We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Xmas vacation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
InterContinental Hotel Muscat
Ranked #15 of 56 Hotels in Muscat
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Xmas vacation”
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Very nice trip, staff were very friendly and attentive food was fabulous but due to local law alcohol was only available after lunch. Rooms were excellent and the swimming facilities were perfect. The location is also good for the airport.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dougie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oliver G, Manager at InterContinental Hotel Muscat, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Dear Dougie B,

thank you very much for your very kind feedback.

I am very happy to read that you enjoyed your holiday days with us and that we were able to deliver a great experience with our fantastic facilities and location.

I sincerely hope to see you soon again.

with kind regards

Oliver Geyer
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,142 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    376
    431
    225
    71
    39
See reviews for
199
293
81
424
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (272)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai
Level 5 Contributor
96 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014 via mobile

As a business traveller the hotel is very important. there is no faulting the friendliness of the staff but no amount of smiling can cover that nasty musty smell of a Hotel desperately in need of renovation. The layout does not help but the carpets are worn, the ceilings grey and everything is very shabby.

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Andrew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oliver G, Manager at InterContinental Hotel Muscat, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Dear AMBDubai,

thank you very much for your feedback on tripadvisor.

Please accept my apologies that we were not able to live up to your expectations.
The hotel has its age, but nevertheless we are committed to deliver the possible service and maintain the hotel on a high standard. Additionally we are currently evaluating a renovation for the very near future.

We are surely able to be better as you describe, therefore I hope you will give us another chance in the near future. Therefore please contact me directly when you plan to return. My e-mail address is oliver.geyer@ihg.com.

I sincerely hope to hear from you soon.

with kind regards

Oliver Geyer
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014

Nice pool area, beach access in kinda funky but is nearby. We really enjoyed the Irish style pub that was there. For the Middle East, where your alcohol options are extremely limited, they had a great selection of beers on tap and in the bottle.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oliver G, Manager at InterContinental Hotel Muscat, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Dear Michael F,

thank you very much for your great feedback.

Especially that you mention that you would stay again in our hotel is a great compliment.
Therefore I hope to see you soon.

with ind regards

Oliver Geyer
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
329 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Stayed here one night only, the staff is nice and courteous, but the room smelled like no one has been there for years. The tap water in the room was yellow at first. Old place that need revamping soon. I will not be back there unless renovated.
Visit the indoor pub !!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ricky v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oliver G, Manager at InterContinental Hotel Muscat, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Dear ricky v,

thank you very much for your feedback on tripadvisor.

Please accept my sincere apologies for your experience.

Actually we are just evaluating a renovation, which might even start already end of this year. Since you liked our services I hope this will gain your trust back and I will see you soon again.

Please contact me directly for anything I can do for you in future. My e-mail address is oliver.geyer@ihg.com .

with kind regards

Oliver Geyer
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santiago, Chile
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

My husband and I spend a long weekend (3 nights) at Intercon Muscate. We were traveling with a group of people and together got 3 rooms.

Pros
Nice pool
Nice beach access
Clean

Cons
Rooms were outdated
Service was lacking

The hotel had nothing to write home about and had we not had the coupon that got us a free night stay, it would've been really over-priced for the outdated room.

In fact, after our stay, I came home and researched the prices. We were charged one night as a full price and the next night we used the coupon. If we had booked it through a discount website, the total would've been cheaper by $3.00. So, kinda felt like we got ripped off either way.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LilysWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oliver G, Manager at InterContinental Hotel Muscat, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Dear LilysWorld,

thank you very much for your feedback on tripadvisor.

I am disappointed to read that we were not able to deliver up to our brand promise and therefore please accept my apologies.

I would really like to learn more about your service experience to learn from what has happened and to improve for the future. Further I would appreciate to get the opportunity to discuss the quoted rates with you personally.

My e-mail address is oliver.geyer@ihg.com . I am looking forward to hear from you soon.

with kind regards

Oliver Geyer
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Istanbul, Turkey
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

"Old lady" needs a spruce up, but good management covers up its short comings by good maintenance and excellent guest relations. Even a "small incident" with food immediately gathered senior management attention.

Room Tip: Rooms on two sides have water views and most rooms I noted had a small balcony, which was very welco...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sagirsultan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oliver G, Manager at InterContinental Hotel Muscat, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Dear sagirsultan,

thank you very much for sharing your positive experience with other travelers.

First of all please accept again my apology for the issue you experienced, but on the other hand I am very happy to read that we were able to recover your trust into our hotel.
Things are happening, but it is one of our core value to make sure that we acknowledge issues and take personal ownership to solve it.

I sincerely hope that we will see you soon again.

with kind regards

Oliver Geyer
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Our sty in the hotel was Excellent, the room was clean & the sea view was amazing. i got some minor comments which i'd already informed the concern person in the hotel about it. for example, the bath room fan was not working.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Numan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oliver G, Manager at InterContinental Hotel Muscat, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Dear Numan A,

thank you very much for your excellent review.

I sincerely appreciate and I am thankful that you have shared your comments already during your stay, which enables us to improve the situation immediately.

I am looking forward to welcoming you soon again.

with kind regards

Oliver Geyer
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Muscat hotels
1.4 mi away
Grand Hyatt Muscat
Grand Hyatt Muscat
#12 of 56 in Muscat
1,430 reviews
4.3 mi away
The Chedi Muscat – a GHM hotel
1.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Muscat
Crowne Plaza Muscat
#8 of 56 in Muscat
1,533 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Sheraton Oman Hotel
Sheraton Oman Hotel
#1 of 56 in Muscat
177 reviews
3.0 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Muscat
11.3 mi away
Hormuz Grand Hotel, Muscat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Hotel Muscat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Hotel Muscat

Property: InterContinental Hotel Muscat
Address: Al Kharjiya Street | Al Shati Area, Muscat 113, Oman
Phone Number:
Region: Oman > Muscat Governorate > Muscat
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Muscat
#6 Spa Hotel in Muscat
#11 Business Hotel in Muscat
#15 Luxury Hotel in Muscat
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Hotel Muscat 5*
Number of rooms: 258
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
InterContinental Muscat is a 15-acre oasis in the heart of the city s premier residential, government and diplomatic quarter. The business and commercial district is close by, as are must-see sights including the Sultan Qaboos Grand Mosque, Bait Al Zubair Museum and Amouage Perfume Factory. For shoppers, the Muttrah Souk is the essence of Muscat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Southall Travel, IHG, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your InterContinental Hotel Muscat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Muscat

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing