We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Chedi Muscat – a GHM hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$346
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$213
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$186
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$110
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$195
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$180
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$225
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$163
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$112
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$101
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$175
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$113
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$124
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$104
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Shangri-La Al Husn Resort & Spa(Barr Al Jissah)
US$552
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$283
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$253
HotelsClick
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lana Villa(Muscat)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,774)
Filter reviews
2,774 results
Traveller rating
1,939
494
212
67
62
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,939
494
212
67
62
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslong poolbeach restaurantserai poolserai roommain restaurantclub suitewater featuresfamily poolmacaroonsbeautiful hotelspa treatmentsmini barseafoodsun loungersbreakfast buffet isprivate beachsoft drinks
Filter
Updating list...
1,223 - 1,228 of 2,774 reviews
Reviewed 9 May 2014

Excellent 4 day stay at the Chedi. One of the best hotels we have stayed in. The ambiance is set on arrival with attentive, friendly and efficient staff at reception. The Zen-like qaulity of both layout and furnishings is pleasing and spatious. Our room was well-appointed, of good size and the same attention to detail was carried over. The public areas, pools and gardens were pristine and the staff are most helpful and friendly. The restaurant for breakfast buffet is most appealing while the poolside bistro is very good service. This is a hotel to indulge oneself in calm luxory. There is little to criticise apart perhaps from the road leading to the hotel. As first impressions count, landscaping and planting of palm trees on the straight drive up to the hotel would be beneficial. Guests should not be put off as once within the hotel grounds you are enveloped in indulgence. We would recommend this hotel to others to enjoy and would wish to visit other similar Chedi./ GMH hotels worldwide.

Room Tip: All rooms are well located within the hotel grounds and the layout is most appealing. we had a superior room which was excellenr.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dowells105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chedimuscat, General Manager at The Chedi Muscat – a GHM hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

Dear Dowells105,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your enjoyable stay at The Chedi Muscat. It was our pleasure having you visit us and being of service to you.

We take all our guest's comments seriously with the intent for improvement that they deserve. Regarding your comments about our entrance driveway, I am glad to inform you that we are presently studying various options on how to improve this important area of our hotel.

In any case, we hope to welcome you back to The Chedi Muscat in the not so distant future for some more zen-like relaxation.

With warmest regards,

Markus Iseli
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014

Wanted a hot destination and relaxing few days, I got this in abundance. From arrival at the hotel, where I was ushered into the lovely lobby and provided with a cold glass of fresh juice and biscuits, to being shown to my room and shown everything I needed to know.

I had arrived at the hotel early following an overnight flight at around 8.30am, the receptionist or more like a greeter advised that check in was usually at 2pm but would speak to housekeeping to see if a room was available for me to use to shower in, didn't ask for this but she wanted me too feel as fresh and relaxed as possible. I was taken along to the outside bar area and provided with a lovely cup of tea whilst she made some enquiries. The greeter arrived some 10 minutes later advising a room was ready, a room I could stay in for the remainder of my holiday. She showed me to my room, suitcase was already there.

Lovely sizeable room, mini bar where soft drinks were free and replenished every day and evening. Dressing area, lovely large towels, hairdryer, dressing gown, toilettries again replenished daily, great monsoon effect shower. The room had an ipod dock for favourite sounds. Bed very comfy the evening service was great.
The whole place is geared for relaxation and having a great memorable holiday, nothing is too much trouble. Apples in the room I took to the pool and the staff happily chopped them for me.

The hotel is lovely, stylish and well maintained. Private beach, 3 pools, all warm, wonderful. The long pool being 100m. Towels for the pool supplied. You could go into the changing rooms by the long pool, and use the sauna and steam room. Showering facilities and lockers in this area, along with toilettries, fresh towels, costume spinner to remove excess water, and hairdryers. A little sign said just ask for toilettries and body lotion....All hotel covered by free wifi so you could relax by the pool doing emails.

Restaurants, one seafood on the beach, one by the long pool did yummy asian style tapas, the main restaurant served international food. Amazing desserts. Prices not too bad around the price of a nice restaurant in UK. Between 12 to 20 Rial depending on your selection.
Wine ranged from 17 Rial to crazy prices. Beer around 3.5 Rial.

Breakfast was wonderful a great selection of cooked breakfast, asian, fresh fruit, cereal, pastries, and a good cup of tea....

Taxis can be arranged easily by the hotel costs 4 Rial single trip to the Grand Mosque, around 13 Rial single to old town souk. Taxi driver will wait for you for up to an hour to take you back. Very friendly and speak excellent English.

On the whole fantastic relaxing haven to holiday in, brilliant team of staff. I would like to come back.

Ladies if you go to the mosque, dress code is very strict, long trousers or skirt covering ankles, long sleeved top which cannot be the slightest bit see through and must go down to wrists, and head scarf to cover your hair.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bootrek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chedimuscat, Manager at The Chedi Muscat – a GHM hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2014

Dear Bootrek,

We are so grateful to receive such a complimentary review.

Thank you kindly for taking the time to go in to the finer details of service that we give as we believe that this makes the whole experience all the more special.

It is our sincere hope that you will decide to join us again for some relaxation time in the future.

With kindest regards

Elizabeth Stratford
Quality Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

I have been fortunate enough to attend a wedding in Oman. At the beautiful Chedi.
Pure Indulgence at a fair price. Oman is old world,the lack of high rise buildings is
Refreshing.
But the Chedi is amazing, pools, beach, restaurant,bars, the service is warm, attentive and caring.

Room Tip: Ask for a ocean view .
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cherie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chedimuscat, Manager at The Chedi Muscat – a GHM hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2014

Dear Cherie F,

Thank you kindly for sharing your wonderful experiences at The Chedi Muscat.

It was a pleasure being of service to you and It is our sincere hope that we will have another opportunity to welcome you back to The Chedi Muscat in the not so distant future.

Warmest regards,

Elizabeth Stratford
Quality Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014 via mobile

Pros: there's more than enough at the Chedi to keep you entertained for a whole holiday. For instance, we ate at the same restaurant three times and still found plenty of choices. Same goes for breakfast, and the puddings are at once beautifully crafted and delicious. Don't miss the salted caramels!

Club rooms have a free mini bar and access to the library. Spa treatments were top notch and there's a great fitness centre with yoga and other cardio classes.

We were particularly impressed with the service, and staff who went out of their way to make us feel comfortable and looked after, but who were not intrusive. For instance, after a prang in our rental vehicle, the staff dealt with the issue with grace and good humour!

The hotel is beautifully laid-out, and the long pool is particularly stunning. One word of warning: there are very few signs around the grounds and the 21 acres can be difficult to navigate!

Cons: wifi is spotty in the rooms, and requires frequent maintenance.

Getting a spot on a sun lounger by the pools can be hard-- the resort attracts a good number of competitive sun-lounging guests!



  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank okhs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chedimuscat, Manager at The Chedi Muscat – a GHM hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2014

Dear Okhs,

What a pleasure it is to receive such lovely compliments. It was in fact our honour to have you stay with us and be of service to you, thank you for choosing The Chedi Muscat.

We have noted your valuable feedback regarding our WI-FI offering and sun lounger availability and we will be sure to make the appropriate adjustments to improve these issues.

I will be certain to give your comments to our team who will be pleased to receive them so we can continuously strive to achieve the perfect stay each and every time.

Thank you again for your comments and we hope to see you return to The Chedi Muscat again in the future for a relaxing and enjoyable stay with our team.

With warm regards and gratitude,

Elizabeth Stratford
Quality Improvement Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014 via mobile

My partner and I stayed here a few weeks ago for 7 nights. I fell in love with the place the minuet I walked in. What a impressive reception! We were made to feel instantly welcome and once we had checked in we were walked to our room. It was a bit of a walk from the reception to the room but because of the size of the place it actually worked out for the best because it meant that we were very close to the pool/beach. The room was lovely and comfortable with a mini bar and ice provided for your drinks. We had dinner here every night a part from one night when we decided to venture out to the Ritz Carlton which is the place we were supposed to be staying to begin with. All I can say is thank god we didn't. The food at The Chedi is some of the best I have ever had. I do suggest if you are staying here or even if your not to try the beach side restaurant. The quality of the food is next to non and like where ever you go in this amazing hotel the atmosphere is that of total piece and tranquility. The staff are all incredibly friendly were nothing is to much trouble. We will both without a doubt be returning here at some point. Loved Oman, loved The Chedi.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Mike D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chedimuscat, Manager at The Chedi Muscat – a GHM hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2014

Dear Mike D,

We are so grateful for you having chosen The Chedi Muscat as your destination of choice for your vacation just gone and the possibility of you coming again in the future.

Thank you kindly for your most complimentary comments that I will be sure to pass on to our team who I'm sure will really appreciate them.

We all look forward to warmly welcoming you back with our continuing high level of service and hospitality.

With kindest regards

Elizabeth Stratford
Quality Improvement Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews