We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Yes its was built in the 70's but so what” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of InterContinental Hotel Muscat

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
InterContinental Hotel Muscat
Ranked #12 of 49 Hotels in Muscat
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Yes its was built in the 70's but so what”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2013

Just returning home from a short stay in Muscat. I have to say that the previous comments on Trip Advisor nearly put me off, but it just goes to show. It is a case of "you cant tell the Banana from the skin". From the outside the hotel looks horendous, a big brown square block, with small balconies. But get inside it, and its lovely. The staff are great, as if trying to dispell the trip advisor comments, freindly accomadating and professional. It is a lovely reception area, big, airy and with all 6 floors looking down onto it. It is neat, tidy and relaxed. The pools are clean, well maintained and the time I spent there was quiet and theraputic!

Its close to the beach if you want to go there, but frankly having walked onto it, I took one picture and turned back - the gardens of the hotel are better, much much better.

Breakfast was all you need, from fruit to the full works, so you wont go hungry. There is a bar which was busy, but thats not a bad thing, during the evening, and if I had to come back, I would only try the competition to see whats else on offer. The room was good, the bed comfortable, and the pillows great!

Dont be put off by some of the comments on this site. Yes its 70's, but there were some good thngs that came out of that era!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OCContour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oliver G, Manager at InterContinental Hotel Muscat, responded to this review, 10 May 2013
Dear Paul B,

thank you very much for taking the time to write such a positive feedback.

You are absolutely right - not everything what is done a few decades ago has been bad. We were the first international branded hotel is Muscat and ever since an InterContinental Hotel, which is well established and a landmark in the country. "Unfortunately" the buildings around us, which were build much later, did not follow our example, but we combine in the inside luxury with the rich local tradition.

I really hope we will get another chance to see you soon back in Muscat.

with kind regards

Oliver Geyer
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,056 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    328
    410
    215
    66
    37
See reviews for
182
270
76
395
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (260)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
157 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2013

I regularly stayed in 2012, except on my last visits in December 2012 the rates were too high - The Ramada won my patronage.
In 5 months away there has been significant improvements at Home. A thinker is in charge of the main restaurant -- the layout of the breakfast buffet is logical, the organisation of waiting staff has improved. I am always upgraded to an Ocean View room -- far better than a view of the carpark -- significant renovations had been undertaken in this room. The bathroom especially. Last year on two occasions Omani staff were on strike -- nit sure what was gained -- but the Reception staff was all Omani. Two trainees who tried but could not answer all questions but with a grumpy Omani woman. Upon departure a transformation -- all magnificent. Why do I like home? The green grass, the pools, the magnificent beach and above all the views. Brilliant.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oliver G, Manager at InterContinental Hotel Muscat, responded to this review, 10 May 2013
Dear Richard K,

thank you so much for your very kind review on tripadvisor, but especially for calling the InterContinental Muscat as your "home". This is the biggest compliment you can do.I assure you we will take good care of your favorite hotel and we will continue improving your home away from home.

I hope to see you soon again.

with kind regards

Oliver Geyer
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2013

The Intercon Muscat has been around for many years on a very great parcel of real estate on the sea. I travel there occasionally for business and although the hotel grounds and public space is kept in good condition, the rooms have severely been neglected. I don't usually post comments, but the mold situation in the bathroom was unacceptable for a hotel in this category of accommodations and I could not help but share with others considering a stay here. The last time I stayed in this hotel (approx Jan of this year) I also spotted some mold in my bathroom, but it was not out of control as with my most recent experience. The hotel appears to be quite busy and popular and they must take action to address these rooms. It's just disgusting.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Eric H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oliver G, Manager at InterContinental Hotel Muscat, responded to this review, 2 May 2013
Dear Eric H,

thank you very much for your honest feedback.

I am very disappointed to read about your experiences. I can assure you that one of our main focuses in this hotel is the cleanliness. The reported issue is in general due to the local weather conditions a challenge, because of the extremely high humidity, which we have these days and in the summer months. Therefore we will start soon to close our balconies for a few months to prevent things like this happening.
I would appreciate, if you could give me the chance to get in personal touch with you to gain you back as loyal guest. My e-mail address is oliver.geyer@ihg.com

with kind regards

Oliver Geyer
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2013

We spent a week here at Easter after enjoying our first stay here last Autumn. The grounds are really spacious and the pool is good but looks a little old and needs refurbishing. There is also a big sports pool for swimming enthusiasts plus a shaded area for children which is a good idea. The exterior of the building is rather dull and uninspiring, but the inside is fine with a large airy space and good decor.
The staff were friendly and helpful and the service was excellent in the club lounge.

The rooms look a bit dated and the carpets were old looking, but the room was large with a comfortable bed and the bathroom had every convenience you could expect.
The beach is a public one, but it was clean and uncrowded, with lots of local people coming down in the evenings to stroll and enjoy the cooler air. The Trader Vic's restaurant was very good too. Nearby there are cafes and shops within walking distance, but to reach the city you would need a car. We would definitely return to this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LavenderEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oliver G, Manager at InterContinental Hotel Muscat, responded to this review, 2 May 2013
Dear LavenderEngland,

thank you very much for taking the time to share your positive experience at the InterContinental Muscat with other travelers.

The hotel was the first building in this area, therefore it seems from the outside not fitting to the rest. But actually the rest did not follow us ;-).

We will take your feedback into our considerations to look into possibilities to further upgrade our hotel. The outside area as you can see it today with our wide gardens and pools to relax, was build just in the beginning of this century.

Further I can assure your kind words gets shared with my colleagues, especially with the Club Lounge and Trader Vic's.

I hope to see you soon again.

with kind regards

Oliver Geyer
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lugano
Level Contributor
139 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2013

Booked here for three nights stay. Originally heading to Crowne Plaza, almost same location but eventually not available, on the impression Intercontinental was not worth the price.
We found it was truth. We booked a seaside ocean view room and we were given a first floor room (hotel was obviously not full, come on a little effort!) and we found room size ok. Bathrooms (for the hotel category) are desperately need renovation and specially showering in the old bathtub was really unconvenient.
Location is good, for sightseeing in Oman a car is needed anyway and courtesy and efficiency of people from check.in to valet car parking were a positive point.
Pools are quite ok (one partially covered for swimmers and another one funny shape for playing in the water) and the all garden is enjoyable. Beach across the road is not nice at all, sand is muddy and water not crystal clear: it is not hotel fault but it is part of the value.
They do have a diving center where one can arrange divings, we had no time to try but it is good to know there is one.
We did not use restaurants neither bars except a evening drink near the pool (closing early).
Alltogether the experience was not totally negative and - although I seldom complain for prices - feeling is that it is not worth the price and specially when the intention is to travel around an not stay in the hotel there are much better options as we could check. As a resort-hotel to stay we woud rather try AlJissah although reviews are controversial. We also noticed the diving center at AlJissah offering rooms and diving experience and we shall try on our next time in Oman.
About Oman we can say it was a great overall experience while it is recommendable to stay at different hotels across the country to get the best of it and not base in Muscat only: at least this is the plan for our next longer stay.

Room Tip: If sea/ocean side, at least from third floor onward. In general the higher the floor the better it w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carlo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oliver G, Manager at InterContinental Hotel Muscat, responded to this review, 2 May 2013
Dear Carlo S,

thank you very much for your feedback on tripadvisor.

I am disappointed to read that we could not the deliver the value you expected for the price. In general Oman and Muscat is at a high price level, especially hotels compared to Dubai.
But actually due to our huge land we offer the best selection of recreation facilities, like tennis courts, 2 separate pools, huge gardens combined with the central surroundings, including small and a great selection of restaurants onside and in the neighborhood.
I hope we will get the chance to show you that we can do better. Please contact me in case you plan your next trip to make sure that you will be satisfied next time. My e-mail address is oliver.geyer@ihg.com

with kind regards

Oliver Geyer
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
71 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2013

It was my first time in Oman, so it was a nice first impression to experience warm hospitality from the staff. Hotel is a bit dated in decor and some things need up-keeping, but the stay was pleasant enough. Location is good too, and near to the beach.

We had a function there one evening and the staff was responsive and accommodating. No complaints there!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SAAzli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oliver G, Manager at InterContinental Hotel Muscat, responded to this review, 29 April 2013
Dear SAAzli,

I really appreciate your feedback on tripadvisor, especially since you attended an inhouse function, which gives you a wide perspective on our services. Thank you !

The Omani hospitality is something special and can not be found somewhere else.
Reserved, but very cordially and honest.

We are looking forward to welcome you soon again.

with kind regards

Oliver Geyer
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
69 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2013

Our stay was nice enough, but only the location and lovely gardens were particularly special. Our room was generic in the extreme with decor circa 1980. The huge atrium is rather foreboding, although it is nicer inside than outside.
We arrived very early and were pleased that a room was made available. Actually it was a disabled room which seemed to be quite well appointed, but lacked some basics, like a shelf in the bathroom.
It is hard to say what was wrong or missing in this hotel. Maybe it is the austere design but somehow, it just wasn't a memorable 5 star experience.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms are the best. Not all mountain view rooms can actually see the mount
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ali-from-Hobart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oliver G, Manager at InterContinental Hotel Muscat, responded to this review, 29 April 2013
Dear Ali-from-Hobart,

thank you very much for taking the time to write about your stay at the InterContinental Muscat.

You are right that definitely our wide gardens and recreation area, with its facilities is one of our assets besides the location. With the inside decoration we try to transport the rich Omani traditions and heritage, which might not fit to the outside appearance but does have a surprising affect when you enter the hotel.

I still hope we will see you again.

with kind regards

Oliver Geyer
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Muscat hotels
1.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Muscat
Crowne Plaza Muscat
#6 of 49 in Muscat
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,432 reviews
1.4 mi away
Grand Hyatt Muscat
Grand Hyatt Muscat
#7 of 49 in Muscat
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,289 reviews
4.3 mi away
The Chedi Muscat – a GHM hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.1 mi away
Al Bustan Palace, A Ritz-Carlton Hotel
1.9 mi away
Coral Muscat Hotel & Apartments
3.0 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Muscat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Hotel Muscat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Hotel Muscat

Property: InterContinental Hotel Muscat
Address: Al Kharjiya Street | Al Shati Area, Muscat 113, Oman
Phone Number:
Region: Oman > Muscat Governorate > Muscat
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Muscat
#5 Spa Hotel in Muscat
#8 Business Hotel in Muscat
#12 Luxury Hotel in Muscat
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Hotel Muscat 5*
Number of rooms: 258
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
InterContinental Muscat is a 35-acre oasis in the heart of the city s premier residential, government and diplomatic quarter. The business and commercial district is close by, as are must-see sights including the Sultan Qaboos Grand Mosque, Bait Al Zubair Museum and Amouage Perfume Factory. For shoppers, the Muttrah Souk is the essence of Muscat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Odigeo and TravelUp so you can book your InterContinental Hotel Muscat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Muscat

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing