We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A GREAT STAY ,GREAT HOTEL,GREAT STAFF”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
InterContinental Hotel Muscat
Ranked #12 of 50 Hotels in Muscat
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
131 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“A GREAT STAY ,GREAT HOTEL,GREAT STAFF”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014

Like many others I read the previous mixed reports on the hotel and having been there for six days I have to say my wife and I thoroughly enjoyed it.

What sells it for me are several points

Location,you are right on the beach where you can walk along the unspoiled beach ,on occasions without meeting a soul.It is a public beach so there are no life guards although the sea is shallow in that area .

Staff, a big winner for this hotel is the staff whether it be reception,concierge,restaurant and room service

We tried the club lounge one day and enjoyed sipping our wine watching the sun going down over the sea..

Decor and design, This hotel has its own individual style with all floors looking out and down into the heart of the hotel with the three lift internal tower being the main feature. The room we had was superb with authentic Omani furniture. I read that reviewers compare it with five star hotels in Dubai .I feel that is wrong .Oman is a different culture and a friendly one.

Things to do, the Royal Opera House is two minutes away on foot and if walking is your thing,you can extend your beach walk for over a mile. We did the Big Bus tour which is good value in that you see the whole of Muscat and get on and off at various locations. You pick the bus up at the Shatti commercial centre.Two minute walk from the hotel.

Would I recommend this hotel. A resounding YES

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AndrewMutter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David T, General Manager at InterContinental Hotel Muscat, responded to this review, 29 June 2014
Dear Mr. Mutter,

I am glad you and your wife enjoyed your stay. Thank you for your kind words on the hotel, location and staff members, I will certainly pass on your comments to them.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the futire.

Kind regards,

David Todd
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,089 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    344
    421
    220
    66
    38
See reviews for
190
280
76
406
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (265)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

While I do appreciate the kind gesture of the staff there, the hotel is in dire need of attention. Upon checking into my room, it was clear that this would not be a pleasant stay.

The room itself was a big disappointment with frequent power outages and serious leaks in the bathroom which caused flooding every time I showered, not to mention the fact that I was provided with the wrong type of room even though I specified the correct type both at reservation and at check-in. Trying to overlook these issues, I decided to settle down and order some dinner. The telephone needed to be trashed as I could barely hear the room service attendant over the hissing and static. I ordered a steak medium well only to be served something that resembled a worn out tire (with the same texture). And to top it all off, the lifts were not working (which meant that I had to use the stairs to go up to my room with my luggage) and the water was out for a good half an hour.

I would expect this from a $80 hotel with no name, but when I check into the Intercontinental with a $300 a night price tag, I expect at least the minimum to be there. Safe to say this is my last time making this mistake.

Room Tip: Try a room at the Grand Hyatt
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ammarius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oliver G, Manager at InterContinental Hotel Muscat, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Dear Ammarius,

thank you for your honest and candid feedback.

Please accept my sincere apologies for your overall experience.
We were facing the last 2 days some serious power outages caused by external factors, which should not happen again, but I surely understand your frustration.
On the other hand this does not explain all issues you experiences, which will be seriously addressed and improved for the future.

I would appreciate if you could give me the chance to discuss more details personally and therefore hope you will get in touch with me. My e-mail address is oliver.geyer@ihg.com.

We can do better and I hope we will get the chance to redeem ourselves.

I am looking forward to hear from you.

with kind regards

Oliver Geyer
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

Very nice trip, staff were very friendly and attentive food was fabulous but due to local law alcohol was only available after lunch. Rooms were excellent and the swimming facilities were perfect. The location is also good for the airport.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dougie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oliver G, Manager at InterContinental Hotel Muscat, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Dear Dougie B,

thank you very much for your very kind feedback.

I am very happy to read that you enjoyed your holiday days with us and that we were able to deliver a great experience with our fantastic facilities and location.

I sincerely hope to see you soon again.

with kind regards

Oliver Geyer
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai
Level Contributor
82 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014 via mobile

As a business traveller the hotel is very important. there is no faulting the friendliness of the staff but no amount of smiling can cover that nasty musty smell of a Hotel desperately in need of renovation. The layout does not help but the carpets are worn, the ceilings grey and everything is very shabby.

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Andrew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oliver G, Manager at InterContinental Hotel Muscat, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Dear AMBDubai,

thank you very much for your feedback on tripadvisor.

Please accept my apologies that we were not able to live up to your expectations.
The hotel has its age, but nevertheless we are committed to deliver the possible service and maintain the hotel on a high standard. Additionally we are currently evaluating a renovation for the very near future.

We are surely able to be better as you describe, therefore I hope you will give us another chance in the near future. Therefore please contact me directly when you plan to return. My e-mail address is oliver.geyer@ihg.com.

I sincerely hope to hear from you soon.

with kind regards

Oliver Geyer
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
55 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2014

Nice pool area, beach access in kinda funky but is nearby. We really enjoyed the Irish style pub that was there. For the Middle East, where your alcohol options are extremely limited, they had a great selection of beers on tap and in the bottle.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oliver G, Manager at InterContinental Hotel Muscat, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Dear Michael F,

thank you very much for your great feedback.

Especially that you mention that you would stay again in our hotel is a great compliment.
Therefore I hope to see you soon.

with ind regards

Oliver Geyer
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
303 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

Stayed here one night only, the staff is nice and courteous, but the room smelled like no one has been there for years. The tap water in the room was yellow at first. Old place that need revamping soon. I will not be back there unless renovated.
Visit the indoor pub !!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ricky v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oliver G, Manager at InterContinental Hotel Muscat, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Dear ricky v,

thank you very much for your feedback on tripadvisor.

Please accept my sincere apologies for your experience.

Actually we are just evaluating a renovation, which might even start already end of this year. Since you liked our services I hope this will gain your trust back and I will see you soon again.

Please contact me directly for anything I can do for you in future. My e-mail address is oliver.geyer@ihg.com .

with kind regards

Oliver Geyer
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santiago, Chile
Level Contributor
133 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

My husband and I spend a long weekend (3 nights) at Intercon Muscate. We were traveling with a group of people and together got 3 rooms.

Pros
Nice pool
Nice beach access
Clean

Cons
Rooms were outdated
Service was lacking

The hotel had nothing to write home about and had we not had the coupon that got us a free night stay, it would've been really over-priced for the outdated room.

In fact, after our stay, I came home and researched the prices. We were charged one night as a full price and the next night we used the coupon. If we had booked it through a discount website, the total would've been cheaper by $3.00. So, kinda felt like we got ripped off either way.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LilysWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oliver G, Manager at InterContinental Hotel Muscat, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Dear LilysWorld,

thank you very much for your feedback on tripadvisor.

I am disappointed to read that we were not able to deliver up to our brand promise and therefore please accept my apologies.

I would really like to learn more about your service experience to learn from what has happened and to improve for the future. Further I would appreciate to get the opportunity to discuss the quoted rates with you personally.

My e-mail address is oliver.geyer@ihg.com . I am looking forward to hear from you soon.

with kind regards

Oliver Geyer
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Muscat hotels
1.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Muscat
Crowne Plaza Muscat
#6 of 50 in Muscat
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,471 reviews
1.4 mi away
Grand Hyatt Muscat
Grand Hyatt Muscat
#7 of 50 in Muscat
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,341 reviews
4.3 mi away
The Chedi Muscat – a GHM hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.1 mi away
Al Bustan Palace, A Ritz-Carlton Hotel
1.9 mi away
Coral Muscat Hotel & Apartments
3.0 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Muscat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Hotel Muscat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Hotel Muscat

Property: InterContinental Hotel Muscat
Address: Al Kharjiya Street | Al Shati Area, Muscat 113, Oman
Phone Number:
Region: Oman > Muscat Governorate > Muscat
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Muscat
#5 Spa Hotel in Muscat
#8 Business Hotel in Muscat
#12 Luxury Hotel in Muscat
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Hotel Muscat 5*
Number of rooms: 258
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
InterContinental Muscat is a 15-acre oasis in the heart of the city s premier residential, government and diplomatic quarter. The business and commercial district is close by, as are must-see sights including the Sultan Qaboos Grand Mosque, Bait Al Zubair Museum and Amouage Perfume Factory. For shoppers, the Muttrah Souk is the essence of Muscat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your InterContinental Hotel Muscat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Muscat

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing