We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for a short business trip stay.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
InterContinental Hotel Muscat
Ranked #15 of 60 Hotels in Muscat
Reviewed 16 January 2013

Hotel exterior is very old and hides a shabby chic interior. Check in very efficient and polite. I share with other TA reports that the rooms are very outdated and require refurbishing. My own issue with these hotels are they have no mixing taps for a shower and as such it is a constant battle to maintian a constant temperature. Service throughtout was hit and miss..some days very good and others not so good. The beds are not comfortable and with rather hard mattresses. Trader Vics is a good place to hang out with live Cuban band and cocktails but it is very expensive so if on a budget beware of athe additional taxes and service charges to your bill. Breakfast buffet was ok and plenty of choice. If you like your coffee make it fresh from the machine and not the jugs they bring around. All in all a good stay and relaxing ambiance by pools.

Room Tip: I had a mountain view but I would go for room on highest floor next time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KEVIN R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,166)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

840 - 846 of 1,166 reviews

Reviewed 2 January 2013

The hotel itself is a fairly standard, international chain hotel, set in fairly large and well-kept grounds that include a couple of swimming pools, tennis courts, etc. We had lunch at the Tomato café beside the leisure pool one day, which was ok if slightly expensive. The rooms were fine and had tea/coffee making facilities. The shower was surprisingly poor.
The hotel is right next to Qurm beach with easy access. There is a small shopping area to the side of the hotel that included a Starbucks / Costa and WH Smith / Pizza Express.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Twickenham_family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2012

This is the kind of hotel you adore if you enjoyed the idea of the 'old colonial days'. The hotel shows its age but is nevertheless a lovely venue - very large and well equipped rooms, fabulous grounds - with 2 excellent pool areas and large gardens and old fashioned service.

Yes, it is expensive but then so is everything in Oman except for beach shack cafes and some old style colonial clubs frequented by ex-pats and offering fish and chips or curry style meals. The garden restaurant was excellent but count on around 20 euros per person for lunch and the cocktail bar was fun but again not a cheap option. The hotel bar is heavily frequented and the buffet restaurant provided excellent dinners at around 26 Euros per head. Try the local bar strip where you can go to an Irish bar and eat and drink for less and if you want to meet ex-pats but otherwise the best value is still to be found in the local Omani cafes and the Indian restaurants.

Room Tip: If you can persuade them to upgrade you to floor 6 with a sea view then it will greatly improve your...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janice B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2012

I have stayed in this hotel a few times on business trips but this was a leisure break. We booked a club room which was upgraded to a suite with a separate sitting room which was very comfortable but a little old. In fact the whole hotel could be described as old but this does add some character to the property. but if you expect modern style and chic surroundings this hotel is not for you! The location is great, next to a small mall with shops, restaurants and a lovely Costa coffee shop - probably the best view from any in the world! The hotel staff are friendly and helpful, especially The Intercontinental club lounge staff. The Christmas day lunch buffet was excellent, plenty of choice and good quality. My lasting impression was the hotel is over-priced though, it was not worth what we paid.

Room Tip: I don't see the point of paying for a view and this hotel charges a lot for it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 December 2012

We stayed at the Muscat Intercontinental and found the garden and pool area very good. Also the buffet breakfast is nice. But, the rooms are old and very much in need of renovation. This is not a 5star hotel. It has a few nice restaurants. But like most hotel facilities in Muscat, everything is too expensive. The balcony at our room had not been cleaned for many months and was full of birds dirt. The bathroom is sub-standard and very small. The beach is not part of the hotel and is public. Hotel staff is friendly. Location is perfect. Its close to everything and the Shatti area where the hotel is located is lively with many (cheaper) restaurants.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChristianneQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Hotel Muscat, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2013

Dear ChristianneQ,

Thank you for posting a review of our property. We are delighted to read you liked our garden and pool and found our location perfect. It is our goal to consistently provide superior service and accommodations at our hotel and your comments regarding cleanliness are very much appreciated. This is one of the ways that let us know where we need to improve.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2012

me and my friend stayed at this hotel as business trip the location is very good it is just 15 minutes from airport and also near to every where but this hotel is too old and the room are look like 3 star hotels.this hotel have 6 floors ask them to give you room in 6th floor because the other floors room are very old but the 6th floor is beter.the pool are of this hotel is awesome there is one semi olympic size pool and other beautiful pool,there is a british pub in hotel lobby it was good.breakfast was not good the quality of the foods was very low and it was not like 5 star hotels,the breakfast was until 11 am but when you go downstairs an 10:30 for having breakfast you can find nothing and for example if you want omelet in that time you should ask them to find chef and it was too poor.the only positive thing in this hotel is pool area and location

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pourya s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Hotel Muscat, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2013

Dear pourya s,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of our property. We are happy the location suited you well. Please accept our sincerest apologies for the inconveniences you encountered during your stay and for the negative impression you had with the quality of the rooms, service and food you received. We will certainly discuss your comments with the respective departments for improvements needed. Your feedback is very important to us as this assists us in continually improving the services and facilities we have to offer to our guests.

Once again thank you for your feedback. We hope to have the honor of serving you soon and show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2012

Just Visited Muscat on a business trip. Really it was a great Experience to stay in this Hotel. Nice lobby, Swimming pool, Large area, Nice resturnats to dine in all makes the hotel a perfect place to stay in. The warm welcome from the staff each time you come in and go out off the hotel felt that they know me very well although it was my first saty with them. This seems that the staff is well qualified to handle guests.Altogether a stay of 3 days was really good as this time they also lighted Christmas tree and invited all teh guests staying in the hotel. This was really nice as on 1st day the christmas tree was lighted and a fleet of singers were singing song and on the next day there was again a celebration but this time kids were singing song. Really this made me felt that the hotel really cares for their each guest no matter even if they are kids as i saw many kids really enjoying tis occasion.
All to gether it was a nice stay. would surely stay with tis hotel when i am next time in Muscat.

Room Tip: Sea veiw rooms are really good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank manishmku
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Muscat hotels
1.4 mi away
Grand Hyatt Muscat
Grand Hyatt Muscat
#12 of 60 in Muscat
1,480 reviews
1.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Muscat
Crowne Plaza Muscat
#8 of 60 in Muscat
1,578 reviews
4.3 mi away
The Chedi Muscat – a GHM hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Sheraton Oman Hotel
Sheraton Oman Hotel
#1 of 60 in Muscat
214 reviews
3.0 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Muscat
3.6 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Muscat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Hotel Muscat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Hotel Muscat

Address: Al Kharjiya Street | Al Shati Area, Muscat 113, Oman
Phone Number:
Region: Oman > Muscat Governorate > Muscat
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Muscat
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Muscat
#11 Business Hotel in Muscat
#15 Luxury Hotel in Muscat
Price Range: £139 - £253 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Hotel Muscat 5*
Number of rooms: 258
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
InterContinental Muscat is a 15-acre oasis in the heart of the city s premier residential, government and diplomatic quarter. The business and commercial district is close by, as are must-see sights including the Sultan Qaboos Grand Mosque, Bait Al Zubair Museum and Amouage Perfume Factory. For shoppers, the Muttrah Souk is the essence of Muscat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Southall Travel, IHG, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your InterContinental Hotel Muscat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Muscat

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing