We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs updating!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
InterContinental Hotel Muscat
Ranked #17 of 63 Hotels in Muscat
Reviewed 25 January 2013

The InterContinental at first sight was not particularly pleasing to the eye, the gloomy exterior did tend to give us a feeling of foreboding as we drove towards it. Ignoring this we entered the Hotel where the reception was airy, pleasant enough and clean. The staff on reception were dressed impeccably and booked us in quickly with more than enough good manners. Sadly things took a turn for the worse when we got to our room, it was quite shabby and in dire need of an extreme makeover. My eye immediately went to the carpet which was rather stained and looked old. Around the edges (easy enough to get to with a hoover nozzle) nestled fluff and goodness knows what else... totally unacceptable. The furniture was just about ok, very knocked about we could see it was all getting on a bit. The bed itself was comfortable but the bed linen had holes and the bottom sheet didn't even fit the bed properly. As is the norm for us we removed the hideous bed throw that most Hotels seem to favour and put it out of sight in the cupboard! What annoyed us the most was the balcony, it was dirty with paint peeling off and pigeon feces all over the floor and walls, it clearly had not been cleaned in a long time and was unusable ...very unpleasant.
The positives for this Hotel.... the staff were helpful and polite at all times. If we asked for more tea and sugar we were given handfuls at a time and always with a smile. Pleasant toiletries and soft towels. Complimentary bottles of water in the room. Nice pool area, lovely gardens with the beach on the doorstep although it is public so anyone can use it. There is a very handy little Mall next door with several little eateries including Costa, handy if like us you don't want the added expense of breakfast.
We had some gripes with the Hotel, definitely not 5* rooms that's for sure. Expensive? yes for what you get I wouldn't want to stay there for a holiday but it was a pleasant enough stay for a couple of days.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that doesn't include pigeons squatting on the balcony!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sandra W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Hotel Muscat, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2013

Dear Sandra W,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments. I appreciate and wish to thank you for the kind words for the staff. Please allow me to apologize for the inconvenience and negative impression you may have had on some aspects of your stay. Your comments are being reviewed by the hotel's management and appropriate action will be taken. We appreciate your feedback as this is our best resource for improving guest services.

Sincerely,

Karen G.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,243)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

895 - 901 of 1,243 reviews

Reviewed 25 January 2013

This place has a great location as the nearest beach is just a walk away, also there are some reallycool places to eat and shopping malls in Qurum which is just a 4 minute drive from here. Rooms as you would just as any international business hotel would be but a slight letdown to the 'intercontinental' service and brand.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank arjunvilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2013

Albeit a bit dated the hotel offers very good service, attentive staff and great F&B. Especially liked the efficiency of the front reception and bell boy. Trader Vic's has a nice terrace facing the garden and the Corniche and beach walk is only minutes away. Central location between downtown and the airport makes this hotel an ideal pit-stop for brief business visits to Muscat. Overall happy experience!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rudi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2013

The advantage of this hotel is the location and nice surroundings close to the governmental and embassy area. The garden and pool area is an asset.
Shopping and cafés are just 100m away and a nice place to walk around from morning to evening. However outside the building is a grey, tall ,unpleasant concrete design from the 1970’ties and its very unlike the new beautiful white colored lower buildings typical for this area.

Inside its clear that the hotel has operated for 40 years without renovation and the rooms the same. However maintenance seems to be present but the rooms had a distinct bad smell that sticks to all clothes and bags for a long time after we returned home. For those clothes that are washed often it’s not that important but suits and bags etc needs to be dry cleaned to get that off smell out.

General service level is acceptable keeping in mind this is a 5 star hotel but the concierge service do have a potential for improvement, especially my wife got an unpleasant “introduction” to the way women should not be treated, the concierge letting all men (behind her in the cue) be served first before he sent her away telling her to read a brochure. We arrived directly from Dubai and a 10 days fantastic stay at Hilton Jumeirah and the service we got there are not comparable at all, way above the Interconti Muscat.

Next time in Muscat we will stay at Al Bhustan Palace like we have done earlier…

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stein L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Hotel Muscat, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2013

Dear Stein L,

Thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns. I am delighted you liked the convenient location of our hotel. My apologies for the issues you had with the condition of our facilities and the service you received during your stay. Rest assured that your comments will be reviewed by our team and take actions accordingly. We all hope that we will have the opportunity to host you again on a future visit.

Sincerely,

Karen C
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2013

My wife, daughter and I stayed here twice in December. The reviews that talk about the dated rooms etc are quite true but this is still a very good hotel in a great location with wonderful staff. Our rooms were clean and well looked after and all the fixtures from the fridge to the sink worked as designed. The pool area is excellent and the staff working the area are friendly, good natured and prompt. The hotel has direct access to the main Muscat beach area which is a bonus. The gym and spa facilities are very good, the breakfast buffet is excellent, the Al Ghazal Pub is pretty good for a cold beverage and Trader Vics has fairly good food although the prices are hard to swallow. I would stay here again and I would not hesitate to recommend it to friends.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the sea on a high floor are very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2013

I'm big fan of IHG hotels so I specifically chose the hotel. I had very nice Sea View Room. The room was great. The hotel is old but they keep it in good condition. Several outlets for the F&B to choose from! The standard of the food was great!

Pool area is nice. I enjoyed the landscape.

Rates should be more reasonable as I believe it is very high!

Room Tip: Sea View Rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mohi_Khater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2013

The previous reviewer (goliard "IT IS GRIM") is reporting standards that are quite untrue. We stayed here for 8 days Dec.31st to Jan. 7th 2013 and had a truly enjoyable time. It is true that the Hotel is somewhat tired and could do with a facelift but the staff are excellent and the facilities, particularly the pool area, are all one could wish for. We enjoyed perhaps the best New Year celebrations we've ever had and we hadn't booked anything in advance. The Senor Pico restaurant was great, the Mussandum serves a cracking buffet lunch and Trader Vic's is an evening not to miss. Our room was on the fourth floor, not a sea view, and we were quite content. We did have a minor complaint about the slight musty smell from the aircon but otherwise everything was fine. This was our first visit to Oman and we were most impressed by this lovely country. It is an ideal spot for a winter sunshine break from the rigors of an English January and we will return.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Betty&TC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Muscat hotels
1.4 mi away
Grand Hyatt Muscat
Grand Hyatt Muscat
#12 of 63 in Muscat
1,607 reviews
1.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Muscat
Crowne Plaza Muscat
#7 of 63 in Muscat
1,706 reviews
4.3 mi away
The Chedi Muscat – a GHM hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Sheraton Oman Hotel
Sheraton Oman Hotel
#3 of 63 in Muscat
327 reviews
3 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Muscat
1.9 mi away
Coral Muscat Hotel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Hotel Muscat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Hotel Muscat

Address: Al Kharjiya Street | Al Shati Area, Muscat 113, Oman
Phone Number:
Region: Oman > Muscat Governorate > Muscat
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Muscat
#7 Spa Hotel in Muscat
#11 Business Hotel in Muscat
#16 Luxury Hotel in Muscat
Price Range: £142 - £265 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Hotel Muscat 5*
Number of rooms: 258
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
InterContinental Muscat is a 15-acre oasis in the heart of the city s premier residential, government and diplomatic quarter. The business and commercial district is close by, as are must-see sights including the Sultan Qaboos Grand Mosque, Bait Al Zubair Museum and Amouage Perfume Factory. For shoppers, the Muttrah Souk is the essence of Muscat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TravelUp, Agoda, IHG, TripOnline SA, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your InterContinental Hotel Muscat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Muscat

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing