We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The retreat”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Chedi Muscat – a GHM hotel
Ranked #3 of 52 Hotels in Muscat
Certificate of Excellence
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
170 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“The retreat”
Reviewed 9 December 2013 via mobile

If you are looking for a break, a real break, this is the place to go. Once inside, nothing else really matters. It is so quit, so peaceful that you do forget everything. The staff is very attentive and friendly, everything is easy. The food is good, and their beach restaurant called The restaurant is excellent. The rooms are cosy and comfortable. It is not a brand new bling resort, but a luxury palace with a lot of character. A place to remember.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Karimkh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chedimuscat, Manager at The Chedi Muscat – a GHM hotel, responded to this review, 11 December 2013
Dear Karimkh,

Thank you very much for the lovely review about your stay with us at The Chedi Muscat.

We glad that you liked our Food in our Restaurants and that you found our Rooms cozy and comfortable.

Looking forward to welcome you back soon.

best regards

Christoph K. Girsch
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,425 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,692
    433
    184
    65
    51
See reviews for
281
1,425
88
176
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (445)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, UAE
Level Contributor
141 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2013

This is our favourite hotel in the Middle East so far. This was our second visit and we hope to visit more often and stay longer in the future!

Since our last visit there is now the long pool which is a fabulous lap pool lined with palm trees and day beds. Very L.A. We had drinks there after returning from the opera and it was the perfect end to a delightful evening just to sit on the big comfy sofas, drink a glass of excellent white wine, softly lit pool and lounge music in the background. Very chilled indeed. Rooms were the same, minimal but comfortable. Little luxuries like the Acqua di Parma toiletries make a huge difference in my view. Breakfast was delicious and they even had soy milk; another good sign that they care about guests' food intolerances. My girlfriend had the pad thai for lunch - it was delicious. We love staying here as the architecture, layout, landscaping and attention to detail makes this hotel very peaceful and relaxing. And it is great that kids are designated to one of the three pools only so you can really relax and just listen to the lapping water.

A few small criticisms, it would be great to have had heavier duvets as the weather is cooler and there were no extra blankets in the room. Our tv did not work properly and the wifi varies in quality around the hotel and grounds. It would also be great if there could be some shade by the long pool.

Great place for adults to unwind. Can't wait to visit again!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AA88Dubai_UAE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chedimuscat, Manager at The Chedi Muscat – a GHM hotel, responded to this review, 10 December 2013
Dear AA88Dubai_UAE,

We would like to thank you very much for your comment on Tripadvisor, regarding your recent stay at The Chedi Muscat!

We always try to do our best to make sure our guests have the best experience while staying with us and we are delighted to read that you appreciated every moment of it. Of course we will have a look into the WIFI and the TV, and please rest assured that we will have this fixed as soon as possible.

We hope to have the pleasure of seeing you again soon.

kind regards

Christoph K. Girsch
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
158 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2013

On the positive side: the food was really exquisite, the wine selection was impressive and the garden/ facilities/pools were really beautiful.

On the negative side; this hotel was probably 5 stars 10 years ago but the lack of maintenance shows: paint is flaking off the wall, in the room very visible wear and tear, threadbare bed linen and towels, grease stained linen, really unacceptable for a 5 stars. The staff was not trained properly nor friendly: for example the pool guys are removing the pool beds more than one hour before the closure of the pool without any concern for the guest still in the pool, the waiters had no clues how to serve the guest (started with the children, serve ladies last, spilled the 100 $ wine on the table, etc...). Ok, this is not critical but again unacceptable when you pay 400 $ for a meal. The food is excellent but way overpriced, 20 $ for a small bowl of pumpkin soup, come on! This is a beautiful hotel but really overpriced and not maintain properly compared to other 5 stars in the Middle East.

Room Tip: Make sure not to have a room in the main building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gillou G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chedimuscat, Manager at The Chedi Muscat – a GHM hotel, responded to this review, 10 December 2013
Dear Gillou G,

Thank you for taking the time to share the account of your recent stay with us at The Chedi Muscat.

I am glad to note that whilst you enjoyed some of the services, we are greatly concerned that in quite some other areas it did not match the required level of service.

First and foremost may I apologize most sincerely for the problems you experienced and you have certainly not experienced us at our best.

Our focus is on training with specific focus on pro-activeness and service oriented approach towards meeting and exceeding guest expectations.

I would like to assure you we take the feedback very seriously and we have put measures in place to ensure they never occur again.

Whilst I appreciate my apologies and assurances are of little consequence in retrospect I hope they go some way to restore your confidence in us.

On behalf of the team, I would once again like to apologize for the inconveniences and trust that you will give us the opportunity to reverse the poor impression of your last stay.

Kind regards,

Christoph K. Girsch
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Henley-on-Thames, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2013

The Chedi is a beautiful, peaceful, serene place. Truly somewhere that you feel that you have stepped off the treadmill and can just relax. The food is exquisite. The staff friendly, welcoming, professional, eager to please. The Serai rooms are beautiful - simple but reflect the aesthetic of the entire resort (large, comfortable beds, a large area to dress and hang clothes/store luggage). The grounds are beautiful. The pools are amazing with options to lounge on beds. Lots of attention to detail to make your stay extra special. Dying to go back. Muscat is a wonderful place to explore - don't miss the Grand mosque, the Sultan's palace, Mutrah.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SoTi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chedimuscat, Manager at The Chedi Muscat – a GHM hotel, responded to this review, 6 December 2013
Dear SoTi,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your impressions with the community of Tripadvisor .

We are delighted to hear that your stay at The Chedi Muscat was great and that you were able to relax and chill too.

We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to Muscat.

best regards

Christoph K. Girsch
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
66 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2013

I used to live in Muscat and went to the Chedi a lot as a local expat. Despite all my travels, I maintain that the Chedi in Muscat is one of the best. Today I am back and my opinion has not changed. There is a certain sense of peace and well being when you step into the breathtaking lobby. It's charm lies in its exquisite simplicity that oozes luxury. The spa is excellent, the food is excellent, the service is excellent. Don't come to Muscat just for the Chedi but when you are in Muscat, make sure you only stay at the Chedi. Forget the 6* Shangrila.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank salamisister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chedimuscat, Manager at The Chedi Muscat – a GHM hotel, responded to this review, 6 December 2013
Dear salamisister,

Many thanks for taking the time and sharing your experience at The Chedi Muscat. We are always delighted to hear from a happy guest- your kind words are much appreciated.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Chedi Muscat very soon!

kind regards

Christoph K. Girsch
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matlock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2013

A lovely hotel, gorgeous grounds, great facilities, friendly efficient staff. Only one glitch in service during our final dinner, which the Management subsequently put right for us. I could not resist taking dozens of photos around the grounds.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheGoodsons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chedimuscat, Manager at The Chedi Muscat – a GHM hotel, responded to this review, 27 November 2013
Dear TheGoodsons,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on Trip Advisor following your recent visit to The Chedi Muscat.

I am sorry to hear that your last meal was not up to standard, but great to hear that our management quickly changed it around.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon at The Chedi Muscat.

best regards

Christoph K. Girsch
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
127 reviews
125 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2013

The Chedi is a beautifully designed resort hotel and a very high quality is evident from materials chosen and products provided. This applies to the rooms as well as all facilities (restaurants, gym, spa, pools, etc). Even though the hotel was quite full, it never felt very busy, also thanks to the extensive gardens and hotel grounds. Only suggestion for improvement in terms of design is landscaping around the entrance to the hotel.

After some unusual heavy rain a small leak in one of the room window frames became evident, but this was quickly and very well fixed, so did not cause any damage or significant inconvenience.

Most of the staff were very good and professional, albeit sometimes a bit slow during busy times (breakfast, evening drinks).

Breakfast was very good and of high quality with a good selection of mainly western items. Some suggestions for improvement could be more variation from day to day and a wider offering in non-western breakfast items.

We would certainly consider staying here again when we return to Muscat as The Chedi is a great place to relax and unwind.

Room Tip: If you want a sea view from your room, make sure to specifically book a sea view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank peri&rini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chedimuscat, Manager at The Chedi Muscat – a GHM hotel, responded to this review, 27 November 2013
Dear peri&rini,

« Shukran» as the Omanis would say !

Indeed, thank you very much for that great review on TripAdvisor. I certainly apologize for the small leak on your window, it is quite unusual for us here in Muscat to have like heavy rain as you experienced.

As well thanks a lot for the suggestion for Breakfast, i forwarded your suggestion already to our Culinary Team.

We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to Muscat.

best regards

Christoph K. Girsch
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Muscat hotels
14.0 mi away
Al Bustan Palace, A Ritz-Carlton Hotel
2.9 mi away
Grand Hyatt Muscat
Grand Hyatt Muscat
#8 of 52 in Muscat
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,384 reviews
5.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Muscat
Crowne Plaza Muscat
#6 of 52 in Muscat
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Coral Muscat Hotel & Apartments
4.3 mi away
InterContinental Hotel Muscat
9.7 mi away
Sheraton Oman Hotel
Sheraton Oman Hotel
#1 of 52 in Muscat
5.0 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Chedi Muscat – a GHM hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chedi Muscat – a GHM hotel

Property: The Chedi Muscat – a GHM hotel
Address: North Ghubra 32, Way no 3215, Street no 46, Muscat 113, Oman
Phone Number:
Region: Oman > Muscat Governorate > Muscat
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Muscat
#2 Romantic Hotel in Muscat
#2 Spa Hotel in Muscat
#3 Luxury Hotel in Muscat
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Chedi Muscat – a GHM hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Occupying a prime beachfront location, this exclusive 21-acre 5 star beach resort is located 20 minutes north of old Muscat, the capital of The Sultanate of Oman, at Al Ghubra. The Chedi Muscat is ideally located for business and leisure travelers alike as the main tourist attractions, the financial centre and Muscat International Airport are only a 15 minutes drive away. The Chedi Muscat, a member of “The Leading Hotels of The World” and Oman’s first contemporary hotel, opened its doors in 2003. The resort offers understated elegance and a perfect mix of Omani architecture and a profound Asian Zen-style. The minimalist lines of the low-rise buildings are accentuated by gardens of symmetrical simplicity, with lines of manicured hedges and ordered pools of water, creating an implacable Zen calm. All 158 rooms have breathtaking views across the gardens and ponds, mountains and the Gulf of Oman. As well as a 370m private beach, The Chedi Muscat offers guests a choice of three pools: the adults-only infinity Chedi Pool, surrounded by cabanas and with a superb seafront location and the recently opened 103-metre outdoor pool The Long Pool, and the family friendly Serai Pool, with its black mosaics and elegant canopy plus 2 flood lit tennis courts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, Southall Travel, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Chedi Muscat – a GHM hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Chedi Muscat Hotel Muscat Governorate
The Chedi Hotel Muscat
Chedi Oman
Chedi Hotel Oman
Chedi Hotel Muscat
Chedi Muscat Oman

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing