Plaza at the end of a 10 day holiday. On arrival at midnight, the reception staff were extremly helpful, and as the hotel was not full, we were given an upgraded room with sea view and terrace.The room was large, airy, fantastic views of the sea, city and mountains and such a relief to have light coloured furnishings instead of the usual dark , sombre colours the Intercontinental hotel group usually has.
The staff could not have been more helpful through out our stay - for information about the city, help with airline problems, transport - even recharging my phone for me as I had lost the charger.
The hotel does not have the glitz of some of the other luxury hotels in Muscat - but if you want a non- pretenious, comfortable place to to stay with great staff - this is it!

Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Rafiki99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RonnyFFOM_CPMuscat, Manager at Crowne Plaza Muscat, responded to this review, 5 April 2011
Your review of our hotel is very much appreciated and we are grateful that you have taken the time to submit it.

We hope to be able to welcome you back very soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
109 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2010

loved muscat and will return, only problem is hotels are so expensive. This hotel is in a perfect location 15 mins away from the main city not too far from airport and beautiful view of the beach and coast, so would stay again, had the most amazing lunch in the Italian one of the best meals in a hotel restaurant in the Middle East, highly recommend it. Lunch by the pool is great, but unless you want to be reminded of your local and pub quiz avoid the Duke Pub. All the hotel staff were lovely and friendly even the gardeners. We did not have breakfast as up early both days but am sure the standard was just as good.

  • Stayed November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank charlietraveler57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RonnyFFOM_CPMuscat, Manager at Crowne Plaza Muscat, responded to this review, 5 April 2011
Thank you for your comments - we will certainly pass your compliments onto our Italian Chef.

We hope to be able to welcome you back to Muscat very soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
877 reviews
222 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 853 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2010

We decided to have one night in a really nice hotel after 10 days touring Oman and staying in economy accomodation.

The Crown Plaza is indeed a very nice hotel. Very friendly staff on check in, and happy to extend check out till 2pm for free as we were not flying till late on the chack out day. Room very comfortable and clean with a wonderfully huge tv set. Beds very cosy and offered a wonderfull nights sleep.

The Hotels position is a big selling point - its small priviate beach down a flight of steps was wonderfull and allowed us an afternoon of secluded rest by the sea. The Hotel pool is nice if a little small. Acres of free car parking spaces are another plus.

As we did not fly out of Seeb untill midnight we were faced with needing somewhere to change for the flight, and somewhere to leave our luggage for the day. In these regards the hotel was excellent - used the poolside changing rooms to shower and change and there is free left luggage.

On the negative side one has to pay for the wifi - granted one gets 30min free - however in all the budget hotels we stayed in - even out in the sticks - it was free unlimited wifi. Paying a premium price should bring with it positives as opposed to negatives. Secondly we booked accomodation only. There are some very tempting and varied eating options in the Hotel - Italian, buffet etc etc but the cost is difficult to justify compared with the cost of a good meal downtown. We did not partake as we thought the food was too expensive and bette cheaper options are available elsewhere. Thirdly, and I suppose this is a matter of taste - the Hotel didnt have much of an Omani feel to it. Years ago I stayed at the Intercontinental and it had a very strong Omani feel to it - this hotel seems a little too sanitised. This is, as I said, is personal taste.

Overall though this is a well apointed hotel, friendly staff, clean, efficient with a loveley priviate beach.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Me_n_my_rucksack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RonnyFFOM_CPMuscat, Manager at Crowne Plaza Muscat, responded to this review, 5 April 2011
We are extremely fortunate that our hotel is located in such a prime position in Muscat and recieve superb comments about the views, terraces and gardens.

We hope you enjoyed your stay in Muscat and that you may have the time to revisit Oman very soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Muscat hotels
2.8 mi away
Grand Hyatt Muscat
Grand Hyatt Muscat
#7 of 50 in Muscat
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,341 reviews
5.6 mi away
The Chedi Muscat – a GHM hotel
1.4 mi away
InterContinental Hotel Muscat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 mi away
Al Bustan Palace, A Ritz-Carlton Hotel
1.3 mi away
Coral Muscat Hotel & Apartments
4.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Muscat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Muscat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Muscat

Property: Crowne Plaza Muscat
Address: Qurum Heights | Po. Box 1455, Muscat 112, Oman
Phone Number:
Region: Oman > Muscat Governorate > Muscat
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Muscat
#3 Business Hotel in Muscat
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Muscat
#4 Spa Hotel in Muscat
#6 Luxury Hotel in Muscat
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Muscat 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Check into an elegant seaside hotel in Oman's thriving capital with a private beach and easy access to local businesses. The dazzling Crowne Plaza(R) Muscat hotel looks out across the turquoise waters of the Gulf of Oman from a lush clifftop in fashionable Qurum Heights. With a panoramic terrace, pool and private beach, the hotel is just a 20-minute drive from Muscat International Airport and steps from Qurum Beach with its café-lined promenade. Oman's main business and ministerial districts are 10 minutes away. Families and couples can sunbathe on the private beach and swim in a pool set in leafy gardens alive with bougainvillea and date palms. After exploring ancient Muttrah Souq and Corniche, you can savor a cool drink in our English-style Dukes Bar as the sun dips into the Gulf. For dinner, how about Italian, Persian, or lavish buffets on the terrace of Tropicana with stunning sea views? Business travelers enjoy the hotel's relaxed vibe and convenient services such as complimentary Wi-Fi and parking, 24-hour room service and a Concierge who can pre-arrange taxi fares. After work, you can re-energize in the Cliff Club Fitness Center, challenge colleagues to a game of tennis or squash and de-stress in the sauna or steam room with our compliments. With 200 stylish rooms and a convenient, prestigious location in Oman, you'll find Crowne Plaza Muscat an ideal hotel for productive business and enjoyable leisure time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crowne Plaza Muscat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Muscat Hotel Muscat
Muscat Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing