We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dated hotel, good location, excellent staff” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of InterContinental Hotel Muscat

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
InterContinental Hotel Muscat
Ranked #11 of 49 Hotels in Muscat
Italy
Level Contributor
237 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
“Dated hotel, good location, excellent staff”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014

We stayed in this hotel for a long weekend in April, 2013.
The hotel itself is a little dated. Rooms are nice but you can tell that it's an older hotel.
However, it was very clean.

The Club Room is good. Would recommend it.

The service from the staff is fantastic. I would especially like to mention the lady who worked in the club room on the weekend of April 24th-26th (I didn't catch her name). Also, on the front desk, Shankar was extremely helpful and friendly.

The location is good - next to the beach - but you must take a taxi or organized tour to see any of the tourist sites.

The morning breakfast on the bottom floor is very good. We really enjoyed it as there was quite a variety.

Overall, we would stay there again if we were to return to Muscat.

Room Tip: We had a 'mountain view' room and it was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Italian-bird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oliver G, Manager at InterContinental Hotel Muscat, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Dear Italian-bird,

thank you very much for your positive feedback on tripadvisor.

Especially that you mention Shankar and my colleague in the Club Lounge makes me proud to work with them. I can assure you that both will be celebrated on a special occasion because of your feedback.

But the greatest compliment is that you would stay again at the InterContinental Muscat. I sincerely hope to see you soon again !

with kind regards

Oliver Geyer
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,053 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    326
    410
    215
    65
    37
See reviews for
180
269
76
395
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (258)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
144 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

Very well located hotel, Good for business trips. Breakfast has a wide selection. Rooms are spacious and beautifully designed. The hotel is a bit old but is definitely one of the best to visit once in Muscat for a stay. Staff were really professional and friendly.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oliver G, Manager at InterContinental Hotel Muscat, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Dear Mark M,

thank you very much for your fantastic feedback.

Our staff is committed to make the difference and to live up to our company promise to provide great hotels guests love.

We are all looking forward to welcoming you soon again.

with kind regards

Oliver Geyer
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
50 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014

Great hotel. Rooms are excellent although the decor is a little outdated. The only con is the in-hotel restaurants. Since I had a late evening flight, I arrived at the hotel around 11pm and other than Traders Vic, there was nothing in close range of the hotel, which was a little disappointing.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hira_83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oliver G, Manager at InterContinental Hotel Muscat, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Dear Hira_83,

thank you very much that you share your positive feedback on tripadvisor.

Actually we offer also food late at night in our Al Ghazal Pub, especially if you look for a quick bite.
Additionally room service is 24h available, but you are correct that we have quite a selection of restaurants around the hotel, but they all close at an earlier hour.

But since you were positive about your stay I sincerely hope to see you soon again.

with kind regards

Oliver Geyer
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

The hotel is quite outdated, the building from outside looks like is due for renovation. The gym has outdated equipment.
I called restaurant reservation to make a reservation in one of their restaurant, was on hold for 3mins listening to "we're the best hotel chain in the world", then a woman answered and said "oh, sorry this is hotel reservation, let me put you through restaurant reservation" then 2 mins later the phone just disconnects.
Only good thing about this hotel is the lap pool.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank aramic86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oliver G, Manager at InterContinental Hotel Muscat, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Dear aramic86,

thank you very much for your feedback on tripadvisor.

Please accept my sincere apologies for the unacceptable issues you experienced. This definitely does not represent our values and high standard we are striving for. One of our key promise is to create hotels guests love. We clearly failed in your case.

Regarding In the gym we just received new spinning bikes and upgraded our cardio equipment. This process will continue in the future.

The hotel is a landmark within the community, but it looks in todays time misplaced in the very lively area we are in. Just imagine that the InterContinental was the first building along the whole beach and should display the long tradition of Portuguese forts in the country. This might explain it.

I sincerely hope that will still give us another chance in the future to show you that we can do better.

with kind regards

Oliver Geyer
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
62 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

We had two interconnecting rooms for our large family. We stayed for 4 nights. The hotel is in a great location. We had a hire car and parking was available and it was easy to explore the city from this location. Rooms were very comfortable, particularly the beds. Bathroom decor a little dated but no issue. Pools are fantastic and ideal to relax at with great lounges and plenty of umbrellas. The breakfast buffet was fantastic. A huge variety of options for every taste. The staff were increibly friendly and helpful. Nothing was too much bother and they were great with our children. I would not hesitate to return to this hotel if I am lucky enough to get back to Oman.

Room Tip: We stayed on the car park side. No issues but a seaside or poolside room would have a better view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Owen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oliver G, Manager at InterContinental Hotel Muscat, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Dear Liesl W,

thank you so much for your great review.

Especially that you mention our staff so positive makes me proud to work with them and I can assure you that I will share your comments with the team.

With our great kids facilities we surely try to deliver a great experience to our youngest guests, but also to help their parents to enjoy this wonderful country.

I surely hope that you will have soon the opportunity to return.

with kind regards

Oliver Geyer
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
43 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2014

Stayed there for a couple of days with family. Hotel decor little bit outdated , Very green hotel indeed pools are fantastic, easy acess to the beach, city and othr attraction. Excellent customer service. Only downside our rooom faced the parking lot with a lot of noise from the building site. I had asked to be upgraded to rather the Sea view side on check in and was told was upgraded however daa when I got to my room it was not sea facing. Couldnt go back to reception as we were travelling with our son and lots of luggage. Unfortunately it was very noisy as the room was facing the building site. Definitely will recommend sea facing room.Very convenient hotel and will go back with family soon

Room Tip: Sea facing view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lovelybeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oliver G, Manager at InterContinental Hotel Muscat, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Dear lovelybeach,

thank you very much for your positive feedback.

Please apologize for the noise you have experienced from our neighbors. Actually the Royal Opera House, which is just across the street, is building an additional attraction a theater, which will further enhance the cultural experience in Oman.

I sincerely hope to see you again soon and please do not hesitate to contact me directly in advance. my e-mail address is oliver.geyer@ihg.com.

with kind regards

Oliver Geyer
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Province of Monza and Brianza, Italy
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

Stayed here with the family a couple of weeks ago for two nights as IHG gold members, had an unimpressive room on the first floor overlooking the drive, understandably the hotel is old but they can do much better with the frayed towels and rusting bathroom. Had to wait for our rooms on check in and had a long wait at check out due to problems with the rate in their reservation system. Never had any of our requests met at the breakfast buffet. Overall does not meet the basic IHG standard. Very pricey and disappointing stay.
Left to stay at another resort which was a bit further out of the city but had a fantastic stay and is well worth the short drive into town if necessary,

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Yselle X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oliver G, Manager at InterContinental Hotel Muscat, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Dear Yselle X,

thank you for your comments on tripadvisor.

Please accept my sincere apologies that we were not able to meet your expectations at all. I can assure you that your feedback is shared and taken serious to improve for the future.

I sincerely hope that you will give us another chance in future and therefore I would like to offer you to contact me directly. My e-mail address is oliver.geyer@ihg.com.

with kind regards

Oliver Geyer
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Muscat hotels
1.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Muscat
Crowne Plaza Muscat
#6 of 49 in Muscat
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,431 reviews
1.4 mi away
Grand Hyatt Muscat
Grand Hyatt Muscat
#7 of 49 in Muscat
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,285 reviews
4.3 mi away
The Chedi Muscat – a GHM hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.1 mi away
Al Bustan Palace, A Ritz-Carlton Hotel
3.0 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Muscat
11.3 mi away
Hormuz Grand Hotel, Muscat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Hotel Muscat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Hotel Muscat

Property: InterContinental Hotel Muscat
Address: Al Kharjiya Street | Al Shati Area, Muscat 113, Oman
Phone Number:
Region: Oman > Muscat Governorate > Muscat
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Muscat
#5 Spa Hotel in Muscat
#8 Business Hotel in Muscat
#11 Luxury Hotel in Muscat
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Hotel Muscat 5*
Number of rooms: 258
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
InterContinental Muscat is a 35-acre oasis in the heart of the city s premier residential, government and diplomatic quarter. The business and commercial district is close by, as are must-see sights including the Sultan Qaboos Grand Mosque, Bait Al Zubair Museum and Amouage Perfume Factory. For shoppers, the Muttrah Souk is the essence of Muscat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, TravelUp, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Southall Travel so you can book your InterContinental Hotel Muscat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Muscat

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing