We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Chedi Muscat – a GHM hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$94
US$83
ibis
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$334
US$307
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$100
US$68
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Midan Hotel Suites, Muscat(Muscat)(Great Value!)
US$81
US$72
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$123
US$110
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$199
US$135
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$247
US$227
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$322
US$258
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$146
US$109
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$118
US$105
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,748)
Filter reviews
2,748 results
Traveller rating
1,919
492
211
67
59
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,919
492
211
67
59
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslong poolbeach restaurantserai poolserai roommain restaurantclub suitewater featuresfamily poolmacaroonsbeautiful hotelspa treatmentsmini barseafoodsun loungersbreakfast buffet isprivate beachsoft drinks
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,243 - 1,248 of 2,748 reviews
Reviewed 10 February 2014

I spent 6 wonderful nights at the Chedi Muscat this past January and all I need to say is WOW!!!! If you're looking for a hotel with peace and quiet, attentive service, wonderful food, beautiful pools and . . . . gosh I could go on and on. The grounds were immaculate. All of the employees were so friendly and nice. The food was expensive (you get what you pay for) but outstanding. Each morning, I spent 10 minutes walking around the breakfast buffet just to see all the food on offer. I booked a Serai room and was given a top floor room with an oceanview. The hotel theme is "minimal" and truly the rooms are minimal. But how much time do you really spend in your room? The turndown service at night was top notch. I paid extra and booked access to the Club Lounge (via the hotel's website). It was well worth it. Cocktails and canapes were served from 6:00-7:30pm every evening. Thank you Rex for making my nights in the club lounge so enjoyable. The hotel is about a 20 minute drive to Old Muscat and the Muttrah Souq. I cannot rave about this hotel enough. Go ahead, book the Chedi. You will NOT be disappointed.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank trakin69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chedimuscat, Manager at The Chedi Muscat – a GHM hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2014

Dear trakin69,

Thank you for sharing your experience at The Chedi Muscat. We are delighted to hear that you have enjoyed your time and that your stay was pleasant.

Your kind words are much appreciated, in particular the ones about our employees and our service; we will make sure to pass on your praise and comments to the related teams.

Thank you again, and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

Christoph K. Girsch

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2014

It is interesting that some of the reviewers over the last few days have been disappointed. Many of their complaints can be echoed by us. On the whole the service and quality of food is good, however the rooms are dated and fairly basic for 5 star resort, even deluxe ones have no bath and in our case no view.

However our biggest complaint was the check in/out process that was disorganised and shambolic, to be kept waiting after a long flight for half an hour before being served is unforgivable. The reception desk appears to be staffed by a couple of people and does not have the capacity to handle both guests arriving and departing.

This might be one of the best hotels in Oman, however better can be found elsewhere in the region.

Room Tip: Deluxe are far from deluxe, might be worth going for something better but you will pay.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nick12014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chedimuscat, Manager at The Chedi Muscat – a GHM hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2014

Dear Nick12014,

Thank you for taking the time to review The Chedi Muscat. We are concerned to learn of your experience during your stay with us. Needles to say, what occurred does not adhere with our service and standards and we regret that you left the hotel with a negative impression.

Please rest assured that our constant aim is to provide only the highest level of care and attention to our guests.

It will be great if you could kindly send us more details and comments at cgirsch@ghmhotels.com about your recent stay. It is highly essential in order to correct any shortcomings and to ensure that your experience will not be a recurring one.

We hope we will have the chance to restore your confidence in us and to show you our ability to give you a first class service that we are renowned for. I appreciate your understanding and for bringing this important matter to our attention.

Kind regards,

Christoph K. Girsch

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2014

My wife and I stayed at the Chedi for 5 nights in mid January. Our agent had told us that of our two hotels in Muscat we should stay at the Chedi last as it gave guests the best experience. Well, in our opinion the Al Bustan Palace gave us the overall better experience.
Turning in from the dual carriageway and onto the drive to the hotel entrance was not what we would expect, it is an uninspiring expanse of scrubland. To be fair once inside the hotel compound it was a lot better.
Our room was not available so after the check-in formalities we were led to a small terrace overlooking the gardens where we ordered some coffee. One of the cups came with the smeared with the lipstick of the previous user, not the standards to be expected of a 5 star hotel. A manager was very apologetic and brought us fresh drinks with a complimentary pastry from the restaurant. Yes, it was good of him but should have not been necessary.
In the evening we turned the tv on and could not get any channel, so a call to reception was made. It took around half an hour for a maintenance man to attend and reboot the tv system. This again goes against the blurb in the room information that the rooms are fully checked before guests arrive and that maintenance issues will be dealt with "promptly".
Finally, to cap off a not very impressive first day at the hotel, it took around 40 minutes for our meal to arrive in the main restaurant. This was due, so they say, to our order not having been received in the kitchen. Yet again they tried to make amends by offering complimentary desserts or coffee, which we declined as having eaten sufficient, but it is not the way to run a highly rated 5 star hotel.
The rooms are nice, with his and hers sinks, a good shower but do lack some drawer space and hanging space. The grounds are very good and well kept, as are all the outside areas. The pools and pool areas are good and the staff around the Chedi pool especially attentive. The food at the Chedi pool was also of good quality, as was the service.
The restaurant staff were very friendly and attentive. The breakfast we found to be excellent, with a wide range of items and other items cooked to order. In the main the staff could not quite match those at the Al Bustan Palace for friendliness and a genuine smile. The staff at the Chedi seemed in awe of their guests, as it seemed to be an hotel catering more for business clients.
The spa is very good, with a wide range of treatments available.
One of the more infuriating issues was that guests should be able to access their bill through the in-room tv. It was a shame we did not find that this worked for us. Every time we tried to get this information we were rewarded with a blank screen. We did mention this a check-out but all we got was a shrug.

Room Tip: Book into the Al Bustan Palace!
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GRAHAM H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chedimuscat, Manager at The Chedi Muscat – a GHM hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2014

Dear GRAHAM H,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback about your recent experience with us. I sincerely apologize for your disappointment in the level of service you received.

This is certainly not indicative of the level of service we strive to provide for all of our guests. I would personally welcome the opportunity to discuss your experience further with you, and invite you to contact me directly at cgirsch@ghmhotels.com.

I do hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back to The Chedi Muscat.

Kind regards

Christoph K. Girsch

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2014

My husband, my daughter and myself have just returned from spending a week at the chedi hotel in Muscat. This hotel is fabulous, couldn't really begin to describe how lovely the grounds are, very tranquil. There is a choice of three beautiful swimming pools plus a private beach for relaxing. The food and the service in the five restaurants is fantastic, total indulgence! At night the hotel comes in to its own, with candles and fire bowls everywhere, the attention to detail is wonderful! I can't recommend this hotel more. If you are lucky enough to visit make sure your stay includes a Friday so that you can enjoy their famous Friday brunch, the food is out of this world!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yvonne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chedimuscat, Manager at The Chedi Muscat – a GHM hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2014

Dear Yvonne C,

We would like to thank you very much for your comment on Tripadvisor, regarding your recent stay at The Chedi Muscat!
We always try to do our best to make sure our guests have the best experience while staying with us and we are delighted to read that you appreciated every moment of it.

We hope to have the pleasure of seeing you again soon.

Kindest Regards,

Christoph K. Girsch

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2014

Yes i agree with most reviews ....The resort is beautiful - Restaurant and food is excellent BUT


The Service is incredibly poor for a 5**** ....even worse than poor ...some people/staff are arrogant which is a really bad feeling as a customer- I think some people there just do not care - rules in the hotel are more strict for the customer than for the staff - The first thing you are said during the welcome speech is that Kids are not welcome in 2 out the 3 pools of the hotel - I think kids are not welcome at all - We came with our 11 year old son and first we have been told that we can not share normal room with a 11 year old kid we must take a Bungalow suite ...fair enough ...1,000 ear/ night later we realise than the suite does not even have a normal extra bed for our son - He will have to sleep on the sofa in the living room - Welcome !
If you have a problem ( Wifi connection for example) the first reaction from the staff is to ask you to check your devices ......2 days later they realise they had a router problem and after restarting their server things were working fine ...... do not expect them to have turn on the light of the tennis court when you booked it or clean your car after a sand storm.....no just do it your self Sir ......and do not expect to get late check out when leaving the room ---- no way...but you can expect than luggage service will be 30 mns late to pick up your luggage...

The beach is also disappointing with a uggly view on factory which is running next to the hotel

Last but not the least : our son forgot one of his favourite toy in the room - after call and emails---No single answer !

Welcome to the Chedi - our strong recommendation : enjoy a day stay with Lunch or dinner - Food is fantastic and architecture is beautiful thus you can relax and take beautifull picture - Stay is just not worth it --- if you have 600-1000 ear to spend per night i think they are much better place in the region

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Thierry T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chedimuscat, Manager at The Chedi Muscat – a GHM hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2014

Dear Thierry T,

Thank you very much for your feedback following your stay with us at The Chedi Muscat, this will be of great help in resolving our shortcomings. I am nonetheless disappointed that your stay did not meet your expectations.

First and foremost I would like to apologize to you as it seems we have not lived up to your expectations and we have obviously not delivered to our best. The problems you experienced are certainly not the norm.

There is no excuse for not being able to deliver perfect standards. All I can say is that we are in the luxury hotel business and any areas that need refinement are in constant review as we too seek perfection in our delivery and please be assured of our untiring efforts to achieve this.

As we value your comments, we would be most grateful if you could give us a little bit of your time and accept to contact me at the following e-mail address : cgirsch@ghmhotels.com.

Kind regards,

Christoph K. Girsch

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews